Going JB for a day trip what do you suggest?

sunsetbay

most of jb airbnb are managed by afew of these hosts, which are hired by the ppty owners. my fren bought up alot of these condo units very cheaply during covid. just pointing out, you post picts liddat with timestamp, plus airbnb gives ur details to the host, if someone if a host, they know exactly who u are.

i dont stay rnf. its too far from anything. i would only if i drive, but if i drive, i rather stay eco/iskandar/legoland that area than stay rnf

its ok for the host to know its guests~ i met the host at the lobby anyway~ there are more than just few hosts in JB~ i'd stay many units before, all hv its pros & cons~ :s22:

Meemoosaa

The thing with airbnb these days (in JB i noted) is that they are not as value for money anymore if it's just 2 pax unless going in crowds and maximizing the number of people the unit can take in. If family or young group of friends okay lah but after a certain age, the last thing you wanna do is to crash together with your other mid life peers and friends. :s13:

The other thing, check in late, check out super early. No safekeeping for bags before and after checkin. Damn sian need to lug it around, but some airbnb property owners will try to help safekeep the bag before checkin time, however if it's airbnb management they won't entertain.

When it's just two of us, I sometimes rather do hotel, they'll at least entertain safekeeping of bags before and after checkin.

SantyBalls

The thing with airbnb these days (in JB i noted) is that they are not as value for money anymore if it's just 2 pax unless going in crowds and maximizing the number of people the unit can take in. If family or young group of friends okay lah but after a certain age, the last thing you wanna do is to crash together with your other mid life peers and friends. :s13:

The other thing, check in late, check out super early. No safekeeping for bags before and after checkin. Damn sian need to lug it around, but some airbnb property owners will try to help safekeep the bag before checkin time, however if it's airbnb management they won't entertain.

When it's just two of us, I sometimes rather do hotel, they'll at least entertain safekeeping of bags before and after checkin.
all the airbnb(service apartments) i went to in jb recently has pay per use luggage storage. it's the same setup as the popstations/locker stations in sg. most charge by hourly or daily

Meemoosaa

all the airbnb(service apartments) i went to in jb recently has pay per use luggage storage. it's the same setup as the popstations/locker stations in sg. most charge by hourly or daily

Oh really ! I didn't realise that. I will ask and check with host next time. The few I went to couldn't even tell me where are the nearest lockers, maybe unlucky ba. Tks for letting me know.

sunsetbay

check-in & out timing are similar to hotel~ in 3pm, out 12pm~ i do stay at hotel too but encountered few times need to wait till 4pm+ then the room is ready during holiday season~

for older folks better stick to hotel cos airbnb check-in instruction can be overwhelming~ hotel also no need to bother about disposing trash before check out~ hotel provides breakfast option~ airbnb suitable for bigger group and units are equipped with bigger fridge, washer, proper kitchen setup~ :s22:

Meemoosaa

check-in & out timing are similar to hotel~ in 3pm, out 12pm~ i do stay at hotel too but encountered few times need to wait till 4pm+ then the room is ready during holiday season~

for older folks better stick to hotel cos airbnb check-in instruction can be overwhelming~ hotel also no need to bother about disposing trash before check out~ hotel provides breakfast option~ airbnb suitable for bigger group and units are equipped with bigger fridge, washer, proper kitchen setup~ :s22:

All the airbnb I've been to (almost), checks in at 3pm and checks out at 11am ! Most hotel checks in at 2pm and checks out at 12noon. Huge difference, though some airbnb host happy to provide late check out or check in as long as nobody else is around before or after but chances are far and few.

Japan is the exception. Some hotels checks out at 10am ! But at the very least, no need to dispose trash !

Oh yes, disposing trash :rolleyes:. ..

