[][][] Google Galaxy Nexus [][][] Thread

miyamiya

gotten the phone from mobyshop..

cant sync facebook lar.. cant do software update lar..

didnt know google keep track of the apps i installed.. once i signed into google.. the phone started to download all my apps including my launchers~:s22:

but still nice phone.. jus no syncing from facebook.. dun tell me this is promote their google+ which no one is really using..

oh yah.. games also.. my Plants vs Zombie not compatible~:s13:
About the facebook sync issue, Google has already removed it in Gingerbread for Nexus S and beyond. Meaning all nexus phones from Nexus S onwards will not likely have FB sync anymore.

This is because FB doesn't allow export of FB contacts to Google. The original FB sync works only if you have the official FB app installed and the sync uses the FB app to read the contact info from FB servers. However once you sync, it will remain in your android phone contact list but your FB contact info will still not be uploaded to Google's servers.

So everytime you make a new friend, you got his/her phone number and fb, the most google can do is store the phone number in the google server, but you can only save the fb contact and photo in your phone by syncing through the FB app. After that, you still cannot save that info into the google server because FB don't allow it. So previously before Gingerbread, when you reformat your phone or change new phone, you can only retrieve back the google contacts from google server but you still need to reinstall the FB app to sync photos from the FB server.

Google's belief is that anyone should be able to store all their contact info on the cloud and retrieve them anytime from the google servers but because FB still doesn't want to use the google contact API to do that, google became dulan and decided to remove the sync feature totally.

Even now, the only way to get FB contact info is through a 3rd party app that can only read from the FB servers but not save and upload it anywhere else.

Skyy

Does the 2000 mah extended battery helps improve battery life alot?

Anyone tried the official extended battery yet?

The 2000 mah batt is only 250mah more than the stock one. So 1 hr more of talktime seems quite about there.

alprakas

Just saw a tweet from Cnet Asia, Galaxy Nexus launching in Feb instead of Jan! What the hell! X-(

Twitter

What do we do now! How much longer should we hold on the purchase!

Gixxerfied

Srsly???

If really rike that then might consider recontracting a ip4s, sell that off and get a export set..

vincom2

Just saw a tweet from Cnet Asia, Galaxy Nexus launching in Feb instead of Jan! What the hell! X-(

Twitter

Omg whatttt. So much for supposedly being among the first wave of galaxy nexus launch countries...

marshy

Twitter

Yeah.. I just saw that tweet... really screwed... I'm willing to risk an export set

alprakas

Srsly???

If really rike that then might consider recontracting a ip4s, sell that off and get a export set..
Yeah...according to the tweet..although as you can see in the tweet they didnt mention their source, no further details lor!

What is the cheapest option right now for the Nexus? Guys, who bought already, could you please verify the following:
Mobyshop/Mobilesquare - SGD 890 (inclusive GST, actually they dont charge GST)
SGBEST - ~950 (including GST and shipping)
Expansys - ~970 (including GST and shipping)
UKhandtec - ~980 (including GST and shipping)

Any other places, am I missing here? According to this, mobyshop/mobilesquare etc are the cheapest option right now, but no warranty! SGBEST has warranty but it is 60SGD more expensive! Wow I am confused what to do now! Hehe Any suggestions! Thanks for the help guys!

vincom2

Yeah...according to the tweet..although as you can see in the tweet they didnt mention their source, no further details lor!

What is the cheapest option right now for the Nexus? Guys, who bought already, could you please verify the following:

Any other places, am I missing here? According to this, mobyshop/mobilesquare etc are the cheapest option right now, but no warranty! SGBEST has warranty but it is 60SGD more expensive! Wow I am confused what to do now! Hehe Any suggestions! Thanks for the help guys!
There's the malaysian website I posted on page 34, although I still haven't found any reports of anyone who's bought a galaxy nexus from them lol. S$840

Gixxerfied

Still weighting my options..

just to check, has anyone here rooted their g.nexus? what if really suay bricked the phone?

Haman

SGBEST, if self collect at Jurong East office, waive off the 7+dollars of shipping.

alprakas

SGBEST, if self collect at Jurong East office, waive off the 7+dollars of shipping.

Yeah can do that.. So that will bring the price to 940 SGD.. Still too much lor.. I was hoping for at least 100 dollars less than that after launch from shops like mobyshop etc. Thanks for the info though!

There's the malaysian website I posted on page 34, although I still haven't found any reports of anyone who's bought a galaxy nexus from them lol. S$840

Yeah lah, saw that too, but nobody has tried it yet so... thanks anyway!

nofate

i bought from expansys.. $889 plus shipping.. they did not deduct addition amount so not sure if it include gst or nv charge gst..

bought iphone4s at $150 sold for $930... so basically i onli paid 109 for my Galaxy Nexus..
their delivery oso quite fast.. order on sat.. receive on tue noon..

1 thing i not sure is if it is cover by warranty anot..

glad i did not wait for local telco to bring in..

Skyy

duno what the hell is Samsung doing. keep repeating the same old "it'll be launched in Jan 2012" like a broken record, then say crap like don't wana disappoint their fans if they give a firm date and can't stick to it. then now delay another month! so means that they can't even stick to a launch date of 30 days.

next time should just announce the year can liao, then won't embarrass themselves!

nofate

i believe samsung is slow cos its google n not samsung own model..
note launch later then nexus n its out in sg way faster..

nexus now delay till feb.. really got e wtf feeling..

alprakas

i bought from expansys.. $889 plus shipping.. they did not deduct addition amount so not sure if it include gst or nv charge gst..

bought iphone4s at $150 sold for $930... so basically i onli paid 109 for my Galaxy Nexus..
their delivery oso quite fast.. order on sat.. receive on tue noon..

1 thing i not sure is if it is cover by warranty anot..

glad i did not wait for local telco to bring in..

Is it? When I got my Nexus One from google USA (Ah, the good old days!), the delivery guy charged me the GST. I suppose, thats the way GST charging works for importing.

So, I assume that you didnt have to pay anything to the delivery guy..

Right now, Expansys is listing the G Nexus for ~865, shipping is 30 SGD. Thats what confuses me actually.. If shipping is 30SGD, looks like they are not located in SG, in which case the delivery man should ask us the GST fee... Of couse I am not complaining, just want to be sure of the total price before ordering.. :)

According the Help Centre of Expansys, they give a standard warranty of 3 months. Extended one year warranty can be purchased for additional 47 SGD..

teh__o

duno what the hell is Samsung doing. keep repeating the same old "it'll be launched in Jan 2012" like a broken record, then say crap like don't wana disappoint their fans if they give a firm date and can't stick to it. then now delay another month! so means that they can't even stick to a launch date of 30 days.

next time should just announce the year can liao, then won't embarrass themselves!

then they can delay until dec also can :s13:

colin27

Still weighting my options..

just to check, has anyone here rooted their g.nexus? what if really suay bricked the phone?

Bro, remember GNex is some sort of a dev's phone. Super easy to root. Remember to unlock the bootloader first. That was the tedious part for me. As you can guess by now, I have rooted it and it was my virgin attempt. :D No problemo.

colin27

Twitter

I thought today's Digital Life mentioned GNex will be released this month? Page 3.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.