Getting new mac desktop

masons

Hello all. I'm planning to get a imac but a upgraded or customized one rather than base model, but through 24mnth installment payment. Looking through the forum, I think either nubox or epicentre are e best choices?

anws, based on what im planning to get, should i wait for comex or get it now?

MacBieber

Hello all. I'm planning to get a imac but a upgraded or customized one rather than base model, but through 24mnth installment payment. Looking through the forum, I think either nubox or epicentre are e best choices?

anws, based on what im planning to get, should i wait for comex or get it now?

If you're going to want to get upgrades as offered from Apple, you can just get it off the online store now. Personally I prefer buying my Apple computers via them instead, because its easier for them to pull up your purchase records with your Apple ID for anything related to returns.

Do note that unless you're buying a 27" iMac, your RAM is soldered onto the board. I'd recommend anyone buying rMBP,MBA or iMac to get AppleCare if you intend to own it for more than a year (your wallet will be raped if something breaks down and requires a complete replacement of motherboard)

Cheers.

IronMac

You cannot buy customized or BTOs from retailers. Someone will correct me if I am wrong. Anyways, with that in mind, no way will you get what you want at COMEX or one of the PC shows.

LeonaV

You cannot buy customized or BTOs from retailers. Someone will correct me if I am wrong. Anyways, with that in mind, no way will you get what you want at COMEX or one of the PC shows.

Yes, you can get BTOs from retailers. They will order on your behalf, and you pay them. They will handle all the tracking/shipping and will call you once it arrives in their store.

The only reason you might want to do that is freebies and installments (like the TS wants here). If I am not wrong, Apple can do installments but only through Citibank.

fuzzybear

my 2yr old mbp still going strong allthough I already got apple care

but this time I plan to hoot rmbp but no promo liao haha for discount apple care and freebie

masons

Yes, you can get BTOs from retailers. They will order on your behalf, and you pay them. They will handle all the tracking/shipping and will call you once it arrives in their store.

The only reason you might want to do that is freebies and installments (like the TS wants here). If I am not wrong, Apple can do installments but only through Citibank.

Yup those are exactly e reasons! What i dun know is whether to wait for comex since there are supposedly free ram upgrades and freebies but not sure if applicable for 21.5" either!

ysl060704

If can wait, a new model should be coming out in 3-5 months time with 802 ac.

If want buy I recommend buy online better than reseller.

My imac spoil and under warranty not once but 3 times. Once the 3rd time got prob (1st time screen prob, 2nd time harddisk prob, 3rd time keep crashing), without hesitation, Apple opt to replace the entire machine for me. I found out that if buy from reseller Apple will not replace the machine but to continue to repair it. Replacing a new machine is NOT an option if your computer breaks down if buy from reseller.

fuzzybear

3 to 5 mths seem long as I need one now lor too bad if sept still can endure

LeonaV

Replacing a new machine is NOT an option if your computer breaks down if buy from reseller.

Buying from reseller is no different than buying from apple online store, in terms of warranty and after sales service. It should still be going to Apple directly, by registering your system online when you first get it. Any problem, just call Apple support. You don't go back to the reseller if you have any problems.

Unline MBA and MBPs, Haswell upgrade for iMac will do very little. iMacs don't use integrated GPU, so they don't benefit from the Intel HD5000. Obviously there's no such thing as a mobile iMac, so power saving will do little as well. You can read why Haswell is not really about desktops here.

Haswell CPUs are a poor choice for desktop gamers. Here's why. | News, Tech, Tech News | PC Gamer

AhBui168

If can wait, a new model should be coming out in 3-5 months time with 802 ac.

If want buy I recommend buy online better than reseller.

My imac spoil and under warranty not once but 3 times. Once the 3rd time got prob (1st time screen prob, 2nd time harddisk prob, 3rd time keep crashing), without hesitation, Apple opt to replace the entire machine for me. I found out that if buy from reseller Apple will not replace the machine but to continue to repair it. Replacing a new machine is NOT an option if your computer breaks down if buy from reseller.

so you mean buy Macs from online better then nubox, epicenter reseller?

borealiszio

Yup those are exactly e reasons! What i dun know is whether to wait for comex since there are supposedly free ram upgrades and freebies but not sure if applicable for 21.5" either!

2012 21.5" iMac u can't DIY the ram so ans is No to free ram upgrade for 21.5 you can pin hopes for 27" thou. Freebies normally is screen protector those or u can purchase parallels etc at cheaper price I don't really think worth the wait

IronMac

Ahh ok...I normally order BTO MBPs and one retailer seemed a bit reluctant.

Thanks..will keep in mind when I replace this MBP in a couple of years.

Doownn

Buying from reseller is no different than buying from apple online store, in terms of warranty and after sales service. It should still be going to Apple directly, by registering your system online when you first get it. Any problem, just call Apple support. You don't go back to the reseller if you have any problems.

Unline MBA and MBPs, Haswell upgrade for iMac will do very little. iMacs don't use integrated GPU, so they don't benefit from the Intel HD5000. Obviously there's no such thing as a mobile iMac, so power saving will do little as well. You can read why Haswell is not really about desktops here.

Haswell CPUs are a poor choice for desktop gamers. Here's why. | News, Tech, Tech News | PC Gamer

I agree with LeonaV. Anyway, just to share with you guys... I also bought my mbp from NUBox and they offer me free memory upgrade to 16gb and tons of freebies that you cannot get from apple online. Freebies that I got is even better than they have in the IT Show. :D

masons

I agree with LeonaV. Anyway, just to share with you guys... I also bought my mbp from NUBox and they offer me free memory upgrade to 16gb and tons of freebies that you cannot get from apple online. Freebies that I got is even better than they have in the IT Show. :D

do they offer free mem upgrade for imac too? :\

ysl060704

I would like to point out that I agree with LeonaV that buying from reseller is no diff from apple online store in terms of warranty and after sales service.

Just that through my personal experience, it will be easier to get a replacement unit if purchase from online store if face with multiple problems as compared to reseller.

ysl060704

Just to share more about my experience and superb Applecare experience,
I was faced with multiple problems (3 times) over 2 years. On the 3rd prob, Apple senior advisor apologise that the iMac has been giving me too many problems and decide to put me through customer service for me to get a brand new imac. FYI this imac is not the old modal but the latest one.

I ask if get from reseller will I get the same treatment and he say no...More likely the issue is to be fixed.

The best part is on the date which I receive the new iMac is the start date of a new 1 year warranty plus a can buy applecare from scratch (another 3 years warranty).

From that point I became loyal Apple fan.

LeonaV

I remember nubox does offer free upgrade of ram for the 27" iMac. Or you can check challenger. None for the 21" though, cos there is no opening for you to put the RAM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.