Yeah airbnb has proper kitchen setup for family who needs to cook but who cooks in JB for one night or two ? lol

SantyBalls

not once have i disposed trash at my airbnb. i just tie them up and pile them somewhere.

the good thing about hotel is if its unsatisfactory u are more likely to get a replacement room, and more likely to have active cleaning crew available. but popular hosts with many units also do offer this.

main diff is if family, dunnid book 2 hotel rooms

sunsetbay

not once have i disposed trash at my airbnb. i just tie them up and pile them somewhere.

the good thing about hotel is if its unsatisfactory u are more likely to get a replacement room, and more likely to have active cleaning crew available. but popular hosts with many units also do offer this.

main diff is if family, dunnid book 2 hotel rooms

some airbnb specifically put instruction to dispose trash before check out~ even w/o instruction, i would dispose the trash cos its not a difficult thing to do and the garage room usually located near the staircase~ i airbnb once at taiwan, hv to do downstair bin collection point to throw~

i copy & paste the T&C of one of my airbnb stay at mt austin:

"
1. Take care of your belongings.
2. Respect neighbours quiet time after 10.00pm to 8.00am (MYT). During these hours, please reduce noise and music volume.
3. No alteration. If you break or damage anything you will be charged for repair or replacement.
4. Smoking is not allowed
5. No illegal substance allowed on the premises
6. Please do your dishes
7. Please take the trash out before you leave
8.Please do not wear shoes in the house"

SantyBalls

It is specifically adult family that I will prefer to book separate rooms when on holiday. :s13:

Those with kids I understand the importance of staying together.
all the more go for homestay. visit pasar malam, night market, they no place to sitdown eat 1. often we just buy back to eat. so irritating having to keep walking between rooms, locking doors, no need worry lock urself out.

also the cooking is useful. jb grab so cheap. sgd3 for zichar with free delivery. endup alot food become cold or leftover, can reheat. or things like burger, can portion with their knife to share.

on the contrary, it's those with kids that should go for hotel. daily housekeeping. fresh sheets, towels, clean toilet, etc.

also all units which says 11am checkout, i requested noon, so far none rejected me.

some airbnb specifically put instruction to dispose trash before check out~ even w/o instruction, i would dispose the trash cos its not a difficult thing to do and the garage room usually located near the staircase~ i airbnb once at taiwan, hv to do downstair bin collection point to throw~

i copy & paste the T&C of one of my airbnb stay at mt austin:

"
1. Take care of your belongings.
2. Respect neighbours quiet time after 10.00pm to 8.00am (MYT). During these hours, please reduce noise and music volume.
3. No alteration. If you break or damage anything you will be charged for repair or replacement.
4. Smoking is not allowed
5. No illegal substance allowed on the premises
6. Please do your dishes
7. Please take the trash out before you leave
8.Please do not wear shoes in the house"
just bcoz they ask u to do so, doesnt mean u have to do it. you pay cleaning fees for a reason.

there is only a handful of hosts(management companies) in jb, so all of em just share the same rules. reason being, hotels have daily housekeeping. airbnb dont. so for long bookings, if tenant dont clear their trash, the whole place would reek. some more power. know their rubbish smelly, stink up the place, what they do? they put it at their balcony n shut the balcony door, let it bake for days.

for me, i only make an effort to clear the rubbish that would stink. I stack all the rubbish tied up in a neat pile.

it's the same for returning tray law in sg. some many mindless sinkies even at restaurants, cafes, etc return their tray. no return station, they return to the serving counter. no common sense, got return can alrdy. see alrdy so xiasuay.

