[GPGT] Hokkaido in Winter

RyanJ

• Morning: Visit Sapporo TV Tower for panoramic views.
  • Afternoon: Explore Moerenuma Park.
  • Late Afternoon to Evening: Visit Mt. Moiwa for night views.
  • Evening: Enjoy ramen at Ramen Alley.
Day 3 - Otaru Day Trip:
  • Morning: Take a train to Otaru. Walk along Otaru Canal and visit the Otaru Music Box Museum.
  • Afternoon: Visit LeTao and Royce Chocolate.
  • Evening: Return to Sapporo; explore Tanukikoji Shopping Street for dinner.

Moiwa view is lovely, since sunset in feb is slightly after 430pm, be sure to be there by 4 or 415 when there is still some rich evening hues.

54310455324_1e888cb2df_b.jpg

Otaru has a busy morning market Sankaku Market 小樽三角市場 which is very near Otaru JR station. Nice to stroll but gets very packed later, has sitting areas for breakfast. Alot of the shops along canal closes early. Actually if you are there early, Otaru music box museum and the canal can be easily finished in half a day.

tomsss

Am in Sapporo now, they're having record snowfall yesterday and it's not letting up.
Make sure you have waterproof insulated outerwear, insulated footwear/socks, gloves, beanie and non-slip snow footwear. Wear facemask especially on planes, trains and buses because of the flu pandemic and also the wind.
Train from Sapporo to Noboribetsu is about one hour plus and that walk to the footbath is about 2-3 hours depending on the snow.
This is my third time in Hokkaido and also the toughest because of the amount of snow and cold so be prepared especially tours or certain activities may be cancelled

i just came back from Sapporo after being there for a week. Ya there were a few days where it snowed like crazy, and then some days just meh. The wind is really the killer. This morning out of nowhere boom, snow was coming down hard.
I really suggest to get those add on shoe spikes cos the roads are really really slippery, especially crossing roads cos of the ice build up.
Was in Otaru on Wednesday and wow, really look like a real winter town but turned up a bit high. Occasionally got the gusts of wind and snow was coming sideways. Not fun when walking head on.
Heng my day trip to Asahiyama Zoo was on Monday last week, weather was still clear and could see the far away snow mountains in the distance during the bus journey.

rrr2015

Moiwa view is lovely, since sunset in feb is slightly after 430pm, be sure to be there by 4 or 415 when there is still some rich evening hues.

54310455324_1e888cb2df_b.jpg

Otaru has a busy morning market Sankaku Market 小樽三角市場 which is very near Otaru JR station. Nice to stroll but gets very packed later, has sitting areas for breakfast. Alot of the shops along canal closes early. Actually if you are there early, Otaru music box museum and the canal can be easily finished in half a day.
photo from DSLR?

paul02

i just came back from Sapporo after being there for a week. Ya there were a few days where it snowed like crazy, and then some days just meh. The wind is really the killer. This morning out of nowhere boom, snow was coming down hard.
I really suggest to get those add on shoe spikes cos the roads are really really slippery, especially crossing roads cos of the ice build up.
Was in Otaru on Wednesday and wow, really look like a real winter town but turned up a bit high. Occasionally got the gusts of wind and snow was coming sideways. Not fun when walking head on.
Heng my day trip to Asahiyama Zoo was on Monday last week, weather was still clear and could see the far away snow mountains in the distance during the bus journey.
I got shoe spikes but I wonder if you use it indoors as well since it sounds like a hassle to put it on and take it off every time you’re under shelter.

rrr2015

I got shoe spikes but I wonder if you use it indoors as well since it sounds like a hassle to put it on and take it off every time you’re under shelter.
u will damage the flooring if uses indoor. just walk slowly & carefully. avoid those transcluent looking ice if possible. some winter boots have spike pattern on the sole, while not as good as metal spikes it helps.

paul02

Wonder if it’s worth bringing my small umbrella too to combat snowfall.

rrr2015

useless in windy conditions. maybe useful in light wind heavy snow.

light snow waterproofed hood should be able to handle. IMO WATERPROOF parka/jacket with hood really essential.

paul02

useless in windy conditions. maybe useful in light wind heavy snow.

light snow waterproofed hood should be able to handle. IMO WATERPROOF parka/jacket with hood really essential.
Gathered as much but I like umbrella instead of hood as it is easier to turn my head to look at stuff. Hope my Patagonia Nano Puff works well for the wind and my uniqlo wind/water resistant would do the trick.

