Gpgt:any plumbing experts here can teach me how to turn on this water main?

tiredman

Originally I found it very inconvenient to have someone removed the key from my tap. If you think deeper, actually it's also good that others cannot adjust my tap easily.
They can use the wrench to do if they got heart to do it

I buy 12 plus for that

Now 1st time diy change my own tap actually not that difficult heng if not need to pay so much 40 50 if tell them provide tap can be 80.-90

Of course I still respect them we paid for their experience their professionalism but a low ses chao peasants like me.. I think it's time to slowly learn those things :( if not really heart pain :(

tiredman

IMHO.
Actually, what are you trying to do ? Lower or increase the water flow ?

If increase, just turn in that direction until what you require. If you turn max already and flow still the same, just turn back a bit.
Dunno cos i hear the vibrate sound after I change my own tap

But now settle le after google water hammering

Time to think no wonder saw the experts got take pail and run water after install

Those process got meanings de

Kiwi8

I mean it can turn how many rounds for this? I know the process is anti clock wise do it already but not sure the real Way and wheather if turn too little will cause the water pressure low or not

If too many rounds also dunno can or not

(I would appreciate all in puts here thanks all )

20230325-084810.jpg
Just turn until u get a big resistance then must stop. Otherwise u will spoil the screw thread.

Canis Lupus

Dunno cos i hear the vibrate sound after I change my own tap

But now settle le after google water hammering

Time to think no wonder saw the experts got take pail and run water after install

Those process got meanings de
yes bleeding out the air is an important step in a liquid system.. :(

KnyghtRyder

I mean it can turn how many rounds for this? I know the process is anti clock wise do it already but not sure the real Way and wheather if turn too little will cause the water pressure low or not

If too many rounds also dunno can or not

(I would appreciate all in puts here thanks all )

20230325-084810.jpg
Just turn until enough lor..

KnyghtRyder

During renovation, the old uncle contractor told me just turn(open) until you cannot turn anymore, then turn back abit, like half a round. Can’t recall why turn back already.
So that next time the valve not stuck in fully open

tiredman

yes bleeding out the air is an important step in a liquid system.. :(
I dunno ma actually I argah argah can guess Liao but scared to do it

And u also tell me is water hammer to reinforce my guess

So just whack follow u tube google advice and think back those plumbers actually after install got let water run.. No wonder la

tiredman

Anyway thanks for every single one who contributed ur inputs in my thread

Just want to say super thankful to u all

sporeknight76

Another reason for piping to purge out air, also to purge out the dirt n rust after the water supply is shut off n on bk again.

I encounter many times, apart from airlock in the water system, I believe the dirt n rust tat appear in the pails (flushing air out) is trapped at the elbow or joints when water is pressurised. But once water pressure drop in the piping, not only air goes in but dust/rust trapped in the joints/elbows will dislodged. So be vigilant to put a filter (cloth or mechanical types) over the "drinking taps".

coyote

Yes. It's good to learn some diy plumbing both as hobby as well as to save some money. Took me a long while to figure out some of the tricks. Eg. If you want to loosen up the nut of the tap on your kitchen sink, you'll need a small tube with hexagonal end with certain size, you can buy this at your nearby hardware stores for $5-$7. Without it, you'll going to have lots of troubles plus many bruising on your hand... Even more surprising, the plumber I engaged did not have this... Tough life he had. His boss really treated him badly. And you already knew the nationality if the plumber and his boss.

They can use the wrench to do if they got heart to do it

I buy 12 plus for that

Now 1st time diy change my own tap actually not that difficult heng if not need to pay so much 40 50 if tell them provide tap can be 80.-90

Of course I still respect them we paid for their experience their professionalism but a low ses chao peasants like me.. I think it's time to slowly learn those things :( if not really heart pain :(

Atrina_Boy

last time the top of the old type of tap is a square shape which fit the square key but not the recent type which is of round type
think PUB is trying to stop residents from DIY themselves
oh icic.
thanks !

coyote

Yes. It's good to learn some diy plumbing both as hobby as well as to save some money. Took me a to figure out some of the tricks. Eg. If you want to loosen up the nut of the tap on your kitchen sink, you'll need a small tube with hexagonal end with certain size, you can buy this at your nearby hardware stores for $5-$7. Without it, you'll going to have lots of troubles plus many bruising on your hand...

It's called a faucet wrench. And you have find an exact size for the metal nut that your tap uses. Mine is 24, whatever that means.

coyote

Yes, I saw this online but after some measurements, I concluded this is not the same size as the one used by our hdb. Thus I resorted to using my wrench set.

buy one of this at hardware shop

aBEFS8Hx4DvP11yBZfkKIYnLbs2a2pHkaNOyi5jGA5DM5Kr6dcqffnHd6OP7G4RwDXe2LdoGvZkzuCVuFOcoUPjP8AILWceZ7KMQA0pI9DxntTKD1aOvUoAhPRRGUEugmXVvxJv8JsejIWECMrHCAt57W_zUD7by8SqEzW0Gdb_o1l5Zp-HWYpKtfGSVzJD_eFb3F3QO6a4k6dIbeOAuBZNBRIcfEMupiT1gbW3osHBH5LWpGMMBgvrTi0lP-fGe-cLaPOY62SWHWtyWbg6IEB_6BnrDAXfy1Jcxj_C_zNAi0z0vL9hdFEF69RjZQx5Wj1EomqGNYrQdTjY5j34XhluJohyZqP_pt3xnXczU3j9vsgYoFjzM6Wmr6-yrl6lrcUW1M_4nWIEKOecXQqfRsRo8EsStkXxa025MqX4E45yhN_QBAIEK9DDVY4cAS1zhN-NG9crKf_juvQsXjhCBGeGKxpFI_10h2B7xcldeRJp2qs4S_iQsQgENUVfgKERz8ZQ-SwTG6LTCkIs_5eLR8Eh_BaCOH9ULS2Ed5JEQgK5KKnBb87sxgZozCUZpSntrz_Mlem_83N46isxipBW0z5YdLBXoPjVzabHLpHLC4429LQfZews0fUn7iD9fDWpsn6k9m5wSd6zsC9VOEdWwWthSBrZQbYwsvZfnYU0efnFNWKkOTbhJTLmE5mhUqPrV-k5YpHmoKZZ2cdos5DlI_9FnbPnbrmLhkBfXGBd3tY8pdGUupKJMUKB80KA4Lx8bEnXlfXThtAGxZi-W63R4n-seGiihh1_bwFK1S3cuUkORmEPqJf55dQpfDzrPDQ77MorwFprdayg_WM27SH2wMcLXV_LbPJ8lZ2h5eFV65uhzwtfGr7DhPdr7R2vLxXI9yCNDTfLp_24AHUxzpfCkEdJD6enh4C08b08GpNUu24nyAS20ow=w347-h617-s-no

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.