Goodbye..$212k tech jobs. Jialat AI

Dracky

Among college graduates aged 22 to 27, computer science and computer engineering majors are facing some of the highest unemployment rates – 6.1 per cent and 7.5 per cent, respectively, according to a report from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. This is more than double the unemployment rate among recent biology and art history graduates, which is just 3 per cent.

Coding is going to be a low-level activity.

At this rate of progress, whatever coding you learn in CS in Year 1 will be obslete by the time you graduate. It'd be better to focus on hardware and computer engineering.

kleong

Eventually all will go back to basic, be farmers and builders, or hawkers. Or PHV drivers.

autonomous vehicles will replace phv driver. Think sinkie better learn how to dig ground and look for sweet potato/tapioca

anchoraz

Who is going to rent overpriced commercial spaces and room cum condo rentals? Miw Miw and kakis going to starve. Oh no! Anyways.
Ai will reset the humans.

Many panic nw still holding large loans on car and housing. Tis time really siao liao. Quick dump them to prevent bankrupt.

Those education sector may get impacted. Pple dun need go sch liao. Mayb primary/sec sch good enuff.

Anyway we r doom. No different.

NintendoSwitch

Ai will reset the humans.

Many panic nw still holding large loans on car and housing. Tis time really siao liao. Quick dump them to prevent bankrupt.

Those education sector may get impacted. Pple dun need go sch liao. Mayb primary/sec sch good enuff.

Anyway we r doom. No different.
How will Ba Sing Se retain 65% grip on money making without Moe to brainwash kids? Dun think they will leemove the law for compulsory schooling ever.

Emperor_Hippo

Financial institutions are still using COBOL. Waiting for these systems to be replaced by AI-coded systems.
piang, i shld had applied for a job in a financial institution.

COBOL was my 1st programming language.

tmd, debug until tor hwee. cos it uses US Spelling "color" vs "colour".

nau hia eh.

Emperor_Hippo

eventually, every 10 vacancies will become 2. 8 out of 10 going to lose their job. those stayed behind is likely the real SME that will only do final review or issue/case that has no prior history.

more and more people are using some form of AI in their job. but..

the more human rely on these AI assitance, the more likely they lose their critical thinking or ability to think deeper..i think this is the real danger...some what like the previous student case who just copy and paste with even the non-existence citations thingy
true.

there was once during my holidays, i told AI to help me plan for just one day. TMD, after AI spit everything out by me just writing my prompts properly, and I took AI's plan. I froze.

at that moment, it felt like my IQ had dropped 130pts, cos i realized i didn't need to do jackshiet since ChatGPT like source "almost" everything for me and do time planning also.

fug man, i instantly deleted the results and go back to good ol google search, manually compile, string places together, reference google maps and do time planning.

but that chatgpt Sol does make for a good chatting companion when you are alone in the car.

Emperor_Hippo

not entirely true, we still need people to review and test the code. AI does help to take over the programming work, but there part has already been outsourced to offshores. It impact the offshore outsourcing more.
that's what accountants will say.

nachtsid.er

many tech jobs are fluff anyway, good for social media
nothing of substance

Redberries

Among college graduates aged 22 to 27, computer science and computer engineering majors are facing some of the highest unemployment rates – 6.1 per cent and 7.5 per cent, respectively, according to a report from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. This is more than double the unemployment rate among recent biology and art history graduates, which is just 3 per cent.

Coding is going to be a low-level activity.

At this rate of progress, whatever coding you learn in CS in Year 1 will be obslete by the time you graduate. It'd be better to focus on hardware and computer engineering.
After this type of news come out. Next year university all shun computer science course.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.