tomsss

first time yea I had some trouble putting them on cos it was my first time... but then later on once you know the method it is actually quite easy to put on and take off

i bought the ones that are commonly sold at Donki, the round ones. How i put on is the cleats on the floor and you step on it, hook on the front first then get up and pull and stretch the rear onto the rear of your shoes. after a few times you get the hang of it.

tomsss

i brought it along, useless. The winds are unpredictable at times and can suddenly get gusty. you will flip your umbrella.

tomsss

u will damage the flooring if uses indoor. just walk slowly & carefully. avoid those transcluent looking ice if possible. some winter boots have spike pattern on the sole, while not as good as metal spikes it helps.
if you visit the clock tower house, you will immediately see the effects of the spikes on the wooden floor :s13:

i went in there with my spikes, yeah just walk slowly around and slowly see the exhibits and history of the tower.

paul02

i brought it along, useless. The winds are unpredictable at times and can suddenly get gusty. you will flip your umbrella.
OK I’ll pass on bringing an umbrella then. Thanks.
if you visit the clock tower house, you will immediately see the effects of the spikes on the wooden floor :s13:

i went in there with my spikes, yeah just walk slowly around and slowly see the exhibits and history of the tower.
Hmm but they don’t care about it? Or is there signs outside asking people to take off their shoes spikes (if any)?

XcoVar

Get the shoes spikes. Walking is a breeze with them. It's easy to put on once you're used to it. Definitely a life saver as I slipped once without it and luckily landed on my butt. No broken bones....summor it's the first day at Hakodate.

rrr2015

xe6oMW7.jpeg

just follow how local walk. don't walk on exposed portions.

tomsss

Hmm but they don’t care about it? Or is there signs outside asking people to take off their shoes spikes (if any)?

i didn't see any signs saying to take them off, which is usually at the entrance.

The places i saw that ask you to take them off are usually those rides like on an inflatable ( while i was at Tsudome taking the snowmobile ride) or where spikes can cause tearing

tomsss

Thought i'd share a summary of my trip to Hokkaido last week. 4th time to Japan, but first time to Hokkaido. The main objective is to experience snow, the really cold climate and see the well known Snow Festival. Spent 7 days there + 1 day worth of air travelling to and fro. Mainly concentrated at Sapporo and half a day at Otaru (which had a bit too much snow when we got there). Never really had an itineary planned, we didn't wan to travel around that much and most of the time we just go as and when. Not making full use i know, we didn't want to cram so many activities and get tired at the end of the day, everyday.

Booked JAL for my entire trip. First to Haneda (red eye flight), then to New Chitose via JAL domestic. Only had 1 hour 40mins before the transit flight and it was rushed. Domestic terminal was at another building, so had to take the free monorail (ticket given when you approach the domestic counter at the right after you exit) then rush to check-in luggage.

Reached New Chitose, took train to Sapporo. My accomodation was at Hotel Gracery, which is less than 5 mins from the station. Took underground route which had some stairs but no big issue. Rest of the day was spent looking to buy additional warm clothings. I had the light foldable puff jacket which kinda did the job, but we decided to get something more substantial. The ones from GU we got were great and affordable, only 5000yen and really kept us warm for the rest of the trip.

Next day was just roaming around the underground mall that stretches from Sapporo station and all the way to Susukino.

3rd day was the day trip to Asahikawa zoo via the Klook package. Wah liao i tell you, the meeting point chaotic, because there is also the start for other places like Lake Toya, Noboribetsu etc etc. Then the whole thing you effectively spent most of the time in the bus really. Each location you were given such limited time, example at the zoo, first thing you get down you chiong to the penguin walk location, which is at the bottom of the zoo. Why? because you'd want to get the good viewing spots. Just follow the crowd.Once done, you only have like half hour to see the other animals and get back out the same way in, which is upwards. Many of the paths were slippery, saw many ppl slip and slide. Next activity was snowmobile ride. That was fun + the location had great views of the far away snow mountain ridges. After that was to go see this lone christmas tree. That was really meh. Finally last location was Ningle Terrace, again very limited time. You literally only had time to go the toilet at the nearby hotel (which is very packed), and then walk back to the bus, that's it. Then it was back to Sapporo via the long winding downhill route. Can't say i enjoyed this whole day, but at least I know what/how to plan for these places in the future.

