GG SLS

jsfisher

The thing is that it is not just the hardware business struggling with very stiff competition from E-tail. If you observe nowadays people don't buy from brick and mortar shops anymore. People just go into the shops to take a look and likely end up purchasing online.

The likes of SLS which specializes only in hardware is more vulnerable since shopping centers still have quite a lot of eateries which is still doing relatively well. I am not surprise that SLS will eventually be gone and the shops either move to E-tail or to heartland shopping centers.

Agreed, especially when SGD and USD exchange rate dropped. Buying from Amazon and Newegg are much cheaper than getting from local shops. Not to mention brands that does not have a local distributor.

Deathzz

Nowadays all go online. Computer components can last longer too. Desktop 5years ago still work damn well for today use. As long got ssd and a decent graphic card.

xtractor

Agreed, especially when SGD and USD exchange rate dropped. Buying from Amazon and Newegg are much cheaper than getting from local shops. Not to mention brands that does not have a local distributor.

good luck to u if u want to RMA ur part........... time consume no problem but cash out money some more for the return part....priceless

watzup_ken

good luck to u if u want to RMA ur part........... time consume no problem but cash out money some more for the return part....priceless

I disagree here. When you RMA your hardware, there will be cost involved regardless of local or international. For instance, I take a half day off to go down to distro is a cost to me. I take a transport to and back, and typically cab down due to the locations, it is a cost. And in most cases, I have to incur similar costs when I go and pick up my items.

International RMA puts the cost upfront, i.e. shipping cost. But return cost is normally free since they will ship back to your home address.

octacon

Those brick and mortar stores in Sim Lim square should just rent a tiny warehouse and sell their wares online since some of them already build a reputation. When Sim Lim Square redevelop, it'll end up YET another gigantic eating place. No Point do retail liao , the rental so high , do dining lor , I'll skip that place to because I don't usually makan at expensive places.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.