Google Pixel 10 series

limmk

I am not sure I can ever recommend pixel to anyone. Not sure what android police is talking about. It's like pixel is still stuck in the past.
Ya fair point, but Pixel not for everyone lah. some like it more for the clean Android and fast updates, not so much the specs race

OnLyOnE

Ya fair point, but Pixel not for everyone lah. some like it more for the clean Android and fast updates, not so much the specs race
Ya lo, it is really not for everyone thats true. Well, like many here who are gadget-oriented, lol, the excitement I had with pixel lasted quite short before realizing that "****, I am losing out so much else at the same time" lol.

limmk

Ya lo, it is really not for everyone thats true. Well, like many here who are gadget-oriented, lol, the excitement I had with pixel lasted quite short before realizing that "****, I am losing out so much else at the same time" lol.
Ya lor same feels 😅 at first Pixel damn shiok

1733107866176.gif

but honeymoon phase over then realise like sacrificing quite a bit elsewhere also. good in some areas, but trade-offs quite jialat also

Loser

I am not sure I can ever recommend pixel to anyone. Not sure what android police is talking about. It's like pixel is still stuck in the past.
Yeah, I can only recommend pixel to those who need maximum mobile security on Android os. Other than that and especially for those outside of the US, no stand out features other OEMs don't have or do even better.

OnLyOnE

Yeah, I can only recommend pixel to those who need maximum mobile security on Android os. Other than that and especially for those outside of the US, no stand out features other OEMs don't have or do even better.
Not going to lie, I will miss Pixel for a bit after I switch phone soon, but just a bit. lol. I may revisit pixel in future depending on my experience with most likely Vivo. If not, it's see "you (pixel)" again in distance future. lol

limmk

Not going to lie, I will miss Pixel for a bit after I switch phone soon, but just a bit. lol. I may revisit pixel in future depending on my experience with most likely Vivo. If not, it's see "you (pixel)" again in distance future. lol
Moi cannot help it… meme incoming 😅

D9vxTOO.jpeg

limmk

TL;DR
  • A leak claims that Pixel 10 phones (except the 10a) are set to receive a bootloader update that’ll prevent downgrading to older Android versions.
  • The change relies on Android’s Anti-rollback (ARB) protection.
  • Once the update is introduced, recovering from issues in some cases might require sideloading a full OTA image to avoid bricking.

Google may be preparing to tighten software downgrade protections on the Pixel 10 series.

According to the Mystic Leaks Telegram channel, all Pixel 10 models except for the Pixel 10a could receive a bootloader update in a future Android release that increments the anti-rollback version.

This will effectively prevent users from reverting to an older Android build after updating. Essentially, once a bootloader containing approved new software is installed, it ties the version of that bootloader to hardware, preventing old software from being loaded.

When the Pixel 10 phones receive this update, recovering from issues in some cases might require sideloading a full OTA image to avoid bricking.

The change revolves around Android’s Anti-rollback protection (ARB), which is part of the Verified Boot framework. Google introduced ARB in Android 13 to prevent devices from being downgraded to older, potentially vulnerable software.

Google has been using ARB for years. The first time it was implemented was on the Pixel 6 series, when Google prevented users from downgrading to Android 12. Most recently, Google rolled out a security patch for Pixel devices in May 2025 that included a bootloader with an updated anti-rollback threshold.

OnePlus also recently introduced anti-rollback protection on devices like the OnePlus 13 and OnePlus 15. Samsung has also long implemented its own security measures through Samsung Knox.

chari-men

TL;DR
  • A leak claims that Pixel 10 phones (except the 10a) are set to receive a bootloader update that’ll prevent downgrading to older Android versions.
  • The change relies on Android’s Anti-rollback (ARB) protection.
  • Once the update is introduced, recovering from issues in some cases might require sideloading a full OTA image to avoid bricking.

Google may be preparing to tighten software downgrade protections on the Pixel 10 series.

According to the Mystic Leaks Telegram channel, all Pixel 10 models except for the Pixel 10a could receive a bootloader update in a future Android release that increments the anti-rollback version.

This will effectively prevent users from reverting to an older Android build after updating. Essentially, once a bootloader containing approved new software is installed, it ties the version of that bootloader to hardware, preventing old software from being loaded.

When the Pixel 10 phones receive this update, recovering from issues in some cases might require sideloading a full OTA image to avoid bricking.

The change revolves around Android’s Anti-rollback protection (ARB), which is part of the Verified Boot framework. Google introduced ARB in Android 13 to prevent devices from being downgraded to older, potentially vulnerable software.

Google has been using ARB for years. The first time it was implemented was on the Pixel 6 series, when Google prevented users from downgrading to Android 12. Most recently, Google rolled out a security patch for Pixel devices in May 2025 that included a bootloader with an updated anti-rollback threshold.

OnePlus also recently introduced anti-rollback protection on devices like the OnePlus 13 and OnePlus 15. Samsung has also long implemented its own security measures through Samsung Knox.

Got pros and cons..

limmk

We already knew that the Pixelsnap Charger gets firmware updates, but Google has also created a dedicated site to manually install new releases.

Google says Pixelsnap Chargers will automatically and silently update as they charge your Pixel phones. Go to Settings > Connected devices and select a charger to check the firmware. (Version 1.51.0 is the latest release.)

Pixelsnap-Charger-update-1.jpg
Pixelsnap-Charger-update-2.jpg

If you’re not using a Pixel device but have purchased the $39.99 Pixelsnap Charger, Google offers “Manual updates.” This approach involves plugging the USB-C end of the puck into an Android 16+ phone and visiting pixel.google.com/pixelsnap in mobile Chrome. (This won’t work on the desktop browser.)

After selecting the Pixelsnap Charger, you can check firmware versions and install by following the onscreen instructions.

These updates “ensure your Pixelsnap Charger performs at its best and maintains the latest Qi compatibility.”

Google updated the Pixelsnap support article with these details in the past three months.

Pixelsnap-Charger-update-3.jpg
Pixelsnap-Charger-update-4.jpg
Pixelsnap-Charger-update-5.jpg

limmk

Google today announced that AI Pro subscriptions now come with 5 TB of storage.

Previously, subscribers of the $19.99 per month plan got 2 TB, just like the $9.99 tier. This is now being increased by 3 TB for all users globally at no additional cost. It can be used for Gmail, Google Drive storage, and Google Photos backup.

This storage increase is reflected in product marketing, but we’re not seeing the new totals just yet this afternoon when signed in to one.google.com or the mobile app.

Google-One-April-2026.jpg

The next storage upgrade is 10 TB at $49.99 per month, while it’s $99.99 for 20 TB and $149.99 for 30 TB. The $249.99 Google AI Ultra offers 30 TB. In comparison, the $7.99 AI Plus plan comes with just 200 GB of storage.

This April Fools’ Day upgrade has slight shades of Google announcing Gmail in 2004 with an unheard-of 1 GB of storage at the time.

Today’s move increases the value proposition of Google AI Pro.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.