GLGT - [BREAKING!] ICA temporarily suspends e-service after 80 unauthorised attempts to change residential address

SkyNinja

If locals, then what is SPF waiting for? Locals should be easy to arrest.

The word is not simple.

Locals could be humans staying/living in Singapore locally. Might not mean Singaporean or PRs. 🤣

pohu

Sometimes you wonder if old school method like filing up hardcopy form is still the better option?

Littledragonpapertiger

Is it time for us to go to ICA to register a change of IC? This will trigger a change of issue date.

The more worrying thing is that scammers may use your personal information to trigger change of address or phone number of bank accounts. For some banks, such information can be changed by submitting a physical form.

ceestudent

Since it is involving the physical address, mata can catch them right? How many physical address they can have?
I guess they will use one address for several singpass account.

clearwhitesky

If not linked to ACRA then lagi jialet! Either got insider selling our info or worst the system got leaked!

or maybe….. maybe this was well planned ahead of GE, like armurica, some may not receive their polling card because it was not mail to their actual address!

SkyNinja

Since it is involving the physical address, mata can catch them right? How many physical address they can have?
I guess they will use one address for several singpass account.

A simple pivot count can know the answer. They need to hire us as consultants.

mryang

If not linked to ACRA then lagi jialet! Either got insider selling our info or worst the system got leaked!

or maybe….. maybe this was well planned ahead of GE, like armurica, some may not receive their polling card because it was not mail to their actual address!
Agreed got 内鬼

lalalalalala

thats according to hp isnt it
its not like it linked to database
and nowadays AI so smart.....
It is linked to database. Your measurements are stored. It's just harder to replicate.

For your hp, your device stores it locally in a secure storage inside the chip. But for govt one they would store in their db.

lalalalalala

The nric date of issue should be akin that of cc cvv number ba..

Physically there but try your best to hide it
Cvv is random. Issue date is guessable. The risk is very different.

Also, looking at the acra nonsense, banks have alot better security teams than govt even though the standard is already very low

Soracak

“For the ACRA portal, the date of issue is not known ... because for the perpetrators to change (the residential addresses), they need both the NRIC and the date of issue (of the NRIC),” he said.

This is like saying it is ok to make guns legal for sale in sg as long as ammunition remains illegal. Cannot fire guns without bullets right? So its ok 👍

lockks

How to guess the issue date? It should be a sequence of logic that generates the issue date. So does that mean internal process has leaks?

Mecisteus

Siao boh. You know i tried the facial recognition before for set up new device or reset password. Totally CMI one especially for those who aged.

Cuz your IC photo may not be up to date. People old liao or sick liao their facial skin changes also.

Totally a waste of time unless they do yearly scan of face recording into system
Maybe your phone CMI.

Or I am not ageing.

Facial can be 1 level of verification apart from SMS OTP and probably add biometric.

More levels = more secure for any high security transactions.

Mecisteus

How to guess the issue date? It should be a sequence of logic that generates the issue date. So does that mean internal process has leaks?
I believe scammers managed to download soft copies of IC.

I am sure some of us may have sent a soft copy of IC for verification.

titusilvering

Maybe your phone CMI.

Or I am not ageing.

Facial can be 1 level of verification apart from SMS OTP and probably add biometric.

More levels = more secure for any high security transactions.
Walan how can phone CMI? I got samsung and redmi and poco leh. Only apple cam is good enough meh? I tell you lah. Singpass facial recognition CMI lah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.