Genting FAQ - Part 3

Arina Hashimoto

I have booked a hotel at First World Hotel Zouk Genting Standard Package at 248RM instead of usual 385RM. Is there any difference in the room? Can’t find much on the booking site. Also is it usually cheaper to book direct than through booking.com, agoda?

Look at ur receipt
See wad room u get

First world hotel got

Standard room (super lousy n old. No wifi)
Deluxe room (lousy n old.no wifi)
Both sucks.

Y5 room (got wifi. Newest. In Tower 3. Tv bigger)

Is the best. But try get mountain view room. So wont kena cigarette smell...

givansingapore

I have booked a hotel at First World Hotel Zouk Genting Standard Package at 248RM instead of usual 385RM. Is there any difference in the room? Can’t find much on the booking site. Also is it usually cheaper to book direct than through booking.com, agoda?

The pricing is for standard room. Other room type like Y5 triple package is RM377.

tcwehcs

I checked booking.com, Agoda. Price is similar to direct booking at Genting (120SGD against 385RM). However the zouk package priced at 248 RM can only be found at Genting not at travel booking site. Just wondering if anything wrong. Thought booking site supposed to give the lowest rate. I have seen Y3 but fully sold out :(

The pricing is for standard room. Other room type like Y5 triple package is RM377.

Arina Hashimoto

until now i still very frustrated that resort hotel dont have wifi
why huh!

want to force ppl go casino

but First world hotel got wifi mah

ariel16

The Vesak weekend all increase price liao. Regret I didnt booked last week when the rooms are free.

vaxvms

until now i still very frustrated that resort hotel dont have wifi
why huh!

want to force ppl go casino

but First world hotel got wifi mah

resort use data as plan cheap cheap lah

FWH not sure for whole day but i try wifi not bad during my 1 hr stay in Y5 room few times when mobile signal not as strong :D

aLeX84

resort use data as plan cheap cheap lah

FWH not sure for whole day but i try wifi not bad during my 1 hr stay in Y5 room few times when mobile signal not as strong :D

Go stay Theme Park hotel la, their wifi is probably the best among all the hotels. Furthermore, you will still be able to access the network after you check out because they apparently don't deregister your device after your stay. Everytime I go uphill I make it a point to go chill in the Talking Garden just outside TP hotel to smoke and use their wifi. It's a nice place to relax and enjoy the cool weather instead of staying in the room all the time :)

Anyway data on prepaid SIMs like onexox is pretty cheap, 1st 10GB (valid for 7 days) + 10GB (valid for simcard duration) for $20, which can last at least 3 trips uphill. Getting internet access should seriously be the least of anyone's problems with cheap plans like these tbh.

ariel16

I just called the hotline, I realised that in May have only 1 night complimentary stay, which is why the Vesak Day weekend jacked up price. April still have 3 night complimentary and June only have 2 night complimentary.

This May I dont think I wanna go up Genting already. 1 night complimentary is abit pathetic.

vaxvms

Go stay Theme Park hotel la, their wifi is probably the best among all the hotels. Furthermore, you will still be able to access the network after you check out because they apparently don't deregister your device after your stay. Everytime I go uphill I make it a point to go chill in the Talking Garden just outside TP hotel to smoke and use their wifi. It's a nice place to relax and enjoy the cool weather instead of staying in the room all the time :)

Anyway data on prepaid SIMs like onexox is pretty cheap, 1st 10GB (valid for 7 days) + 10GB (valid for simcard duration) for $20, which can last at least 3 trips uphill. Getting internet access should seriously be the least of anyone's problems with cheap plans like these tbh.

Theme Park hotel will be my last option if desperate till they build a pedestrian path across the road.....hazard walking across esp middle of the night

Paul Lee

Theme Park hotel will be my last option if desperate till they build a pedestrian path across the road.....hazard walking across esp middle of the night

There's one if you know the route. But it's a long detour from B5. :s22:

You need to walk towards the end of OldTown and take the staircase up and then all the way towards SkyAvenue and then follow the path towards Arena of Stars.

vsvs24

Not just hazard. Very cold esp at night.

Was told will have indoor connection next time. But probably need to wait long long since outdoor themepark delayed.

aLeX84

That's what kakis are for la.. 1 big group go no need scared. I ever walked from SkyAvenue - Arena of Stars - TP Hotel to do solo check in at 11pm down there b4, they got polis bantuan stationed at the entrance. 1am go out jalan jalan also bo daichi but maybe I'm lucky la :s13:

aLeX84

Not just hazard. Very cold esp at night.

Was told will have indoor connection next time. But probably need to wait long long since outdoor themepark delayed.

Go smoke in the cold with hot kopi in hand is one of the best things you can experience in life :)

vaxvms

paisei for the misunderstanding for theme park hotel
she is not say no good but i prefer maxim or GG

theme park is great if u are traveling in a gp of 4-6.......whr can u find 3 double bed in 1 room in genting? theme park is the value for money choice

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.