[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

yperic

PM Lawrence Wong (right) said Mr Pritam Singh will continue as Leader of the Opposition, with staff and resources to perform his duties.

PM Lawrence Wong (right) said Mr Pritam Singh will continue as Leader of the Opposition, with staff and resources to perform his duties.PHOTO: LAWRENCE WONG/FACEBOOK

SINGAPORE - WP chief Pritam Singh will remain the Leader of the Opposition with staff and resources to carry out his duties, said Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

“The WP fielded a strong slate of candidates, and put up a tough fight in this election,” said PM Wong, who added that he had spoken to Mr Singh.

WP has also consolidated and increased its presence in Parliament, the Prime Minister added in a Facebook post on May 5.

WP consolidated its hold over Aljunied GRC, Sengkang GRC and Hougang SMC, returning 10 elected MPs to Parliament.

As the “best losers” at the polls - narrowly losing to the ruling PAP in Jalan Kayu SMC and Tampines GRC - the party also has the option to take up two Non-Constituency MP seats in the 15th Parliament.

In the five constituencies that it did not win, the party’s candidates came close, polling above 40 per cent.

PM Wong said: “I look forward to the contributions of the Workers’ Party members in Parliament,” he added.

Mr Singh was appointed Leader of the Opposition by former prime minister Lee Hsien Loong after the last general election in 2020, which saw the WP win its second GRC - Sengkang.

The Leader of the Opposition’s role is to lead the opposition in presenting alternative views in parliamentary debates on policies, Bills and motions.

His duties also include leading and organising scrutiny of the Government’s positions and actions in Parliament.

On May 3, WP triumphed in its traditional strongholds of Aljunied GRC and Hougang SMC, returning its core leaders - including Mr Singh, its secretary-general - to Parliament.

Despite a national swing towards the ruling party, the five-member WP team in Aljunied GRC maintained its hold over the constituency, with 59.68 per cent of the vote.

In Hougang, WP polled 62.17 per cent. The party also held on to Sengkang, winning 56.31 per cent of the vote.

While the party did not win any new constituency, it polled above 40 per cent wherever it contested, including in Punggol, East Coast and Tampines GRCs, as well as Jalan Kayu SMC.

NTB2DO

I heard actually Potong Pasir in the last few years before CST lost the seat, alot of residents complaining due to no lifts already but they just voted CST due to loyalty.

And Lina Chiam when they interacted with her, did Not really leave a good impression on them thus when CST stepped away from PP they just voted PAP.

I am more surprised at how LTK can manage Hougang so well since 1991 until he left in 2011 eventually.

For 34 years still so loyal to WP, heard LTK found a group of well-off volunteers and is adept at managing resources so they used own money to carry on with programmes.

Hougang was still maintained quite well despite PAP trying to withhold lift-upgrading programmes, etc.

Up till now, WP still can get more than 60% there speaks volume.
Yes they are (very dedicated).

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...porters-left-with-mixed-emotions-over-results
On WP HG SMC MP:
Mr Eric Goh, who was with his two children, said: “MP Dennis Tan has been such a constant presence that even my five-year-old daughter recognises him.”

The taxi driver said Mr Tan had previously attended an event at his daughter’s infant care centre.
On SK GRC MP:
“They came in only five years ago but have really made a difference. When the lift in my block broke down, they fixed it quickly. When any facilities have problems, they fix it quickly,” Mr Yap said.

Other WP supporters in Sengkang told ST that the MPs have gained residents’ support over the past five years through estate improvements, including the introduction of more bus services and sheltered linkways.

NTB2DO

Dun anyhow tell false story lah.. Simi Stronghold when no one was living there.

The area that was carved out from Aljunied was empty land and were building new BTOs before this election. Before this election, no one stay there one lah. Now is just new BTOs.

Yet another WP supporter who dun stay in the area.
You sure?
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...art-of-constituency-to-tampines-grc-at-ge2025

SINGAPORE - Aljunied GRC MPs Sylvia Lim and Gerald Giam said they were sad to see three polling districts in their ward move to neighbouring Tampines GRC, part of a slew of changes to the electoral map ahead of Singapore’s next general election.

Ms Lim told reporters that the Aljunied MPs, especially Mr Giam, had been actively engaging residents there over the past years. The three districts being carved out are under Mr Giam’s care as they are currently part of Bedok Reservoir-Punggol division.

