Genting FAQ - Part 3

craze_ho

Anyone know the free cable car is how? I remember seeing it under my profile but it disappear when I wan to use -_-"

Used live chat they ask me email. Email then say need wait for relavant dept to reply. Now I duno still wan go kl /genting or not liao.

vaxvms

Anyone know the free cable car is how? I remember seeing it under my profile but it disappear when I wan to use -_-"

Used live chat they ask me email. Email then say need wait for relavant dept to reply. Now I duno still wan go kl /genting or not liao.
wkend dun have free cable car

wormworm2

Since you are coming back by coach bus, it does not matter the day you coming back in December.
You should be more concerned about the TIME you coming back.

As an experienced Genting regular, I would recommend you to take no-frills Ridewell/707 bus coach bus back.
As they had early departure as early as 10+ am. Reaching MY/SG customs immigration as early as 4-5pm.

The traffic conditions at the Malaysian and Singapore customs before 5pm is much much much much better than after 6pm, ANY DAY OF THE WEEK.

Can you imagine Singaporeans all over Malaysia, coming back to Singapore at about the same time?

I am an old uncle, lots of time of time to waste, and already registered with Malaysian MDAC, clearing less than 5mins at Malaysian auto-gate, I had no concerned waiting in the aircon bus while the rest queueing at the manual counters for 20-40mins.

About 3-day stay at Genting too short? Well.. only gamblers with good luck will say that.
When I stay over 2 nights at Gentings, I generally will wake up very late on the 4th day onwards.
There is nothing to do at Genting, and 2 previous night gambling would probably stressed me out.
Likely to spending time with massages at Spa and drinks at bar lounges.. beo pretty babes..
I must be a real noob...never been to Genting the last 30+ years. Bringing my in-laws and kids there for the first time this Dec. I booked a few nights at Skyworld through Bookings.com instead of Skyworld itself and then realised i could have earned some GPs paying the same amount. Seems like this GP can give me some freebies or privileges. Is it worth going to the outlet mall? Do you have other suggestions what to do or eat? In-laws have no preference and kids will try indoor and outdoor theme park each day. We dont go to Casino and only simply thought of spending a few days enjoying cool weather outside of Sg without spending too much money. Going to Genting via private cab and flying back via budget air. TIA.

Generalist

Only available Mon-Thurs.Just need to redeem thru the app.

st00pig

I must be a real noob...never been to Genting the last 30+ years. Bringing my in-laws and kids there for the first time this Dec. I booked a few nights at Skyworld through Bookings.com instead of Skyworld itself and then realised i could have earned some GPs paying the same amount. Seems like this GP can give me some freebies or privileges. Is it worth going to the outlet mall? Do you have other suggestions what to do or eat? In-laws have no preference and kids will try indoor and outdoor theme park each day. We dont go to Casino and only simply thought of spending a few days enjoying cool weather outside of Sg without spending too much money. Going to Genting via private cab and flying back via budget air. TIA.

(1) Genting Premium Outlet is worth visiting, even if you don't intend to buy anything. Ooh... perhaps you can visit Chin Swee Temple too. Can take some nice picture and kill some time there. Thereafter, you can walk down the long stairway/escalator to the Premium Outlet.

(2) Suggestion to eat, and without spending too much money? Wah... very tall order... can try try:

Beena's Signature
Pauline's
Medan Selera
Jr Curry

* Meals are MYR$20 or less per person

I live to eat... if you intend to eat something nice... perhaps can try 喜粤 (Grand Imperial Restaurant) behind the Indoor theme park area (if you think MYR$500 +/- is alright); or 龙的传人 (Dragon-i). Also can try 云华宫 (Genting Palace), which is now located at the previous 好友记 (Good Friend)'s place... not bad, I think.

Of course, if your kids love lobsters, can bring them to Burger & Lobsters. Alternatively, if they love Japanese food... can also try try Munakata Ramen (near Genting Grand McDonald/KFC area). It's affordable, around 100plus SGD.

(3) Beside Indoor and Outdoor theme parks, you can visit the Vision City Video Games Park over at the Genting Grand locality. Other play things for the kids are over at Skyavenue level 4: Ripley's Adventureland.

