buy REITs is for the mid term
most REITs are at near 4 years low
i would think there is
capital gain + passive income

I am not satki retiree
i am still working
i just want a higher than 4% interest
if u can one short whack 100k shares of MINT means quite satki liao.
I each time only buy like 10-20k worth of shares lolol

For others accumulating wealth, they will be like buying 1-3k worth of shares once a month

thretiredDad

if u can one short whack 100k shares of MINT means quite satki liao.
I each time only buy like 10-20k worth of shares lolol

For others accumulating wealth, they will be like buying 1-3k worth of shares once a month

i waited to accumulate REITs
for more than 3-4 years

Next is maple log

DevilPlate

4ej0QRJ.jpeg

in case you think is csb

i waited to accumulate REITs
for more than 3-4 years

Next is maple log
Us6SsRJ.jpeg
So while waiting 3-4years, u are holding cash or?

btw, no need prove lah…..last time even got someone PM me his satki btc holdings (i think worth around 10M at that time when BTC was like 50-60k and tell me only like 30% of his NW)….duno for what sia….all internet strangers….doesn’t matter tio bo

thretiredDad

So while waiting 3-4years, u are holding cash or?

btw, no need prove lah…..last time even got someone PM me his satki btc holdings (i think worth around 10M at that time when BTC was like 50-60k and tell me only like 30% of his NW)….duno for what sia….all internet strangers….doesn’t matter tio bo
True that

thretiredDad

So technically u waited only like 3mths nia lah….simi 3-4years whahahaha
It was Covid year
i got a choice
Banks or ETF or REITs

with cimb fresh fund promotion ended
I need to find new investment
for >4% or interest or dividend

but I will sell out my REITs
if I can have capital gain of 2 years of dividends

DevilPlate

It was Covid year
i got a choice
Banks or ETF or REITs

with cimb fresh fund promotion ended
I need to find new investment
for >4% or interest or dividend

but I will sell out my REITs
if I can have capital gain of 2 years of dividends
Thats why even yrself treat Reits as short term speculation and not a good long term wealth accumulation tool.

Whereas for me, my intention is to hold my reits etf for like 10-20years for passive income unless there is some big fundamental structural change. Individual reits i might sell if it hit a certain PB ratio.

thretiredDad

Thats why even yrself treat Reits as short term speculation and not a good long term wealth accumulation tool.

Whereas for me, my intention is to hold my reits etf for like 10-20years for passive income unless there is some big fundamental structural change. Individual reits i might sell if it hit a certain PB ratio.
I feel it will be sideway again
for next 1-2 years
since the expectation is 1 cut this year
how to hold for long term?

to me as long it is near 4 years low
I will buy and sell for capital gain of 2 years dividend
and buy them back later

I am trying to buy back my Ascendas REITs now
wasted sold 200,000 at 2.58-2.60
and no chance to buy back

but if trump decides to control the fed
it will be a catalyst
to hold REITs for next 2/3 years

DevilPlate

I feel it will be sideway again
for next 1-2 years
since the expectation is 1 cut this year
how to hold for long term?

to me as long it is near 4 years low
I will buy and sell for capital gain of 2 years dividend
and buy them back later

I am trying to buy back my Ascendas REITs now
wasted sold 200,000 at 2.58-2.60
and no chance to buy back

but if trump decides to control the fed
it will be a catalyst
to hold REITs for next 2/3 years
My original post was saying Reits is a bad long term wealth accumulation tool.

VWRA would be a much better choice. Physical property anytime better than reits imo as well (but only for those younger and doing well in their career)

thretiredDad

My original post was saying Reits is a bad long term wealth accumulation tool.

VWRA would be a much better choice. Physical property anytime better than reits imo as well (but only for those younger and doing well in their career)
i agree it is a bad long term accumulation

but if the REITs are at 4 years low
or at Covid low
it can be a good accumulation
at the price level
for a 3-4 years holding periods

thats why I waited for 3-4 years to buy

and not the mentality of
looking at the dividend yield
to buy regardless of price

DevilPlate

i agree it is a bad long term accumulation

but if the REITs are at 4 years low
or at Covid low
it can be a good accumulation
at the price level
for a 3-4 years holding periods

thats why I waited for 3-4 years to buy

and not the mentality of
looking at the dividend yield
to buy regardless of price
Logically, reits today are near (or lower) covid lows which don’t make sense. (borrowing cost isn’t very high…..js around 4% for bluechip reits)
Whereas during covid (before vaccine out), it was really bleak and doomy.

thretiredDad

Logically, reits today are near (or lower) covid lows which don’t make sense. (borrowing cost isn’t very high…..js around 4% for bluechip reits)
I still got a lot to learn for reits

thretiredDad

Me too.

5/10y SGS hovering around 2.8-2.9%…..so 6% from bluechip reits, 3% on top of risk free rate a decent deal?
6.5% pa dividend
can pay for my youngest kid pre school fee
my biggest expense now
still another 3 years to primary school

lunafan

Because with inflation slightly elated in US latest CPI + Trump’s tariffs, market is expecting inflation to go back up and is pricing in chances of rate hike even. I disagree with this view, which is why I’m slowly accumulating some reits

thretiredDad

Because with inflation slightly elated in US latest CPI + Trump’s tariffs, market is expecting inflation to go back up and is pricing in chances of rate hike even. I disagree with this view, which is why I’m slowly accumulating some reits
market prices expectation
faster than you think

the question is
has the market priced in rate hike And 1 rate cut this year

or is still in the process of pricing in?

the REITs didn’t react badly last Thursday on wed‘s CPI

i am taking a bet
still slowly accumulating too

weng0202

market prices expectation
faster than you think

the question is
has the market priced in rate hike And 1 rate cut this year

or is still in the process of pricing in?

the REITs didn’t react badly last Thursday on wed‘s CPI

i am taking a bet
still slowly accumulating too
No one will know what is the narrative until it happens. You can only try to anticipate. My current plan is reinvest the dividends. For cash, monthly put into SRS and buy Amundi index msci world using Poems.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.