Ms Lim, who is the Workers’ Party chairwoman, said the town council has also been working hard to solve some of the teething issues in the new GreenGem estate, which include a rat infestation and issues with food waste and debris disposal. “It’s a pity that now they will no longer be under our charge and whatever work we have done, we’ll have to pass it on,” she added.

Mr Giam said residents in the affected areas have messaged him to express their sadness at being moved to another constituency.

He said he would continue to serve residents there until the end of his term as MP. “After that, hopefully, whoever takes over will have a good slate to take over a good, well-maintained estate,” he added.

yperic

WP’s new MPs-elect Fadli Fawzi & Kenneth Tiong to serve in Kaki Bukit & Serangoon respectively in Aljunied GRC​

MPs Aljunied GRC

Mr Singh will remain in Eunos, Ms Lim in Payal Lebar, and Mr Giam in Bedok Reservoir-Punggol.

Newly elected MPs Fadli Fawzi & Kenneth Tiong to serve in Kaki Bukit & Serangoon respectively in Aljunied GRC​

Aljunied GRC voters have once again thrown their support behind The Workers’ Party (WP), delivering a strong mandate with nearly 60% of the vote in the 2025 General Election.

Led by WP Secretary-General Pritam Singh, the team secured its fourth consecutive term — a clear show of confidence in the opposition stronghold.

Joining Mr Singh, Ms Sylvia Lim, and Mr Gerald Giam in the team are two newly elected MPs: Fadli Fawzi and Kenneth Tiong.

Fadli Fawzi & Kenneth Tiong assigned Kaki Bukit & Serangoon divisions​

In a Facebook post on Sunday (5 May), Mr Singh announced that Mr Fawzi will serve residents in Kaki Bukit, taking over from outgoing MP Mr Faisal Manap.

Mr Tiong will be taking the reins in Serangoon, previously led by Mr Leon Perera.

MPs

Source: The Workers’ Party on Facebook

The rest of Aljunied GRC’s leadership remains unchanged: Mr Pritam Singh will continue in Eunos, Ms Sylvia Lim stays on in Paya Lebar, and Mr Gerald Giam returns to Bedok Reservoir–Punggol.

No changes to MPS locations & timings​

In the same update, Mr Singh confirmed that Meet-the-People Sessions (MPS) will continue at the same venues and timings as the previous term.

In an earlier post, Mr Singh also announced the resumption of his MPS for the Eunos division. The sessions will begin this evening (5 May) at Block 615, Bedok Reservoir Road from 7.30 to 9.30pm.

Thereafter, the sessions will be held every Monday from 7.30 to 9.30pm:

• First and third Monday of the month: Block 615 Bedok Reservoir Road
  • Second and fourth Monday of the month: Block 672, junction of Jalan Damai and Bedok Reservoir Road
  • Fifth Monday and Public Holidays: no MPS will be held
Mr Singh wrote that he looks forward to serving the residents in Aljunied GRC and representing them in Parliament.

Featured image adapted from The Workers’ Party on Facebook.

BohemianSG

You sure?
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...art-of-constituency-to-tampines-grc-at-ge2025

SINGAPORE - Aljunied GRC MPs Sylvia Lim and Gerald Giam said they were sad to see three polling districts in their ward move to neighbouring Tampines GRC, part of a slew of changes to the electoral map ahead of Singapore’s next general election.

Ms Lim told reporters that the Aljunied MPs, especially Mr Giam, had been actively engaging residents there over the past years. The three districts being carved out are under Mr Giam’s care as they are currently part of Bedok Reservoir-Punggol division.

Ms Lim, who is the Workers’ Party chairwoman, said the town council has also been working hard to solve some of the teething issues in the new GreenGem estate, which include a rat infestation and issues with food waste and debris disposal. “It’s a pity that now they will no longer be under our charge and whatever work we have done, we’ll have to pass it on,” she added.

Mr Giam said residents in the affected areas have messaged him to express their sadness at being moved to another constituency.

He said he would continue to serve residents there until the end of his term as MP. “After that, hopefully, whoever takes over will have a good slate to take over a good, well-maintained estate,” he added.

Your reply just supported what i said what... Its the new BTO areas... "solve some of the teething issues in the new GreenGem estate, "

The residents only moved in recently. Last election they were not there. In 2020, it was BTO under construction and before that empty land for some time. Good place to jog. There were no residents there for it to be an "aljunied stronghold"

Dun come and test me lah.. i used to stay in aljunied GRC and my parents are still staying in aljunied GRC. Are you yet another WP supporter who never stay in WP wards before?