Enjoy!

st00pig

Taking WTS back to SG from genting later next week,
anyone know what to do or where to go?

so far no instructions from them yet.. want to prepare before my trip...
You can call them, or check with them while you are on your way up on board their bus. Enjoy your trip. Cheers.

kevinlaikf

Does anyone know when Genting will release booking for January 2024 onwards?
Web and App is not very current.

Just call them and check room availability.

2 week ago, i check room availability for Terry Lin concert date, ZERO, left with standard rooms.
But I call them, they offer me 4D3N World Card Room, but i choose to take 3D2N instead.

4-5min call cost less than S$1, cheaper if you had valid Msia prepaid sim

craze_ho

Web and App is not very current.

Just call them and check room availability.

2 week ago, i check room availability for Terry Lin concert date, ZERO, left with standard rooms.
But I call them, they offer me 4D3N World Card Room, but i choose to take 3D2N instead.

4-5min call cost less than S$1, cheaper if you had valid Msia prepaid sim
Wa dint know app n web not true. Aiyo. I wanted to book genting hotel but FWH always full or more ex on those available days so I didn't book

vsvs24

Have not been there since covid.

Not sure if these are still the same :

I always take the awana skyway (need to pay) for joyride. Cable car one way is about 10 min which is quite long.

Can visit the Chin Swee Temple. The cable car stops there complimentary but quite a long walk though they have escalators. I usually prefer to take the free shuttle bus there. Even if not praying at the temple, can take a nice walk to see the statutes. Good scenary. There is a vegetarian restaurant and Starbuck, a minimart and shops selling snacks. Unless it rain can be quite warm so best to go earlier in the morning or late afternoon. I usually like to spend sometime here as it is not as crowded as Genting Highlands and it is one of the few outdoor places that you can walk about and kids can run about without having to watch out for cars.

kevinlaikf

Wa dint know app n web not true. Aiyo. I wanted to book genting hotel but FWH always full or more ex on those available days so I didn't book

Actually not saying web or app not accurate, just stated it does not reflect the actual hotel occupancy.

Beside Web/App, rooms also reserved for hotel portal partners, phone booking and walk-ins. Each having it's own quota.

Surprisingly, if you could get last minute annual leave from office, you could get very good rooms at last minutes (1-2 days from actual stay) if they had surplus.

Sent from my friend's mobile.

craze_ho

Actually not saying web or app not accurate, just stated it does not reflect the actual hotel occupancy.

Beside Web/App, rooms also reserved for hotel portal partners, phone booking and walk-ins. Each having it's own quota.

Surprisingly, if you could get last minute annual leave from office, you could get very good rooms at last minutes (1-2 days from actual stay) if they had surplus.

Sent from my friend's mobile.
Aiya, dint know abt this. Ha. Ok.

beast78

Guys, is grand imperial the best/only place to get dim sum at Genting? Is it good?

d.luffy

Previously at the old casino there’s this membership services corner outside the silver/gold area where they can check n book rooms for u directly, the last I asked only for platinum member then they check -.-

but was outside genting club where they only entertain gold/platinum la.. any ideas if normal current membership corner still facilitate this ?

miss the gold room area at old casino side cuz seemed to have better luck there.. pan tang.. hahah… it’s closed for good and just revamping?

st00pig

Guys, is grand imperial the best/only place to get dim sum at Genting? Is it good?
Apart from Grand Imperial, other eateries which serve dim sum in RWGenting are :

- Wanhoi Yamch'a 云海小聚
- Genting Palace 云华宫
- Cha Chaan Teng 茶餐厅
- Yu Palace 御厨
- YouMiQi 有米气

Paiseh... I can't remember whether do Oversea Restaurant 海外天 (near the indoor theme park area) and Seasons (Beside Genting Grand Counter) serves dim sum too.

PS: Nam Heong had closed down. It is Pepper Lunch now.

---edited---

Ooh... I haven't tried eateries which are available in Singapore like Din Tai Fung 鼎泰豐 & Paradise Dynasty 乐天皇朝. I will check with FuHu (at Crockfords) whether do they have dim sum when I pop by for dinner in my coming trip. Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.