Getting started with insurance

xtwis7

Actually there’s no trouble for the agent one. They won’t get into like disciplinary action just because they didn’t service you well. They’ll get warnings if they breached guidelines during sales which is quite a sad fact of the industry that’s why those who offer poor service just gets away with it.

I didn't want to call Pru because I think it doesn't look good for the agent. Plus all I have with them is a hosp plan, so I don't want to create unnecessary trouble. But I guess I might have to..

MrPippen

Actually there’s no trouble for the agent one. They won’t get into like disciplinary action just because they didn’t service you well. They’ll get warnings if they breached guidelines during sales which is quite a sad fact of the industry that’s why those who offer poor service just gets away with it.

Oh well. I wait awhile more, see got anyone PM me here. Last time anyhow walk walk also can bump into insurance roadshows. :D

xtwis7

Since Covid happened roadshows have been banned so that’s why those companies that traditionally did a lot of roadshows have been very quiet and all moved online too.

Oh well. I wait awhile more, see got anyone PM me here. Last time anyhow walk walk also can bump into insurance roadshows. :D

MrPippen

Since Covid happened roadshows have been banned so that’s why those companies that traditionally did a lot of roadshows have been very quiet and all moved online too.

Ya lor, last time everywhere, now one also cannot find..:s13:

Mr. Wood

No courtesy to even reply meh?

:s22:

is lidis one. dats why i alwys tell ppl
1. hospital plans get direct frm insurance company, not frm agents. becoz the commissions is so little dey will not bother.
2. complain no matter how small to MAS. it will seem not much, but with hugh vol of complains, hopefully MAS will sit up and take notice and start to clean up the industry of scum agents.

MrPippen

is lidis one. dats why i alwys tell ppl
1. hospital plans get direct frm insurance company, not frm agents. becoz the commissions is so little dey will not bother.
2. complain no matter how small to MAS. it will seem not much, but with hugh vol of complains, hopefully MAS will sit up and take notice and start to clean up the industry of scum agents.

You buy direct from the insurance company, also will have a servicing agent..

Mr. Wood

You buy direct from the insurance company, also will have a servicing agent..

i meant those direct sales, not thru agency.
any cok up can directly fk the company. instead, if go thru agent, customer service will only gib standard "we will look into this matter with the agency in charge". u wan change agent oso take forever.

best complain to MAS.

kelvinang

Advice Needed!
I'm starting out as a self-employed (sales) for the first time, for an Australian company who's setting up in Singapore (currently no Singapore entity yet).

I would need:
1) A plan that covers GP/specialist panel visits [usually corporate plan offers "free" visits to GP and thresholds for specialist panels]
2) A plan that covers work injury compensation [is work injury part of PA?]

Personally I am already covered under my own plans:
1) PruLife Multiplier Flex (Death/TPD/CI/ECI/PA)
2) GE Supreme Health/Total Health (Hospitalization & Surgery)

Any advice on insurance plans to get for a self-employed?
Usually I am a corporate employee so don't have to think about these... :S

winthony

Advice Needed!
I'm starting out as a self-employed (sales) for the first time, for an Australian company who's setting up in Singapore (currently no Singapore entity yet).

I would need:
1) A plan that covers GP/specialist panel visits [usually corporate plan offers "free" visits to GP and thresholds for specialist panels]

Usually your employee benefit would have medical coverage to have a tie down with certain GP etc! For specialist visit, it would be mainly your hospitalization plan. You can look at the higher tier plan which would cover your visit from Raffles Shield. Normally I would recommend that to my clients who are looking at specialist visit at private hospital.

What form of compensation are you looking at? Perhaps a DII would be helpful to cover portion of your salary in the event that you are unable to work for a prolong period of time:)

From your existing portfolio, you are pretty much covered in all aspect! Perhaps only Disability income insurance (DII) and a Multipay Critical Illness coverage would be something you might want to look at to enhance your coverage

boredboiboi

Advice Needed!

I would need:

If your injury is due to accident, yes u can claim PA.
Plans to look at will be the disability income insurance and maybe increase coverage if need be.
For death/tpd/eci maybe to see if there is any shortfall as u only mentioned u r covered but nv state the amount. And do you have any dependents?

xtwis7

Outpatient benefits are what a lot of employed workers take for granted.

Unfortunately as a self employed, if you have staff under you, you can opt for group medical insurance but if not, dedicated outpatient coverage is way too pricey for individuals if you look at the global medical plans meant to cover outpatient too.

My 2 cents? Skip the outpatient because honestly how much outpatient are you going to claim? You can’t expect to pay $100 to claim for $1000 worth of outpatient medical if you’re not on a group level with some headcount.

Advice Needed!

I would need:

kelvinang

Thanks all for your help!