Meemoosaa

all the more go for homestay. visit pasar malam, night market, they no place to sitdown eat 1. often we just buy back to eat. so irritating having to keep walking between rooms, locking doors, no need worry lock urself out.

also the cooking is useful. jb grab so cheap. sgd3 for zichar with free delivery. endup alot food become cold or leftover, can reheat. or things like burger, can portion with their knife to share.

on the contrary, it's those with kids that should go for hotel. daily housekeeping. fresh sheets, towels, clean toilet, etc.

also all units which says 11am checkout, i requested noon, so far none rejected me.

just bcoz they ask u to do so, doesnt mean u have to do it. you pay cleaning fees for a reason.

there is only a handful of hosts(management companies) in jb, so all of em just share the same rules. reason being, hotels have daily housekeeping. airbnb dont. so for long bookings, if tenant dont clear their trash, the whole place would reek. some more power. know their rubbish smelly, stink up the place, what they do? they put it at their balcony n shut the balcony door, let it bake for days.

for me, i only make an effort to clear the rubbish that would stink. I stack all the rubbish tied up in a neat pile.

it's the same for returning tray law in sg. some many mindless sinkies even at restaurants, cafes, etc return their tray. no return station, they return to the serving counter. no common sense, got return can alrdy. see alrdy so xiasuay.

Ok lah, I guessed different peeps different ways of enjoying JB. We like to check out restaurants in JB and lim kopi at cafe outside until late. One of the reasons why we love going to JB. So many unusual establishments and offerings. Not very interested in pasar malam. lol

After late kopi, massage until midnight, return home immediately koon. Hardly bring stuff back to eat except for the ocasional snacks. Next morning, usually detox for breakfast with a cup of tea and then check out go lunch. Hardly need the use of any kitchen.

One of the Taman Austin Manhattan doesn't entertain late check out but then I'm not into that building and that area anymore, so won't be going back. Very ocassionally in some airbnb, if nobody after us they will entertain late check-out lor.

sunsetbay

if with kids, i would choose airbnb cos i can do the laundry, no need to bring so many clothes for them~ esp if they go for a swim, a washer will come in handy~

as i said earlier, even w/o instruction i will still clear all the trash~ not a difficult task just like how we dump our trash at the common binchute at hdb each time we go out~ also i want my kids learn the right thing too~ :s22:

SantyBalls

Ok lah, I guessed different peeps different ways of enjoying JB. We like to check out restaurants in JB and lim kopi at cafe outside until late. One of the reasons why we love going to JB. So many unusual establishments and offerings. Not very interested in pasar malam. lol

After late kopi, massage until midnight, return home immediately koon. Hardly bring stuff back to eat except for the ocasional snacks. Next morning, usually detox for breakfast with a cup of tea and then check out go lunch. Hardly need the use of any kitchen.

One of the Taman Austin Manhattan doesn't entertain late check out but then I'm not into that building and that area anymore, so won't be going back. Very ocassionally in some airbnb, if nobody after us they will entertain late check-out lor.
how did you ask for late checkout?

I ask on the day itself. for noon checkout. make up some reason. never been rejected before. manhatten mgmt also allow.

most noon is the standard. they put 11am cause put noon, ppl 1pm then checkout. there's only a handful of mgmt in jb, even tho there are different hosts. the sop is all similar.

most of the time is the host dont wanna cause the mgmt trouble, cause its host responsibility to ensure their tenant clear the premise on time for their cleaner, and to comms with the mgmt.

you give them assurance you will be out exactly at ur specified time they usually ok 1. like at 10am u say, you alrdy packed everything, ready go checkout liao. you just want to go somewhere for breakfast first. want to go for a morning swim, meeting friend downstairs at noon, etc.

if with kids, i would choose airbnb cos i can do the laundry, no need to bring so many clothes for them~ esp if they go for a swim, a washer will come in handy~

as i said earlier, even w/o instruction i will still clear all the trash~ not a difficult task just like how we dump our trash at the common binchute at hdb each time we go out~ also i want my kids learn the right thing too~ :s22:
ya another is also can do laundry, and got microwave. n i suppose homestay kettle n fridge safer. since u got washing machine. in hotel u have f up ppl microwaving their soiled socks n undergarments. boiling them in kettle. refrigerating them, power la.

also about learning the right thing? i suppose you also follow the no shoes inside rule? :s22:
you also off the aircon when u leave the unit even tho u coming back later?
make the bed, clean up the place?
put everything back as if you were never there? got clean up your own hair from the drain/toilet? sweep/mop the floor for them? :s22:

there's a line between doing the right thing and doing someone else's job for them. imo u are disrespecting them by doing their job for them. implying that they are incapable.
how would you feel when ppl come and do your job for u at work?

