Google Pixel 9 series

Which Pixel 9 series devices are you most interested in?

• Pixel 9

• Pixel 9 Pro

• Pixel 9 Pro XL

• Pixel 9 Pro Fold

• Other [comment]

Results are only viewable after voting.

Loser

Yeah and i find the charging speed quite okie, just turn off adaptive charging and the phone can charge faster than S24U.
I mean if you compare to S24U la haha. I compare to my P8P also think it charges very fast liao.

Wouldn't know better if I didn't come from OnePlus hahaha.

limmk

TL;DR
  • Google has quietly revealed that your phone will occasionally ignore the charging limit feature.
  • The charging limit function caps charging at 80% capacity to slow battery degradation.
  • However, Google says your Pixel will sometimes charge to 100% capacity to “recalibrate estimated capacity.”

Google recently introduced a charging limits feature to the Pixel series, following in the footsteps of other Android OEMs and Apple. This feature only allows your battery to be charged to 80% capacity in the name of long-term battery health.

However, it turns out your Pixel will occasionally ignore your 80% limit and charge to 100%. Android Authority contributor AssembleDebug updated Google’s Settings Services app (version 1.1.0.697513890) and subsequently spotted updated text in the Charging optimization menu to reflect this change.

Pixel charging limit updated text AssembleDebug

The good news is that Google isn’t doing this to annoy you. Instead, the updated text notes that this is done to “recalibrate” estimated capacity. In other words, your phone needs a full charge so you can get accurate data regarding estimated battery life and to prevent any issues/bugs. The last thing you want is for your phone to die because the predicted battery life was way off.

This isn’t the first time we’ve seen phones with charging limit functionality automatically charging to 100% capacity. Apple’s iPhones also occasionally hit a full charge with charging limits enabled. The company explained that this is done to “maintain accurate battery state-of-charge estimates.”

In any event, we’re glad to see the charging limit feature coming to Pixel users as it’s a great way to slow battery degradation. Now, about Google bringing bypass charging to its phones.

eddy0505

Have been lurking around this thread, got poisoned and ordered myself the pro XL from Moby. It has been many years and my last Google phone was Nexus 5 :ROFLMAO:, btw how do I check the warranty?
Your poison effect a bit lag ah, many have moved on to other better phones lol.

leon0079

Have been lurking around this thread, got poisoned and ordered myself the pro XL from Moby. It has been many years and my last Google phone was Nexus 5 :ROFLMAO:, btw how do I check the warranty?
you can scan the QR code on the box if it is sealed and it will indicate if warranty has been activated or not.

You can verify the warranty coverage via your google account => https://support.google.com/store/answer/6160400?hl=en

eddy0505

You may try to chat with google support for that or perhaps call CDTI if they will entertain confirming for you.

If it's a local set then warranty is auto registered by virtue of it's IMEI number.
Actually if bought from google direct can check in order status also

Milo Van

Thanks for sharing. I’m currently considering these two brands for my P9P. Was leaning towards Spigen but now you have swayed me haha. The slightly more rounded edges should be better for gestures.

But alamak, both are now out of stock on Shopee/Lazada for the smaller P9P.

Anyone with a extra/spare piece to let go pls let me know.
BTW just want to put it on here for those who are considering between Spigen and ringke tempered glass, ringke is superior.

The clarity, coverage and feel are better and the edge is slightly rounded, reminds me very much of whitestone dome. But for those with cases that has higher coverage should go for Spigen for compatibility.

Fingerprint sensor sensitivity are similar and works well.

skyline72

TL;DR
  • Google has quietly revealed that your phone will occasionally ignore the charging limit feature.
  • The charging limit function caps charging at 80% capacity to slow battery degradation.
  • However, Google says your Pixel will sometimes charge to 100% capacity to “recalibrate estimated capacity.”

Google recently introduced a charging limits feature to the Pixel series, following in the footsteps of other Android OEMs and Apple. This feature only allows your battery to be charged to 80% capacity in the name of long-term battery health.

However, it turns out your Pixel will occasionally ignore your 80% limit and charge to 100%. Android Authority contributor AssembleDebug updated Google’s Settings Services app (version 1.1.0.697513890) and subsequently spotted updated text in the Charging optimization menu to reflect this change.

Pixel charging limit updated text AssembleDebug

The good news is that Google isn’t doing this to annoy you. Instead, the updated text notes that this is done to “recalibrate” estimated capacity. In other words, your phone needs a full charge so you can get accurate data regarding estimated battery life and to prevent any issues/bugs. The last thing you want is for your phone to die because the predicted battery life was way off.

This isn’t the first time we’ve seen phones with charging limit functionality automatically charging to 100% capacity. Apple’s iPhones also occasionally hit a full charge with charging limits enabled. The company explained that this is done to “maintain accurate battery state-of-charge estimates.”

In any event, we’re glad to see the charging limit feature coming to Pixel users as it’s a great way to slow battery degradation. Now, about Google bringing bypass charging to its phones.

I still don't have this leh. :(

Loser

Thanks for sharing. I’m currently considering these two brands for my P9P. Was leaning towards Spigen but now you have swayed me haha. The slightly more rounded edges should be better for gestures.

But alamak, both are now out of stock on Shopee/Lazada for the smaller P9P.

Anyone with a extra/spare piece to let go pls let me know.
Alamak why sold out?! They have stock issue ah?

I need to buy spare one how? :s14:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.