1) The policy I was asked by the company to get is a "Workers compensation which covers you for injury whilst you are working" - i.e. if on the route to meet a client and some ceiling fall on my head [should be personal accident?]
2) I don't have an "employee benefit" since I am self-employed, so I was asked to purchase the policy on my own and get reimbursement what I have paid
3) DII - this is interesting as I have not purchased it before, just thinking if it's really necessary as my wife is working too so I'm not the sole breadwinner..will look it up nonetheless!
4) My SA is as follows:
Death: 240K
TPD: 240K
CI: 240K
ECI: 240K
PA: 100-300K (multiplier effect due to public/private conveyance or something)
5) I am 1 man show for now, don't have staff under me - can't get a group medical insurance thus trying to find one individual [as xtwis7 said - I did took employee benefits for granted when I could just show the insurance card at any clinic and walk off without paying anything in previous employments] I think I visit the GP probably 5-6 times in a year, and the specialist 1-2 times in a year.
6) Family: me, wife and a 3/yo

winthony

1) The policy I was asked by the company to get is a "Workers compensation which covers you for injury whilst you are working" - i.e. if on the route to meet a client and some ceiling fall on my head [should be personal accident?]
2) I don't have an "employee benefit" since I am self-employed, so I was asked to purchase the policy on my own and get reimbursement what I have paid
3) DII - this is interesting as I have not purchased it before, just thinking if it's really necessary as my wife is working too so I'm not the sole breadwinner..will look it up nonetheless!
4) My SA is as follows:
5) I am 1 man show for now, don't have staff under me - can't get a group medical insurance thus trying to find one individual [as xtwis7 said - I did took employee benefits for granted when I could just show the insurance card at any clinic and walk off without paying anything in previous employments] I think I visit the GP probably 5-6 times in a year, and the specialist 1-2 times in a year.

I would say a PA would fulfill your pointer 1!

For DII, currently company A is running a 35% perpetual discount on monthly benefit of $3k and above so you might want to consider! I can get you the quotation.

For pointer 5, I guess your best bet at the moment without hitting the eligibility for a group medical insurance is to stay healthy :s13::s13: Try to get yourself eligible for a group medical insurance as I checked on my side for most of the providers we have do have a minimal headcount.

With a dependent, it is worth doing a review to see if you have any shortfall and decide if it is worth enhancing your coverage

xtwis7

Workmen injury compensation Act (WICA) is a mandatory requirement by MOM.

While I understand that your wife is also working, how difficult would it be for her if you were to lose your income? And it’s not just her but also your 3yr old who depends on both income streams.

May I ask if you have 1 additional staff because group insurance requires just 2 headcount now. I’ll be able to assist you further on this and also the DII if you would like to find out more.

4) My SA is as follows:

BBCWatcher

Workmen injury compensation Act (WICA) is a mandatory requirement by MOM.
No, probably not in this case. I believe Kelvinang is considered self-employed (or at least an independent contractor) in the local legal sense and thus not covered under the WICA.

Let's revisit the employer's requirement:

kelvinang said:
First of all, I think what the employer is trying to do is to protect the employer, not necessarily the employee.

A Personal Accident (PA) insurance policy doesn't fit the exact definition of the employer's requirement as stated. A PA insurance policy provides a monetary payout when certain (not all) accidents occur, while working or not. (And sometimes work-related injuries and accidents aren't covered. These policies routinely exclude coverage for certain professions and activities.)

To my knowledge there's no true work injury compensation insurance available to self-employed workers and independent contractors in Singapore. This requirement cannot be fulfilled as written. And Kelvinang evidently already has some PA insurance coverage. My advice would be to go back to the overseas employer, explain this fact (no individual work injury compensation insurance), and ask if they'd instead pay for an individual Disability Income Insurance (DII) policy. DII is much, much more important in terms of insurance priorities, so I'd start there.

Simiishthis

Hi, I got for my newborn child the following AIA insurance at the following rate and sum assured (due to transfer from AIA maternity insurance)
1) AIA GUARANTEED PROTECT PLUS (II) - 100k Sum assured - 930 SGD
2) Booster for AIA GUARANTEED PROTECT PLUS (II) - additional 100k Sum assured for 1)- 230 SGD
3) Early Critical Protector Life (II) - 100k Sum assured - 150 SGD
4) Booster for Early Critical Protector Life (II) - additional 100k Sum assured - 600 SGD
5) TPD - 100k sum assured - comes packaged with 1)
6) TPD booster - additional 100k sum assured to 5) - comes packaged with 1)
7) Child critical illness benefit - 150k sum assured

total payment terms is 20 years at ~2k annually.

Wonder if i got a good deal and if not, what can i do about it?

boredboiboi

Hi, I got for my newborn child the following AIA insurance at the following rate and sum assured (due to transfer from AIA maternity insurance)
2) Booster for AIA GUARANTEED PROTECT PLUS (II) - additional 100k Sum assured for 1)- 230 SGD
4) Booster for Early Critical Protector Life (II) - additional 100k Sum assured - 600 SGD

Congrats on your new born.

After booster coverage is all 200k.
And the child benefit of 150k if nv mistaken is 25k per illness up to 6 times.
I assume the boost until age 75?

A wholelife plan is correct but i nv go with this as there are better. I would replace it. With the same premium term and amount, you can get way higher coverage.
And is the baby pink of health?
Have you done up the hospital plan?

winthony

Maybe I can summarise and you let me know if I got it right?

Basically its a 20 years payment premium term

Coverage is :
Death : 100k Base with x2 multiplier = 200k
TPD : 100k Base with x2 multiplier = 200k
ECI : 100k Base with x2 multiplier = 200k
CI : 150k + 200k(?) if unclaim from ECI rider.

From what I understand, the ECI rider do cover for all stages of CI. Are all the rider accelerated?

Based on the premium , there is better premium for the same coverage or better coverage with the same premium!

xtwis7

Since you already went with mum2baby, then generally getting the GPP is a more natural choice. Sometimes in life you don’t need to compare down to the cents for the best dealK more importantly is the value that you feel you can get from your FA.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.