[GLGT] Siao liao! 18 billion passwords from Apple, Facebook and Google leaked!

coolmyth

Sixteen billion passwords to Apple, Facebook, Google, and other social media accounts, as well as government services, were leaked in what researchers are calling the largest data breach ever, according to reports.

The leak exposed 16 billion login credentials and passwords, prompting both Google to tell billions of users to change their passwords and the FBI to warn Americans against opening suspicious links in SMS messages, according to a report published Thursday in Forbes.

Researchers at Cybernews, who have been investigating the leak, found “30 exposed datasets containing from tens of millions to over 3.5 billion records each.”

All but one of these datasets have not been previously reported as being exposed, so the data impacted is all considered new.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/16-billion-passwords-apple-facebook-203204594.html

Moi quickly went to change moi Apple and Google passwords liao. o_O

EDIT: Paiseh, typo. Should be 16, and not 18. Can mod change for moi, TY! :D

whatheheck

it's individual leaked then compiled and not by apple, google themselves right:s11:

win_man

Since my google hack incident, i dont mind changing my Google password as its random complex that i dont even remember. But others like Apple and FB all these a little troublesome lol

Multiversal

standarture

Leak passwords in plain text or encrypted form?? If so easy leak in plain text, what is the use of complex passwords?

yesman2978

16 or 18, that's an enormous number, considering that the world's population is 8 billion. It is likely that most people are affected unless it's a case of, like, 1 billion people having 16 p/w each, while the rest somehow still use paper.
Many clone accounts

Evcats

Don’t bother usually 2FA will stop any unauthorised login - I got prompted numerous times of overseas attempted login

wongkc

If 1 day can login into 1 million accounts to steal information... also take 16,000 days to finish...

AndroidComa

can filter the passwords into categories?
chio bu
chio-er bu
super models

Multiversal

Many clone accounts

True.

Assuming that the average - based on some people having no clones, some having 2 or 3 clones (for perhaps legit reasons), and some siaolang having 10 clones (for whom trolling and pwning others are legit reasons) - assuming the average is 3 user accounts and p/w per person, that would work out to 16 b/3 = 5 billion people whose accounts and p/w were leaked.

Assuming further and by no big stretch of the imagination that whoever gets hold of these information has the ability to sieve out the clones from the active accounts, he would be able to do some analytics to come up with something to control or destroy the world, as he wishes. And for many more things that could result in a WOT here. 🤣

enimen

Knn.. damn tired keep changing pw because of others incompetence leh.

Fish them la

Multiversal

If 1 day can login into 1 million accounts to steal information... also take 16,000 days to finish...
If you ask a human to do that, you would need an army, but today, with AI and bots, logging in can happen on autopilot ba...

Just one command, a push of the button, and AI gets to work, an army of bots starts logging in at 5G speed, and if you are found by the bot to be merely an edmwer, typically a BBFA with an imagination (about his earning $20K a month) as huge as his waistline, the bot is smart enough to move on to the next account.

When it gets to Trump, Pritamn, or Netanyahu, there will be consequences. Meanwhile, Xi Jinping is gloating............telling himself, heng ah! I don't use Google. Facebook or Apple. For entertainment, I watch 抖音 rather than 油管 on my Huawei smartphone.

Multiversal

Knn.. damn tired keep changing pw because of others incompetence leh.

Fish them la

I think you are barking up the wrong tree.

Based on your logic, you would demand zero crime, no fighting, no killing, no robbery, no sexual whatever just because you have a police force....otherwise it's police incompetence.

KakiMeow

if realli dua ki ...

... Gov will announce big big on ST

if no announce eberywhere ...

... means click bait :s11:

Mecisteus

Fake news ?

Why no official announcement ?

Anyway got 2FA for all my critical accounts.

Not critical got nothing important.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.