GLGT... BYD is another Evergrade in the making....

huihong

BlackStar00

👆 Just read the article. Notwithstanding workmanship and quality assurance issues for this new car mentioned in the article, if materials are also prone to fast corrosion and perish, more system may fail. Even the program in the ECU for a new car is not well conceptualized. Coupled with a soft car body, spells a very risky prospect. All EV has risk, but a strong car body is an added safety feature.

To me, the red flag is not about all those stuff, cos things do happen on off.

The problem is with the buy back from the company. It reeks of hush money.

cet87

i c BYDs on the road... i did armchio. Wat will they do if the coy uplorry. All the warranties how? LOL
just like Chevrolet lo. no more spare parts, need to source from MY.

PiPiChew

According to LTA website, first 4 months in 2025 there are 3002 newly registered BYD’s, far outpacing BMW and Merc at the 1k~ amount each.

If the entire BYD situation really follows Evergrande, confirm havoc.

After sales support gone, everyone scramble to find parts especially batteries.

Assuming LTA does their job and actually QC inspects those BYD properly, then we don’t really have so worry about battery related fire incidents, but resale value would take a massive hit. Who dares to buy 2nd hand car that doesn’t have after sales support and parts?

bakuten

According to LTA website, first 4 months in 2025 there are 3002 newly registered BYD’s, far outpacing BMW and Merc at the 1k~ amount each.

Assuming LTA does their job and actually QC inspects those BYD properly, then we don’t really have so worry about battery related fire incidents, but resale value would take a massive hit. Who dares to buy 2nd hand car that doesn’t have after sales support and parts?
i think SG should be pretty safe.
10 years COE.....any potential damage is capped at 10years+ :ROFLMAO:

fly1111

長城魏建軍:中國已出現「車圈恒大」 比亞迪:根本不存在 已向國家有關部門反映

So how long can it last? Will BYD toh? Many negative things happening and even their locals are very not happy about it.
Small problem. China print money, debt gone, their currency de valued, can over cum tariff.

problem will be since they import a lot of energy this might affect them but then again as the world largest solar panel producer, it might be a problem that can over cum :(

TheITGuy

I secret want BYD to crash
moi laobu work in car sales, say all EV after 5 years need to change batt, quote you 40-60k to replace, might as well buyed new cat sua,

BYD also no resale value.
want to buy EV need to drive 10 years, this is the first hard truth to accept for those who cannot suka suka change car

huihong

I secret want BYD to crash

want to buy EV need to drive 10 years, this is the first hard truth to accept for those who cannot suka suka change car
2nd is the downtime for charging, want to charge need to find EV parking lot,

find liao pay EV charge

charge need to wait 20-30 mins

exit carpark pay carpark charge again

wwenze

BYD is really the perfect storm.

China company
Is successful
Sell EVs

Everything that EDMW hates. :ROFLMAO:
When the wind needed to lift the boat is strong, the crash is more spectacular :ROFLMAO:

wwenze

Remember the scooter battery already certified still chibaboom?

The Chinese saying is really apt, 近朱者赤,近墨者黑

hammerhammer

We need some byd owners here in this thread!

Need their honest opinions and hear it from them
You think they will give honest feedback and get laughed at? Same like I go eat a few 4.8-5.0 🌟 reviews eating places especially those atas Michelin restaurants food taste like ****. The more expensive the most dishonest are the reviews. I am not saying they paid for the reviews but real customer review. Cos if everyone says food is good and you are the odd one out means you are not same level. Agree?

hammerhammer

they dont care about profit margin.....they just use the same stunt pulled by Evergrande....except instead of properties, they used cars.

make cars, sell cars to themselves, using the order receipts as collaterals... they go to lenders or investors to seek more funding.....meanwhile leeching money all the way through the supplier/production line with their friends and buddies. those "sold cars" will be sitting in carparks and will be resold as 0 km "2nd hand" cars to recoup as much $$ as possible....or to sinkies in SG.

the game will keep going until the capital injection/lending stops.
Same MO as the luckin 🦌 coffee.

kreja

Hmm i thinking of buying byd leh. So now how? Back to petrol car?

audiovideo

CCP companies with national mission to conquer the world ... Markets, just to show they are the most powder, will resort to all dirty tricks to accomplish even knowing very well in the end will bankrupt, as long as help CCP win glory 哪怕只是曾经拥有霸了。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.