[GPGT] Baking my first loaf of bread

Apparatus

Can la, just cut a small hole at bottom and dig abit. But won't be pretty anymore.

Let your bread rest on rack. The colour will deepen and inner moisture dissipate.

Bread making is a PITA. 😄

Kneading, humidity, fermentation, etc...

But if stick to it like a stubborn mule, can be very satisfying.

I meant stuck in the pan not stuck in the bread

BlackWing1977

Counting down to completion liao :ROFLMAO:

Completed liao. The crust sunk down and not browning. :oops:

Mixing also not even o_O

I read not browning could be due to not enough fat. I'm using organic non-fat dry milk powder and Buttercup spread. Buttercup spread is said good for making bread like SCS butter and both having about the same total fat leh
Buttercup is not butter hor... it is margarine. :sick:

wongminmin

My bread paddle now stuck inside cannot remove :cry:
u just soak inside warm water... it will dissolve

sink....
-underbaked
-ingredients ratio e.g too much water, too much yeast etc.

first time trying, need to follow the recipe.... then adjust from there.

if stuck inside the bread, just remove the paddle before baking.

Meowtiko

You are right. Now we only use bread maker when we are lazy to knead. Now baking is done in oven.

But usu we hand knead, then bake in oven. Like this Multi-grain & Cheese Toast Bread and Sourdough Walnut Cranberry Bread (no knead)

Vsh5H1o.jpeg

hou mai looks jin ho jiaks

:12:

wongminmin

btw diff brand bread flour got diff protein % via water absorption.... doesn't mean bread flour only 1 kind.

e.g
prima bread flour.... uses 100ml water
bake king bread flour... uses 130ml water.

Apparatus

Ok bread cooled down and kept inside a Ziploc bag and going to bed now. Will continue tomorrow

Apparatus

btw diff brand bread flour got diff protein % via water absorption.... doesn't mean bread flour only 1 kind.

e.g

I'm using Prima bread flour but for quick bake the instruction is to use 210ml of water

I will take a 3-prong approach tomorrow for the new bread

1) Reduce water to 100ml due to the use of Prima bread flour
2) Use cold water with temp of 5 deg C following the manual
3) Reduce yeast slightly according to internet advice

desiresale

e.g
Previously I've done numerous trials of diff flour wif my own sourdough starter. Hence I roughly knw wat type of flour to use wif wat level of hydration and wif other considerations.

A lot, including myself dun hv tat good experience wif prima bread flour for bread baking, esp using sourdough starter

Doesnt mean protein 12% is good enough. The flours have diff properties e.g. water absorption capability and gluten development.

E.g. for Prima bread flour, i find tat it cannot handle too high a hydration level and it tend to develop gluten slower. Hence if use prima typically i will use lesser water and autolyse longer.

wongminmin

I'm using Prima bread flour but for quick bake the instruction is to use 210ml of water

I will take a 3-prong approach tomorrow for the new bread

1) Reduce water to 100ml due to the use of Prima bread flour
2) Use cold water with temp of 5 deg C following the manual
3) Reduce yeast slightly according to internet advice
out of curious, i went to check Zojirushi recipes.... it didn't call for 5 deg C water. :unsure:

cold water density diff, will affect water absorption.
then temperature will affect yeast fermentation also. just use room temperature water. Some bread maker will heat up to cater the fermentation process.

from the picture, it look like super moist (wet) inside. i dun think is yeast.
from my exp, is flour:water ratio or underbaked.
P-20250310-000400.jpg

noobiee

looks not bad for first try

looking forward to your baking journey

Lchlch

Counting down to completion liao :ROFLMAO:

Completed liao. The crust sunk down and not browning. :oops:

Mixing also not even o_O

I read not browning could be due to not enough fat. I'm using organic non-fat dry milk powder and Buttercup spread. Buttercup spread is said good for making bread like SCS butter and both having about the same total fat leh

A tip for TS and others who wanna bake their own bread.

If you wan more fluffy and soft texture, i highly recommend to use japanese bread flour.
Wanted to buy n home make bread.
But the long process is too much for me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.