Day 4 was to see the Beer Museum. Could've taken the bus, but we walked there cos only 2km away from hotel. Free self tour and 1000yen to taste 3 different kinds of beer. Also got cool and interesting souvenirs.
Later evening we saw there was a ferris wheel somewhere in town, so we went there. Literally no one lmao. That building also anime merch and toy stuff below. Ended day with soup curry. It was really good. Soup Curry Rojiura was what we had.

Day 5, go to Otaru. Dammit, took the train and it was paaaacked. Reached there, it was snowing like hell. This was during the period where the news was reporting record snowfall and we really saw that. Went to the canal and lol can't see shiat :s13: There was also occassional gusts of wind which was reeeeeeally cold. Not much to do there, just had scam expensive seafood at the Syokudo market and took the bus back to Sapporo. Dropped off at Odori park to see the clock house, the TV tower and glimpse of the snow festival exhibits.

Day 6, went to Tsudome. A family fun area for kids to play snow and ride the long ice slides down. Then went to Mount Moiwa Ropeway. We went there at around 4pm, just nice no crowd at all, no waiting. Even had the photo taking spot to ourselves for a good amount of time. Just before 5pm is where the crowd came. Reached the bottom and the queue already started at the drop off entrance. Later at night went to Susukino to see the Ice Scuptures and had jingisukan. Prepare to get smelly and smelling like lamb after that.

Day 7 was our last full day in Sapporo. We decided to go to Chitose airport to roam around abit because when we landed there we saw some interesting things but was a hassle to lug our luggage around. Also wanted to familiarise a bit of the layout so that when we leave Sapporo and check in at the airport, we know where to go (our flight was in the morning). Took the train to airport, then took the limo bus back to town.
Then it was some last minute shopping and then to see the rest of the Snow Festival exhibits at night.

Last day flying back. This part was a bit interesting because, though the whole flight trip i booked under JAL, the return to Tokyo Narita flight it was codeshare with Jetstar 🤦‍♂️. Ok, i thought check in is through JAL cos my itinary says JLxxxx mah, but no i have to check in at the Jetstar counter instead which it had its own flight number. Ok nvm. Long queue, it's ok. Delayed flight because plane came in late. Ok sure. Boarded plane, soon after captain informed there is another delay due to baggage loading issues. extra 30 minutes. Fine. Reach Tokyo about an hour later than schedule, while waiting to claim baggage and go to another terminal check in our connecting flight, a staff came running down and informed that some of our baggage were actually offloaded back in Hokkaido due to overloading (which was the cause of the delay). As you may guessed, ours were affected. So the staff were trying explain to us that the remaining baggage will come in the next flight and they claim they will send the directly to your final destination, be it hotel or home residence 🤷‍♂️.
Wah siao. Good thing our connecting flight was about 5 hours later after the suppose scheduled transit flight, but that whole thing took up about 2+ hours. Ended up they had us fill up some form, said they will send our luggage to us blahblahblah and done. lol we ain't got much choice but to just go check in to our flight back to SG, without our luggage.

Fortunately 7 hours later in SG, we found out at the belt that they did manage to directly transfer our luggage directly to our flight in time. Phew.

Overall, i enjoyed the trip. Walking in actual snow, stepping on slippery ice, getting blasted with freezing cold winds was such an experience. I know for the locals there they hate it lol, but for us hot climate people, it is such a different thing. Learned a lot about handling cold and how much body reacts... also what clothings work and don't work. For sure there will be a future trip again soon. 👍

caesium5

Booked JAL for my entire trip. First to Haneda (red eye flight), then to New Chitose via JAL domestic. Only had 1 hour 40mins before the transit flight and it was rushed. Domestic terminal was at another building, so had to take the free monorail (ticket given when you approach the domestic counter at the right after you exit) then rush to check-in luggage.

Hi tomsss, flying off to Sapporo tonight, like to confirm my understanding that you meant
1. AFTER clearing immigration, you took the free monorail
2. Ticket were given at the domestic counter at the right after exiting immigration.
Any details that I should take note ?

Was there 2 years back and took the free shuttle bus from the Domestic terminal to International terminal and wasn't aware of the monorail option. Thanks in advance for the clarification.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.