Going JB for a day trip what do you suggest?

FeNgZhEnG

midvalley
paradigm mall

toppen if u have time...quite ulu location and empty but got ikea and nitori

RyanJ

"Lok kok" malls but not decrepit :
KSL, Holiday Plaza, Pelangi, Sentosa, Angsana, Galleria Kotaraya

'Newer' better run malls:
City Square, Komtar , Paradigm, Midvalley, Aeon Tebrau, Toppen, R&F, Johor Premium Outlet

There are many other malls I have not listed.
The ones bolded are I believe more popular with Singaporeans, or at least what I feel.
Broadly speaking KSL / Holiday Plaza esp for cheaper haircuts / pedi manicure / facials etc.

zueinder

I recommend Sutera Mall. Very local and lots of food options. Good mall to chill out but no cinema and very few of those branded stores.

jq75

I'm thinking to talk a day trip to JB what do you suggest? Which mall is the best? What food die die must eat? any places to visit for sightseeing?
many makan places. pelangi area etc, demands what u want

Ess-N-Ess

depends on whether u drive or not. If you drive just go kukup. you'll have a good time there just for a day.

If not KSL vicinity got alot of nice food , walkable to alot of entertainment around the city, also mall outside monday got pasar malam. Bluntly said, its a tourist trap but dense, alot of things to do but just have to be xtra careful dont get chop

Sutera Mall is aslo good, bus friendly if you stay in the west, Go Kart, Escape, lots of hipster like establisment around the mall. Its a place where Johoreans spend their sgd here

spinning_quirK

City Square, Komtar , Paradigm, Midvalley, Aeon Tebrau, Toppen, R&F, Johor Premium Outlet

The ones bolded are I believe more popular with Singaporeans, or at least what I feel.
Broadly speaking KSL / Holiday Plaza esp for cheaper haircuts / pedi manicure / facials etc.
R&F not a dead mall meh? When I was there during the day, hardly anything was open.

Not.banned.yet

Any review abt R&F? I see the link way tempted to go, but scared walk all the way Liao it’s just the same.

Not.banned.yet

If go in ownself, my preferred itinerary:

if near ciq:
Breakfast at oriental kopi City square
Lunch - curry fishhead / yawang
Shun Bian tabao some banana cakes.

if near ksl
Breakfast: dim sum at pin Ming xuan
Lunch I buy from random coffeeshop
Snacks buy Ming ang.
If can catch timing I’ll eat Ah dong durian. From johor farm. I anyhow chose 2. Very good quality. Don’t need MSW to feel the oomph.

RyanJ

R&F not a dead mall meh? When I was there during the day, hardly anything was open.

Any review abt R&F? I see the link way tempted to go, but scared walk all the way Liao it’s just the same.

Almost 2 yrs back when I last visited indeed very empty, vaguely remembered got burger king and an expensive supermarket.

Not sure about now.

Probably still pales compared to precovid.

Yes got a sheltered walkway from CIQ.

Unless you happen to be staying around that area, I would give it a miss.

RyanJ

If go in ownself, my preferred itinerary:

if near ciq:
Breakfast at oriental kopi City square
Lunch - curry fishhead / yawang
Shun Bian tabao some banana cakes.

if near ksl
Breakfast: dim sum at pin Ming xuan
Lunch I buy from random coffeeshop
Snacks buy Ming ang.
If can catch timing I’ll eat Ah dong durian. From johor farm

Haven been Pin Min Xuan for longest time.

You book or walk in?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.