[][][] Google Galaxy Nexus [][][] Thread

alprakas

I think i reserved last set cause i collecting 7+ =p He did mention more stocks coming in later also.
lucky ah you! :D of course you are just living up to your nickname! Velociraptors should be fast meh, show like that in Jurassic park lor! :D :p Hehehe just kidding! :D

I just hope I can get one tonight after I travel for about an hour! Hehehe

slowpoke

In HK, the galaxy nexus is around $4700 to $4800 on the streets, at current exchange rates, the shops aren't really earning a lot.

Gixxerfied

Hmm, I think so too.. else shouldnt be this late.. The funny thing would be that I go there so late and still cant get one! :D And I stay near Boonlay! quite a distance from here lor!

By the way, did you check the software build before rooting? Was it yakju or something else?

yakju build

Android 4.0.1 (Build ITL41F)

MGeaR356

you guys are making envy.. but i am trying to hold out for a quad core device as i am already using a sensation.. :/

Gixxerfied

In HK, the galaxy nexus is around $4700 to $4800 on the streets, at current exchange rates, the shops aren't really earning a lot.

My colleague saw it at 4680 recently at hk.. I guess they can only earn maybe 10-30 bucks more by bulk consignment..

you guys are making envy.. but i am trying to hold out for a quad core device as i am already using a sensation.. :/

Your sensation quite new also..No pt larx..For me is becos i hate my wp7 device and have yet to try out android so just nice..

MGeaR356

My colleague saw it at 4680 recently at hk.. I guess they can only earn maybe 10-30 bucks more by bulk consignment..

Your sensation quite new also..No pt larx..For me is becos i hate my wp7 device and have yet to try out android so just nice..
but i am a sucker for good screens.. 720p.. sounds like a dream to me.. aww.. lol

but now sensation ICS rom also nto so stable.. ICS is so good man..

alprakas

Got it got it got it! Finally! :D Mobyshop guys are really good actually! My first set got a little scratch, then they immediately gave me another set to try! :D So cool..they said they will return the scratched set, no problem for them! Hehehe

Wow this phone is a beauty, I was in love when I got my Nexus one last time.. I have a new love now! Hahahaha

MGeaR356

Got it got it got it! Finally! :D Mobyshop guys are really good actually! My first set got a little scratch, then they immediately gave me another set to try! :D So cool..they said they will return the scratched set, no problem for them! Hehehe

Wow this phone is a beauty, I was in love when I got my Nexus one last time.. I have a new love now! Hahahaha
drools..............

Gixxerfied

but i am a sucker for good screens.. 720p.. sounds like a dream to me.. aww.. lol

HTC should have gd support over at xda mah how come ics nt stable?

Did Winston ask you how u manage to find their shop?? :D

Ya, their service is good..Friendly also..

Same build as stated above :D Now gonna root and install CWM =p

I use this G.Nexus Toolkit 3.1 from xda, got one option whereby it will root, cwm etc etc..Very easy to use..

Skyy

I tried a demo nexus overseas and I was expecting the 720p screen to be a big difference compared to a SGS2 screen and surprisingly the difference wasn't super obvious. It was sharper yes, but not mind bogglingly so. The jump from an iphone 3g to a 4s is more obvious.

kopi22

How come you hate WP7? I don't really fancy WP7 too. Is very boring, dunno why others find it interesting especially with the tiles flipping. I wanna get rid of my Omnia 7 for Nexus when it is available locally.

Gixxerfied

How come you hate WP7? I don't really fancy WP7 too. Is very boring, dunno why others find it interesting especially with the tiles flipping. I wanna get rid of my Omnia 7 for Nexus when it is available locally.

The UI(I like to custom how my ui looks)
The tiles(Imagine if u have lots of shortcut on the main page)
The 2nd page(Same here if u have lots of apps, the scroll down will be the killer)
Lack of gd apps
Sexpensive games

kopi22

The UI(I like to custom how my ui looks)
The tiles(Imagine if u have lots of shortcut on the main page)
The 2nd page(Same here if u have lots of apps, the scroll down will be the killer)
Lack of gd apps
Sexpensive games

Totally agree! All the alternate apps are not even official free apps. So many 3rd party apps ie. Dropbox clients and they are not free to get full functional version.

And not to mention slow loading up of apps, especially the Whatsapp version for WP7. Really can't stand it.

And the notifications, come and go. I keep missing FB updates unless I pin the damn ME tile on the start screen, but then it will used up 1 tile space.

Anyway, any news for official local launch? Can't wait to trade in the Omnia 7 ASAP.

alprakas

HTC should have gd support over at xda mah how come ics nt stable?

Did Winston ask you how u manage to find their shop?? :D

Ya, their service is good..Friendly also..

I use this G.Nexus Toolkit 3.1 from xda, got one option whereby it will root, cwm etc etc..Very easy to use..

Yeah he did, and I told him that we have been discussing his and other shops for quite a while now! :D By the way mine is also the HK set, but the software build is yakjuzs or something, not the original google .. Doesnt really matter, but that is that... Actually I am not planning to root it now.. will wait for CM9.. till then stock seems to be good enough .. Although I would like to update to 4.0.2, right now its 4.0.1! see how! :D

alprakas

I tried a demo nexus overseas and I was expecting the 720p screen to be a big difference compared to a SGS2 screen and surprisingly the difference wasn't super obvious. It was sharper yes, but not mind bogglingly so. The jump from an iphone 3g to a 4s is more obvious.

Obviously Leh.. iphone 3gs was 480-by-320-pixel resolution at 163 ppi, while 4s is ~330 ppi, the jump is quite significant! SGS 2 is ~220 ppi, GNexus around ~315 ppi, relatively less of a jump (167 vs. 100).. Plus the Samsung AMOLED Plus screens are gorgeous anways whatever resolution! Hahaha
That said, I changed the font size on my GNexus to small, and it looks even better to me! of course, not everyone wants such small fonts! But I love it! And most importantly I like the clean front on my GNexus.. no jang pang! Hahaha

Skyy

wah. free promotion for mobyshop here.. should give extra discounts to hwz members man.. :s13:

Skyy

Obviously Leh.. iphone 3gs was 480-by-320-pixel resolution at 163 ppi, while 4s is ~330 ppi, the jump is quite significant! SGS 2 is ~220 ppi, GNexus around ~315 ppi, relatively less of a jump (167 vs. 100).. Plus the Samsung AMOLED Plus screens are gorgeous anways whatever resolution! Hahaha
That said, I changed the font size on my GNexus to small, and it looks even better to me! of course, not everyone wants such small fonts! But I love it! And most importantly I like the clean front on my GNexus.. no jang pang! Hahaha

True, it's only a 100ppi jump but still i was a bit disappointed that I actually had to look very carefully to see the upgrade in sharpness even with the extra 100ppi. But hey, small upgrade better than nothing.

I think Amoled screens have more variations and lcds. My friend's SGS2 has a bluish tint to it and I read that it's something to do with the blue leds dying earlier or something like that.. so if I get my Nexus, I'm gona test it with those pixel/screen testers to make sure everything's fine.. no funny textures/lines when the brightness is on low.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.