NTB2DO

Your reply just supported what i said what... Its the new BTO areas... "solve some of the teething issues in the new GreenGem estate, "

The residents only moved in recently. Last election they were not there. In 2020, it was BTO under construction and before that empty land for some time. Good place to jog. There were no residents there for it to be an "aljunied stronghold"

Dun come and test me lah.. i used to stay in aljunied GRC and my parents are still staying in aljunied GRC. Are you yet another WP supporter who never stay in WP wards before?
Ya I've never stayed in WP wards before. That's why I cited ST report.

And the electoral boundary wasn't redrawn in 2020, it's redrawn just this year (2025).

jumpthepig

LMW and Hazel were the previous ncmp, look where they are now.

ncmp are not the same as mp because they do not have any constituency. No constituency means no MPS, no residents will feel that they are working for them.

its a scheme created by MIW to pacify singaporeans about opposition representation in parliament, which is working effectively seeing how people are happy about wp winning ‘2 seats’
Don’t think LMW and Hazel lost because of NCMP.

Just don’t waste it. :ROFLMAO:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-constituency_Member_of_Parliament

jumpthepig

WP % of elected MPs actually drop in 2025. What a total win for PAP. As for NCMP, WP ownself say it is worthless. and only elected opposition MPs can effectively pressure the government. Show some spine and reject it lah.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...can-pressure-the-government-says-pritam-singh
They have improved….and many sinkies trust them :ROFLMAO:
SK GRC - Their result have improved.
Hougang SMC and Aljunied GRC - Results remain about the same.
Tampines GRC and JK SMC - They only lost by a tiny bit

BohemianSG

Ya I've never stayed in WP wards before. That's why I cited ST report.

And the electoral boundary wasn't redrawn in 2020, it's redrawn just this year (2025).

Why would you think i dunno it was redrawn in 2025 if i can pinpoint so accurately the location.

In 2020, there were no one staying there. Its just empty field and u can go there jog if you want. There were no residents there. The BTOs only came up after the end of the pandemic. The areas that were supposedly cut out to Tampines are new BTOs that were always at the border of Aljunied GRC and Tampines GRC.

It was not an existing Aljunied Stronghold. No one knows for sure how they would vote.

muji4832

If PAP want to flip WP GRC, all they need to do is to consult Mr. Gerry nia.

They dun want to do until so obvious only.

Hard for WP to flip PAP GRC/SMC, and it's equally hard (if not, harder) for PAP to flip WP held GRC/SMC.

BohemianSG

They have improved….and many sinkies trust them :ROFLMAO:
SK GRC - Their result have improved.
Hougang SMC and Aljunied GRC - Results remain about the same.
Tampines GRC and JK SMC - They only lost by a tiny bit

I see you conveniently ignored how east coast has dropped like raisins for WP. The election results shows that the ppl prefer status quo and are comfortable.

All the incumbents improved on the electoral performance except Aljunied GRC where it dropped by a 0.27. Prata Singh should be xiasuay with the drop when everywhere including SK went up.

jumpthepig

I see you conveniently ignored how east coast has dropped like raisins for WP. The election results shows that the ppl prefer status quo and are comfortable.

All the incumbents improved on the electoral performance except Aljunied GRC where it dropped by a 0.27. Prata Singh should be xiasuay with the drop when everywhere including SK went up.
Dropped by 0.27%?… Not even 2.7%…It is less than .5%… :ROFLMAO:

Anyway It is safer to say it “dropped like raisins”….. like “闷声发大财“…just to prevent Tio fix 9696 later on. :ROFLMAO:

NTB2DO

Why would you think i dunno it was redrawn in 2025 if i can pinpoint so accurately the location.

In 2020, there were no one staying there. Its just empty field and u can go there jog if you want. There were no residents there. The BTOs only came up after the end of the pandemic. The areas that were supposedly cut out to Tampines are new BTOs that were always at the border of Aljunied GRC and Tampines GRC.

It was not an existing Aljunied Stronghold. No one knows for sure how they would vote.
Stronghold or not, I don't know.

Let's say they moved in a year ago (after end of pandemic) it means they have been served by WP for 1 year?

How they would vote would (at least partly) depend on how well their MP had served them in the past 1 year?

byfun

Likely jalan kayu smc wont exist next election. With limited resource WP should focus on their exisiting wards plus Punggol and Tampines and maybe Potong Pasir .. all within their areas and to cater for future election boundary changes.

Hoping their next election can take down another grc... really a slow process till the low end boomers on handout slowly die out...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.