[GPGT] Overseas Travel Discussion and Chit Chat Thread

Gixxerfied

can check out Shida Night Market in Taipei - popular with the uni students/young adults crowd

can try Fengjia Night Market for wide variety of food if you are going to Taichung

Revamped Shida?

Understand it was close down years back due to complaint from residents..

canteen0101

can check out Shida Night Market in Taipei - popular with the uni students/young adults crowd

can try Fengjia Night Market for wide variety of food if you are going to Taichung
nv heard of shida night market, tks for the reco. fengjia i heard is v famous must go-place in Taichung but is it worth to stay in Taichung just for this alone?

canteen0101

奇美博物館 is a must see.
yes, that was on my itinerary initially but later decided to drop it due to its distance from the HSR station plus we didnt want to waste a night or 2's stay in Tainan itself just for this 景点。

Shutterbox

yes, that was on my itinerary initially but later decided to drop it due to its distance from the HSR station plus we didnt want to waste a night or 2's stay in Tainan itself just for this 景点。
Many of tainan's attraction can be walkable in a day, if plan properly.

But to me, 奇美 really takes the cake.

I was lucky to have a local friend brought me there, and explained some the back background of 奇美

Whirling_Dervish

how long ah.. hmm depends how many places u wanna cram in your itinerary lo. for me i did a 4-night stay at a boutique hotel in KH but one of the day, i took a HSR all the way to taichung and changed to a coach to travel up hehuanshan + cingjing... highly NOT recommended to follow my way if u wanna visit these 2 highland places cos the amt of time spent on the journey would take up about half your day or more... maybe can stay a night or 2 in taichung if u wanna go hehuanshan + cingjing

kaohsiung also has some night markets like liuhe and ruifeng. ruifeng was closed when i was there but it doesnt look as big and happening as liuhe. the Shinkuchan Shopping District used to be more vibrant back during pre-covid times but nowadays still can buy some youth fashion stuff there la. surprisingly i bought the most wu hua and trendy clothes/shoes at Taipei's wufenpu and shilin night market.

nah, really dun feel like stealing limelight from EDMW's no.1 goddess. later ppl hantum me how

I actually spent a few nights in the Cingjing Highlands during this trip! I'll share more on that later!

How many days did you spend in Cingjing, or did you just do a day trip from Taichung?

Some of the clothing in the street stores in Taipei were really cheap. I didn't visit Wu Fen Pu, but I did visit Ximending, and some of the blouses and skirts were retailing for NTD100 (AUD5), which was super affordable. But sadly, someone who doesnt know how to prioritising her packing brought 17kg of baggage to Taiwan, with very little to spare on the return trip! :s13:

Awww, thank you for your kind compliments, but you are really putting me on a pedestal here :s13:

Oh this is actually the first time I have heard of Shida Night Market. Normally, I only hear of people talking about Shilin, Rao He, and Ningxia in Taipei!

What is unique to Shida Night Market?

I would say 3 nights max at Kaohsiung

How would you spend those 3 nights in Kaohsiong?

Whirling_Dervish

NT530 hourly yes but that was in 2011 thou..

Hualien's 七星潭 but dont go during summer, friend went = chao tar come back..

SfIIpa4.jpg

Wow this really looks super nice! :s19:

Oh man, you are telling me!

I was slapping thick wads of sun screen on my face and body, and was covering myself up with sun sleeves and I still managed to get sunburnt! And I have only spent a few hours in the sun!

-faints-

canteen0101

I actually spent a few nights in the Cingjing Highlands during this trip! I'll share more on that later!

How many days did you spend in Cingjing, or did you just do a day trip from Taichung?

Some of the clothing in the street stores in Taipei were really cheap. I didn't visit Wu Fen Pu, but I did visit Ximending, and some of the blouses and skirts were retailing for NTD100 (AUD5), which was super affordable. But sadly, someone who doesnt know how to prioritising her packing brought 17kg of baggage to Taiwan, with very little to spare on the return trip! :s13:

Awww, thank you for your kind compliments, but you are really putting me on a pedestal here :s13:

Oh this is actually the first time I have heard of Shida Night Market. Normally, I only hear of people talking about Shilin, Rao He, and Ningxia in Taipei!

wasnt even a day trip from Taichung, but a day trip from KAOHSIUNG. siao right. :s13:
that why i said dun follow me.

Gixxerfied

Shida use to be very popular but it was force close by gov due to complaints. Should be some remaining store but not like how it use to be liao..

Nanya Tourist NM...
7BE5t8r.jpg

Many food..

Gixxerfied

Wow this really looks super nice! :s19:

Oh man, you are telling me!

I was slapping thick wads of sun screen on my face and body, and was covering myself up with sun sleeves and I still managed to get sunburnt! And I have only spent a few hours in the sun!

-faints-

It's nice..But go during spring for better weather..Can consider Alishan also.

Can cycle also(most B&B there got provide bicycle)..

The lighthouse at the end(behind portion from that "beach" pic i posted..

UWiikgU.jpg

Whirling_Dervish

wasnt even a day trip from Taichung, but a day trip from KAOHSIUNG. siao right. :s13:
that why i said dun follow me.

Wait WHAT? :s13:

That sounds too adventurous for me! Did you take the local Nantou bus service from Taichung to Cingjing via Puli, then right up to Hehuanshan?

How long did you spend in Cingjing/Hehuanshan and what did you do there?

Oh man, your story sounds so epic! :s13:

Shida use to be very popular but it was force close by gov due to complaints. Should be some remaining store but not like how it use to be liao..

Nanya Tourist NM...
7BE5t8r.jpg

Many food..

Is that in Taipei?

Oh man, so many Night Markets but so little time (and spare calories :s13:)

Min Min

Haha I am in taiwan travel thread looking at yall exchanging things that are so dejavu to me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.