Firing dun solve the issue. Rather they come up with effective solutions ..they still dont want to come clean who exactly did this crap and fire the person in charge.
Yes, received a call from a scammer purportedly working in a bank anti-fraud department. Told me my cc card chalked up unauthorized transactions.
But the truth is I do not have any cc with that bank. So I questioned the scammer how was it possible to apply for cc on in the first place and didn't receive the card or otp to activate the card.
Scammer mentioned about identity theft via compromised singpass. So hacker got in and changed address and hp no. And applied for cc without my knowledge.
He told me to mare a police report some more.
What gave him away was he offered to link me up with MAS anti-fraud department to file a report. This second scammer told me to make a video recording of myself holding my ic ...of course no no. Told him I see him personally at MAS building
The scary part is that the two scammets sound like locals..with our accent...and could give me details like Ang MO address that the card was mailed to etc.
Fortunately, it's just a scam. I called up the bank hot line. No cc under my name. Also reported to MAS
Come to think of it, if I made a video, I think they can use AI to unlock my Face ID, change the IC details and hack into singpass. Probably access my cpf too.
Nowadays, be careful of sending digital copies of your nric. They can phish for the date of issue.
Many of us submitted digital copies of nric with the covid test results. Uploaded to gov server during covid period. What happened to the data?I believe scammers managed to download soft copies of IC.
I am sure some of us may have sent a soft copy of IC for verification.
There are fixed periods for ic issuance… for adults 1 update at 30 years old another at 55 years old. The first 2 digits of nric gives your year of birth Liao ….. so it’s a matter of 365 guesses
I think they should make online change of address to require singpass login. Not just input issue date. And if you cannot receive your Singpass mailed due to the change of address, it has to be self collect at govt agency.
it’s easy to guess the date of issue - can narrow it to the year.
if adult means 30 years old it changed. If senior means 55 years. The first 2 digits of the nric gives the year liao. So add 30 or add 55. Just need to brute force 365 times
not many would have an odd / off cycle issue date due to lost / replacement.
provided that they can...Firing dun solve the issue. Rather they come up with effective solutions ..
Only ic numbers of ministers, they don't care about the peasants
OmgThere are fixed periods for ic issuance… for adults 1 update at 30 years old another at 55 years old. The first 2 digits of nric gives your year of birth Liao ….. so it’s a matter of 365 guesses
I think they should make online change of address to require singpass login. Not just input issue date. And if you cannot receive your Singpass mailed due to the change of address, it has to be self collect at govt agency.
with the type of supercharged computers that scammers use these days..even 1000 guesses is like what a handful of seconds? Problem is this 'solution' narrows down the 'guessing' game for these scammers even more!You can change it 1 year from your birthday I recall. So it can be between 1 June 2025 to 31 May 2026.
More than 365 guesses.
with the type of supercharged computers that scammers use these days..even 1000 guesses is like what a handful of seconds? Problem is this 'solution' narrows down the 'guessing' game for these scammers even more!
Cannot be lah. They following MDDI circular to not NRIC is Authenticator. Just that they forgot NRIC is also user account for Singpass.Omgthen it is a wrong decision to use that. I surprised this is approved by the directors. Must be
. Else the one overseeing this is an IT idiot.
U oni need a little space....Must be. Else the one overseeing this is an IT idiot.
they are just lazyOur passport must change every 10 years. So nric should change too.
Firing dun solve the issue. Rather they come up with effective solutions ..
Umm accountability and resolving the issue are separate matters bah. It’s understandable that you prefer the former.and keep monitoring for few more years until they got an effective solution, right?
can never be too sure these daysIsn't it for the ICA system to have safeguards against bots?
You mean the scammers can brute force ICA systems in seconds?
Die Die , all the VEP applicants, should be more than 100K ?can never be too sure these days
even if not brute force, 10 scammers try 10 times each for a week, might be able to succeed. Is the system smart enough to discern such pattern?
Nothing another chicken wing can't solve for the 61%Pap is really incompetent