[GLGT] huawei going to uplorry?

Yueming

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/huawei-stop-making-flagship-chipsets-103149077.html

Huawei Technologies Co [HWT.UL] will stop making its flagship Kirin chipsets next month, financial magazine Caixin said on Saturday, as the impact of U.S. pressure on the Chinese tech giant grows.

U.S. pressure on Huawei's suppliers has made it impossible for the company's HiSilicon chip division to keep making the chipsets, key components for mobile phone, Richard Yu, CEO of Huawei's Consumer Business Unit was quoted as saying at the launch of the company's new Mate 40 handset.

With U.S.-China relations at their worst in decades, Washington is pressing governments around to world to squeeze Huawei out, arguing it would hand over data to the Chinese government for spying. Huawei denies it spies for China.

No more Kirin chipset?

Back2Zero

TS ah TS ah....don't anyhow leh. They stop making Kirin chipset is because TSMC can't manufacture for them liao. China's fab coy don't have the technology. Not uplorry.

sickoflife

They really have to rely on 5G now. It’s their only competitive advantage for the foreseeable future

ketua

Cannot get custom designed kirin chip. But can get commodity chips.

Nainai

They really have to rely on 5G now. It’s their only competitive advantage for the foreseeable future

No western country would dare use it 5G stuff now. Something must be wrong with it for some many country to pull out

Velana

Huawei is now world number 1 mobile phone supplier. what uplorry?

kopi22

TS ah TS ah....don't anyhow leh. They stop making Kirin chipset is because TSMC can't manufacture for them liao. China's fab coy don't have the technology. Not uplorry.
Same la. In the end also no more Kirin.

Sent from Google PIXEL 3 XL using GAGT

Nainai

The way US is screwing HW... no country except the Chinese one will do business with it... or maybe Pakistan and Iran

matrix05

Wow, ran out of chips sooner than expected, tot they would run out in Q4. Only duapoa RenZenFei can save them. He said he has been preparing for this moment for 17yrs.

networm

No western country would dare use it 5G stuff now. Something must be wrong with it for some many country to pull out

Ppl refrain from buying Huawei because they scared later no parts due to US ban, not because there's anything wrong with the equipment. US is the only country to claim that it has security issues but to today still cannot provide evidence. Once China manages to I source their parts, US semicon will be gg.

Gunnerspirit

Chiu anyhow say?
Tsmc cannot sarport them but chips can make in china
Just volume cannot sarport demand, isnt it?
No up lorry.
On the other hand, qualcomm may be up lorry cos biggest customer buai buai liao

Nainai

Ppl refrain from buying Huawei because they scared later no parts due to US ban, not because there's anything wrong with the equipment. US is the only country to claim that it has security issues but to today still cannot provide evidence. Once China manages to I source their parts, US semicon will be gg.

I think If these is any evidence it will not be for you and me to see also under the name of National security. Why would US exposed how and what they know about HW. If country after country stop using something must be seriously wrong

Nainai

Chiu anyhow say?
Tsmc cannot sarport them but chips can make in china
Just volume cannot sarport demand, isnt it?
No up lorry.
On the other hand, qualcomm may be up lorry cos biggest customer buai buai liao

Made In China chip.... you know how far away the Chinese semicon company are away from TSMC?

archetern

I think If these is any evidence it will not be for you and me to see also under the name of National security. Why would US exposed how and what they know about HW. If country after country stop using something must be seriously wrong

I think u might not be aware of what is actually happening. Perhaps you can read up a bit more. There is more to it then meets the eye. It has something to do with tech dominance and US is not very happy getting displaced as the tech dominant power

Posted from PCWX using Mi A3

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.