Gpgt:any plumbing experts here can teach me how to turn on this water main?

tiredman

I mean it can turn how many rounds for this? I know the process is anti clock wise do it already but not sure the real Way and wheather if turn too little will cause the water pressure low or not

If too many rounds also dunno can or not

(I would appreciate all in puts here thanks all )

20230325-084810.jpg

JustAnotherSG

My water mains also same like that. Anticlockwise to open, clockwise to close.

Can turn many rounds and there will come a time when it will stop. Anticlockwise stop, water pressure is max. Clockwise stop, water supply should be totally cut off.

You mean yours don't stop ? can go on and on and on forever ? :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

tanahgu

need to turn many many rounds
dun really have fine control of the water flow

jtec14

During renovation, the old uncle contractor told me just turn(open) until you cannot turn anymore, then turn back abit, like half a round. Can’t recall why turn back already.

ruhuaa

1. Just get 1 pax mr A at the tap and 1 pax mr B at the water main
2. B close the water main. A to confirm water supply is off.
3. B slowly turn on the water main. A to determine if the water pressure is ok.

above best result if use F clamp. Spanner don’t have a good grip.
Dummy for turning on water supply as above

tiredman

My water mains also same like that. Anticlockwise to open, clockwise to close.

Can turn many rounds and there will come a time when it will stop. Anticlockwise stop, water pressure is max. Clockwise stop, water supply should be totally cut off.

You mean yours don't stop ? can go on and on and on forever ? :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
I dunno I scare turn too many rounds may "break "

My question is this one can and need to turn into max level?

If turn on little bit can or not?or half?

As I don't have much experience on this scare one shot turn too big then bust

Canis Lupus

During renovation, the old uncle contractor told me just turn(open) until you cannot turn anymore, then turn back abit, like half a round. Can’t recall why turn back already.
You open all the way and leave it there the valve seat will sieze up and you will have a harder time closing when that happens. :(

Ronin881

Tampering with public water pipes is an offence.
Better to pay the water bill and they will turn on the water.
If you not happy with the water pressure, you can kpkb.

If you damage the tap or pipes, you may end up paying more.

Canis Lupus

If you turn it anticlockwise until you feel there is a resistance means the valve is probably full open riao. From there turn back clockwise about half turn to prevent valve from seizing. :(

JustAnotherSG

No, it won't easily damage lah. But if you open all the way and still keep forcing it, next time you want to close it you will have a hell of a time. You can open all the way, then turn it clockwise a little bit and leave it that way.

Canis Lupus

Valve no handle abit dangerous, best use self locking pliers like this for the job.. :(
64-310.JPG

a little lubrication for the valve wouldn't hurt either..:(
20140624144257ZFNEVKCGAHNS5_700.jpg

tiredman

always open the mains fully. or you will not have enough pressure inside when you turn on multiple points.

Cos i think I never open fully after I changed my water tab yesterday(my 1st time doing it) after that when I turn on water I hear vibrate sound from pipe ..

That's y I think I never open fully :(

tiredman

Valve no handle abit dangerous, best use self locking pliers like this for the job.. :(
64-310.JPG

a little lubrication for the valve wouldn't hurt either..:(
20140624144257ZFNEVKCGAHNS5_700.jpg
I bought something similar it works

I used like pincer cannot make it until I try other ones

tiredman

What I observed is that I had to constantly change bidet and taps when the water pressure was higher.

Lowering it improved the life of taps and bidets.
If Ur water pressure low

U open tap will not have the "vibrate "sound meh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.