[GPGT] Loophole in car insurance? As long as the party who hit your car refuse to report to insurance, he can escape liability

maggoth

You think so easy? An abang bang my car from behind. He was a nice guy, straight away say he is wrong, no 2nd word both report insurance, no drama.

But still, it took 9 months until I got a confirmation everything was settled.

So nothing is settled until it is settled, even for straight forward case.
Why take so long? Since no report, it’s considered private settlement. You send your car in for repairs and just claim from him right? Do you mean it took 9 months for him to transfer the amount to you?

spinning_quirK

The whole insurance and NCD, No-Claim Discount, is a scam lah. That’s how car workshops just big big and insurance company Huat even bigger. The only sucker will always be car owner.
Then fight for public transport, cycling network, sheltered walkways. The cost of all these still cannot match up to the ongoing maintenance costs of vehicles and road network.

buffybuffy

Then fight for public transport, cycling network, sheltered walkways. The cost of all these still cannot match up to the ongoing maintenance costs of vehicles and road network.
It will be transferring of the cost from car owners to these users. Sheep fur come from sheep.

crazythen

I give u another loophole to counter this loophole next time any accident just report have injuries like whiplash, neck pain etc....
Agreed….however small the accident, after police report, make sure there is a hospital record for trauma, PTSD, neck pain, migraines …..it gets more attention

FerloneChiow

Rich families have maids or servants to do all the paper work after an accident. Normal Joe dont have. So They deserve it. Wanna drive to save time and convenience, end up waste more time and money after accident happen. hahaha! Song bo?? Drive la drive la! hahahaha!

CaptchaCheebeh

Accident at Shenton Way last year. Driver hit me and ran off , I had 2 female passengers behind but there were no injury sustained. File a police report (hit and run) and shared 5 mins footage of "this driver" swerving in and out of lane from Anson road.

Send the car to insurance WS, but was told me not to report insurance as the repairs were only about 900$ as there were no damage to the folding mechanism. After a few days, was conveyed the "driver" did not report to insurance so I can't proceed to claim against him even though I had the video. If I claimed insurance, it will affect my NCD even though it is not my fault.

At the end of the day, reckless driver only gets a slap on the wrist if they road rage, drunk drive, take drugs and murder people.

Enforcement has always been lacking, so don't expect anything.

This is the law.
Vote wisely my friend. PAP is slapping your face every year that they do not change the traffic laws.

Sirlighty

Nonsense…..

Reporting must be does at Authorised Reporting Centres/Authorized workshops….

After report liao….for claims against 3rd party….you free to goes any workshop to repairs….
Did my post says anything about not going to authorised workshop to report the claim?

Either it you who have comprehensive issue or clearly a nonsensical person.

spinning_quirK

It will be transferring of the cost from car owners to these users. Sheep fur come from sheep.
What are you saying?
Taxpayers are already subsidising car owners now with all the ongoing road maintenance, gantry maintenance, vehicle administration.

Bicycles don't dig into the road surface like vehicles do.

iamverysmart

Did my post says anything about not going to authorised workshop to report the claim?

Either it you who have comprehensive issue or clearly a nonsensical person.
Sorry for offense….

it is indeed me has comprehension issues……

read wrongly paiseh……

thought you means can go any workshop to reports for TP claims…..

buffybuffy

What are you saying?
Taxpayers are already subsidising car owners now with all the ongoing road maintenance, gantry maintenance, vehicle administration.

Bicycles don't dig into the road surface like vehicles do.
You don’t know what is road tax? You don’t know what is season parking fee? Most importantly do you know what is COE?

spinning_quirK

You don’t know what is road tax? You don’t know what is season parking fee? Most importantly do you know what is COE?
All the small change as compared to the cost of paying for road maintenance, ill-advised road widening, road diversions, increased air pollution and mitigation efforts especially due to jams and slowdowns, increased healthcare costs, land that is wasted on petrol stations instead of other land use, etc. Feel like COE for cars only needs to go up 3x. Vans can remain the same, and of course taxis and Grab rental fleet should not be fighting for COE.

Car owners really live in their own world sometimes.

https://www.strongsactown.org/2024/02/13/the-cost-of-road-maintenance/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.