Genting FAQ - Part 2

faithgurl

I saw some pictures of Superior Deluxe room at First World hotel. It seems like they have old and new version. Is it true? Anybody stayed at the new version before? Anybody can share? Thanks!

TinyPrick

This will be my first time going to Genting via Plane > Taxi. (usually by coach)

I will be landing at KLIA2, is there any specific taxi that I should take and how much is the cost up to genting? Thanks.

vaxvms

kia0042

This will be my first time going to Genting via Plane > Taxi. (usually by coach)

I will be landing at KLIA2, is there any specific taxi that I should take and how much is the cost up to genting? Thanks.

Can share your trip experience by air after you return. Curious to know the total time taken and cost. Thanks

youhsueh

Flat fare Genting Taxi from KLIA/KLIA2 to your Hotel's doorstep in Genting is RM250 inclusive of all fees and toll.

About 2 hours depending on traffic.

youhsueh

Ya...I saw the pics on the newly furnished world club room too. Nice! Looking at it, the beds are queen size or super single? Any idea? Not sure whether additional bed can be added. Do you have any idea? Thanks!

The New World Club room is definitely a Queen size. Not sure about the Old one.

faithgurl

The New World Club room is definitely a Queen size. Not sure about the Old one.

Thanks! Still in a dilemma which room to book as one is old but bigger room with no Wifi, the other is new with Wifi but room is small and not connected. Haiz...

youhsueh

Thanks! Still in a dilemma which room to book as one is old but bigger room with no Wifi, the other is new with Wifi but room is small and not connected. Haiz...

Book the new one. No regrets! The room I stayed was very big, probably due to it being a Corner.

I not sure about Wifi, but during my stay in 2016 - there is no Wifi available in World Club room as they're situated in Tower 1 & 2.

samcw2

depending on how many pax in your group, I booked a deluxe room although it look new but the toilet and bath is like last time standard room, seperated. I bui bui can't really closed the toilet cubicle when I do business. :o

kia0042

Prepaid card question.
Any bros/sis can advise me how to topup the data sim card before I go Genting this Sunday?
I bought a prepaid sim card last trip at XPAX Genting for RM29 and installed in my portable WIFI device, I wonder if there is way to topup online before I go Genting?
I want to get connected once I crossed the border. Googled a few sites, all cannot topup, must purchase the starter kit.

faithgurl

Book the new one. No regrets! The room I stayed was very big, probably due to it being a Corner.

I not sure about Wifi, but during my stay in 2016 - there is no Wifi available in World Club room as they're situated in Tower 1 & 2.

The new one you are referring to Y5 room or World Club room? If World Club, definitely will go for new ones.

vaxvms

Prepaid card question.
Any bros/sis can advise me how to topup the data sim card before I go Genting this Sunday?
I bought a prepaid sim card last trip at XPAX Genting for RM29 and installed in my portable WIFI device, I wonder if there is way to topup online before I go Genting?
I want to get connected once I crossed the border. Googled a few sites, all cannot topup, must purchase the starter kit.

now i using onexox http://xox.com.my/plans/onexox/

card valid 2 yr with plenty data inside

can get from bro selling here

faithgurl

depending on how many pax in your group, I booked a deluxe room although it look new but the toilet and bath is like last time standard room, seperated. I bui bui can't really closed the toilet cubicle when I do business. :o

In fact, I'm torn between 2 Y5 triple room or 1 big World club room but must add bed. Y5 triple room very small and not connected. That's the problem. World club room is big but only 1 bathroom which has to be shared btw 4 adults and 2 kids. Not too convenient also. Haiz....

vaxvms

In fact, I'm torn between 2 Y5 triple room or 1 big World club room but must add bed. Y5 triple room very small and not connected. That's the problem. World club room is big but only 1 bathroom which has to be shared btw 4 adults and 2 kids. Not too convenient also. Haiz....

y5 room is super small....

if u really want new /big room eg for 6 adults best is the sixer room at theme park hotel,,,,,3 queen size bed

i only saw the pic at trip advisor as I dun need such big room

this the room http://yeelinda.blogspot.sg/2017/08/hotel-on-park-replaces-theme-park-hotel.html

faithgurl

y5 room is super small....

if u really want new /big room eg for 6 adults best is the sixer room at theme park hotel,,,,,3 queen size bed

i only saw the pic at trip advisor as I dun need such big room

this the room http://yeelinda.blogspot.sg/2017/08/hotel-on-park-replaces-theme-park-hotel.html

Thanks for your recommendation. Yes, I saw the new room too but it was quite a distance from the main attraction like Casino, indoor theme park etc.. Correct me if I'm wrong

kia0042

ah? I don't get it leh. Confuse when I bought the card last month. They told me can use for 1 week only? So I thought I can just topup when I reach Genting, but if I intend to drive there in future, no connection after crossing border means drive without GPS, if lost the way, jialat.

aLeX84

Some issues to note with onexox:

- when you cross the different regions in JB otw to KL, the cell network will get spotty as there isn't good coverage between some towers. You might lose LTE connection for a few minutes.

- your HP will auto-reboot everytime you pass Genting Permai so just take note if you're relying on some app, like Spotify/Waze. I suspect it's something to do with how the onexox network is configured.

- onexox network is a huge battery sucker on your HP. Idle drain is at 1.8%/hr compared to 0.8%/hr on Singtel, so don't forget to bring your high capacity powerbank with you.

Other than those issues, onexox network is pretty reliable in Genting. I like how you can keep drawing small amounts of data from the initial 5GB/10GB bank, which is valid for 2 years from purchase. I think it'll take me 1.5yrs to use up all the data at the rate I'm going :s13:

aLeX84

Thanks for your recommendation. Yes, I saw the new room too but it was quite a distance from the main attraction like Casino, indoor theme park etc.. Correct me if I'm wrong

Theme Park Hotel is in fact nearer to the indoor theme park a.k.a Skytropolis, which is just next to Arena of Stars and slightly further to the casino compared to FWH. If you need space for 6 adults (3 couples on 3 queen-sized beds) then you should definitely go with TP because most of the FWH rooms are damn cramped compared to TP. The 6xers TP room does provide ample amenities for 6 adults too, like 6x complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, coffee/tea, slippers, towels and toiletries. You'll all be sharing one toilet bowl and one shower cubicle though, along with 2 washbasins. There is free WiFI on each floor of the hotel, coverage extends to the Secret Garden just in front of the hotel.

That being said, the main lobby of TP is undergoing renovation now and the reception will tell you to expect noise on weekdays 9am - 8pm but it's not really noticeable unless you're staying in a room close to the lifts and lobby area. You'll also have to put down a RM200 deposit for TP, refundable at the end of your stay so do budget for that.

aLeX84

Prepaid card question.

Search for 'xpax top up code'?

unlimited_max

If i take plane, my route will usually be:

Airport —> take KLIA express train to KL Sentral —> then from here..there is a mini bus station underground where u can take the Go Genting Express bus (red color) up..but note that It will take you only to the Awana Skyway and from here you will have to take the cable car up to Genting. Bus ticket is only abt rm$10.70 inclusive of the cable car ticket..

At the bus ticketing office though, there will always be taxi drivers asking if u wanna take their taxis up..depending on time and ur bargaining skills..it can be quite cheap..i think normally is from rm$80 to rm$100..that time when i take in the evening..i managed to bargain to rm$60..when he quoted me rm$80..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.