you paid the cleaning fee, it's their job to clear the trash. to me doing the right thing is enabling them to do the job easier. it's not to needlessly have trash everywhere.
It's bagging or placing your trash neatly so they can just grab and throw.

just like returning tray here. outside of hawker center and food court, or when return station is full at these location, the right thing is placing dishes neatly in the tray and leaving it at your table so cleaner can just clear and wipe the table.

Meemoosaa

I ask on the day itself. for noon checkout. make up some reason. never been rejected before. manhatten mgmt also allow.

most noon is the standard. they put 11am cause put noon, ppl 1pm then checkout. there's only a handful of mgmt in jb, even tho there are different hosts. the sop is all similar.

most of the time is the host dont wanna cause the mgmt trouble, cause its host responsibility to ensure their tenant clear the premise on time for their cleaner, and to comms with the mgmt.

you give them assurance you will be out exactly at ur specified time they usually ok 1. like at 10am u say, you alrdy packed everything, ready go checkout liao. you just want to go somewhere for breakfast first. want to go for a morning swim, meeting friend downstairs at noon, etc.

Will try next time. Tks for tip !

ya another is also can do laundry, and got microwave. n i suppose homestay kettle n fridge safer. since u got washing machine. in hotel u have f up ppl microwaving their soiled socks n undergarments. boiling them in kettle. refrigerating them, power la.

also about learning the right thing? i suppose you also follow the no shoes inside rule? :s22:
put everything back as if you were never there? got clean up your own hair from the drain/toilet? sweep/mop the floor for them? :s22:

there's a line between doing the right thing and doing someone else's job for them. imo u are disrespecting them by doing their job for them. implying that they are incapable.

you paid the cleaning fee, it's their job to clear the trash. to me doing the right thing is enabling them to do the job easier. it's not to needlessly have trash everywhere.

just like returning tray here. outside of hawker center and food court, or when return station is full at these location, the right thing is placing dishes neatly in the tray and leaving it at your table so cleaner can just clear and wipe the table.

There are internet memes, discussions and jokes all over about airbnb rules these days.

I agree with the trash thing in this respect. Just placing it neatly for them to throw is reasonable enough especially if staying only for a day or two. However, am sure there are also many airbnb peeps who will trash the place and has zero concept of basic cleanliness and respect for others' properties, that's why end up some host also went to the other extreme end of imposing all sort of rules.

sunsetbay

upto individual~ if you feel money spent must squeeze out every inch of it, by all means, leave the AC, TV, fans, lights leave it on 24hrs thru out the stays~ just dun tell them that all S'porean guests are like that~ :s22:

SantyBalls

Since 1/1/25 is a Wednesday n happens to be public holidays, it coincides with the Wednesday Bukit indah night market, might b not bad an idea to visit jb…
Mee, come over lah…
Will b an 👁️ opening experience of jb night market…
The nearby i see 2 prominent seafood restaurants. Yijia and tian lai. Any good?

Coffeelix

The nearby i see 2 prominent seafood restaurants. Yijia and tian lai. Any good?
Tian Lai is good.
But Tian Lai Bukit indah Branch is closed on Wednesday. However their gelang patah one is open on Wednesday.

This sea cucumber is Rm50 for 2 packs available at Bukit indah morning market on Friday to Sunday from7 am to 10 am

SantyBalls

Tian Lai is good.
But Tian Lai Bukit indah Branch is closed on Wednesday. However their gelang patah one is open on Wednesday.

This sea cucumber is Rm50 for 2 packs available at Bukit indah morning market on Friday to Sunday from7 am to 10 am

Oh. Then i go try at thur night. Will prolly be booking some nights airbnb.

Wa, the gelang patah 1 in the middle of nowhere

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.