Google Nexus 10

miyamiya

It give option to view in avi to mov format.
I was mistaken....tried on Note2 also not working.
Works on iPad 3 though

Embedded means flash or html5 video leh. Supposed to watch it inside the browser right? Or you download the clip before watching?

porcu

Install flash and use the Firefox beta ....that might work.

By the way, what browser are u guys using?
I tend to find chrome laggy and sometimes not responsive to my touch.
Currently using Dolphin with the jetpack add on. Silky smooth....but cannot run flash and doesn't seem to support html5 properly.

miyamiya

I'm using the aosp browser in a custom ROM. Fast and smooth, don't know why Google decided to go for chrome when the stock aosp browser is so much better..

beerope

Does anyone have a set that doesn't have lousy QC quality??? Terribly disappointed since this is a Samsung product.
Can someone confirm if your set does not suffer from light bleeding issues and terrible horrible hissing sound if charging and listening to headphones?

Anyone who wants to purchase it I highly advice you stay away from it at the moment...

beerope

I'm using the aosp browser in a custom ROM. Fast and smooth, don't know why Google decided to go for chrome when the stock aosp browser is so much better..

I'm on paranoid android ROM....rocking the tablet UI...it is so much better than the crappy phablet UI. And the browser user agent can be permanantly set instead of having to manually set user agent every time in chrome. Having the ability to watch flash videos in the YouTube desktop site and accessing the desktop FaceBook site without any lags is so awesome! Another reason to root and flash a custom ROM and another reason not to buy an iPad!

kennyboy

I install Chrome just for it's bookmarks syncing function. :D But always open in stock browser. :D

miyamiya

I'm on paranoid android ROM....rocking the tablet UI...it is so much better than the crappy phablet UI. And the browser user agent can be permanantly set instead of having to manually set user agent every time in chrome. Having the ability to watch flash videos in the YouTube desktop site and accessing the desktop FaceBook site without any lags is so awesome! Another reason to root and flash a custom ROM and another reason not to buy an iPad!

Actually I did find one advantage using the phablet UI. Because the softkeys are now in the center, I have no worries accidentally touching them with the base of my left thumb while playing games that have on-screen joystick.

beerope

miyamiya

beerope

Back light bleeding like siao on almost all units and can't play a decent game without any lag due to bad kernel causing memory and CPU throttling after 5 mins......how to love it?

jedi5diah

Back light bleeding like siao on almost all units and can't play a decent game without any lag due to bad kernel causing memory and CPU throttling after 5 mins......how to love it?

i don't game but other usage how?

miyamiya

I'm definitely loving mine. Sure there's some back light bleeding but only some portions at the edges and I don't even see them unless I stare intently. Compared to my aged Xoom, the high resolution screen is definitely "bleeding edge" technology.

As for the throttling, it does seem to be an issue according to some users. I've yet to experience any but then again I've yet to really play some heavy games on it. I'm on a custom rom with a custom kernel so maybe that helps. My experience so far is smooth and fast... well as fast as Android 4.2 can go now and definitely faster than my Xoom.

The Nexus 10 has a pretty fast storage with really good I/O performance, something Asus tablets seem to lack in.

beerope

I'm definitely loving mine. Sure there's some back light bleeding but only some portions at the edges and I don't even see them unless I stare intently. Compared to my aged Xoom, the high resolution screen is definitely "bleeding edge" technology.

As for the throttling, it does seem to be an issue according to some users. I've yet to experience any but then again I've yet to really play some heavy games on it. I'm on a custom rom with a custom kernel so maybe that helps. My experience so far is smooth and fast... well as fast as Android 4.2 can go now and definitely faster than my Xoom.

The Nexus 10 has a pretty fast storage with really good I/O performance, something Asus tablets seem to lack in.

I'm on a custom kernel too...paranoid with the Linaro kernel. Still lags like hell due to throttling even after setting governor to PegesusQ and scheduler to noop. So unless a kernel dev can come up with a good kernel that doesn't tap on the brink of heat that throttles down the CPU massively. It will lag up after a few mins. The screen is not fantastic too...compared to iPad the colors looks very washed out and black are not deep and even worse, they are uneven at the sides

miyamiya

I don't know about Paranoid because I always find it too bloated for my liking.

I'm using AOSP+ which is stock rom with the right amount of added features like quick settings. Pretty buttery smooth on my end.

I don't see a need to use Paranoid just because I want to change to tablet UI. I'm ok with the navbar buttons in the center.

Some more paranoid was created in the beginning for Galaxy Nexus phone users to mimick tablet UI for apps so what's the point in that for a tablet? Unless it's for making phone apps to look better on the N10 by changing DPI?

In that case I wouldn't mind trying out Paranoid to see if I can scale all my apps properly on the N10. Otherwise I'd rather bug developers to properly support the N10 resolution.

beerope

I don't know about Paranoid because I always find it too bloated for my liking.

I'm using AOSP+ which is stock rom with the right amount of added features like quick settings. Pretty buttery smooth on my end.

I don't see a need to use Paranoid just because I want to change to tablet UI. I'm ok with the navbar buttons in the center.

Some more paranoid was created in the beginning for Galaxy Nexus phone users to mimick tablet UI for apps so what's the point in that for a tablet? Unless it's for making phone apps to look better on the N10 by changing DPI?

In that case I wouldn't mind trying out Paranoid to see if I can scale all my apps properly on the N10. Otherwise I'd rather bug developers to properly support the N10 resolution.

Most apps would just overwrite the custom DPI values...at least on my N10. Mines buttery smooth too but once you start a game the lag kicks in after a while. Its not that there's not enough support cause they do run smoothly for a while, its that the kernel in the nexus 10 sucks and the treshhold for the throttling to slow the CPU down is too low. So no matter which ROM you will also experience the lag after a while. In HD game like NFSMW and GTA VICE, that is

porcu

T2Ry1_XgdXXXXXXXXX_!!690297964.jpg

miyamiya

Anyone find the Chrome browser laggy and non responsive at times,for eg when u tap on a link?

Using the Dolphin browser now.

Also ordered a cover case from eBay. :D
Shipped today from HK and waiting for it to arrive.

Slim Clasp Button Leather Stand Case Cover for Google Android Nexus 10" Tablet | eBay

Chrome has always been slow on all devices. Use a AOSP based browser, that's the smoothest and can also play back flash content.

Anyway the case just came into my mail today.

Initial impressions of the case is.... meh.

It looks ok on the front and the smart cover magnetic feature works.

Unfortunately it looks like they super glued the coloured soft pvc onto the hard plastic case that holds the N10. Definitely looks MIC on closer inspection.

It isn't terrible but definitely doesn't feel high quality so I suppose I can use this for the time being until the poetic slimline is available on amazon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.