[GPGT] SBS Bus Captain salary S$4000 and sign on bonus of S$10,000

KPO_SAHM

I think those are minor issues
And they rarely have fights on bus or real trouble makers that they have to call cops

The real problem is the bad traffic and attitude of other motorists
Plus the fatigue of spending hours and hours on the road

Yes stress is on the road users. Not easy. Moreover my sis in law uncle travels back to Malaysia everyday. Now with drivers' hostel, it would save down the time n he would have more sufficient rest

jrwong84

Drive min 6hours per day oso not easy must help load and unload wheelchair sometimes oso got ah siao in bus

Talkbird888

Yes. End of the day still have to clean n wash the bus. My sis in law uncle who is a Malaysian. Driver for SBS for a decade +. Not easy to drive double decker or long bus as many blind spots. And now with many electronic wheelchairs , cyclists and so on roads.....not easy to drive
Need washing n cleaning? Pls dun anyhow leh

alfonsoyy

Your bladder & liver must be strong enough to do this kind of job. Their break time usually only enough for either 1 toilet break & 1 smoke break, usually not enough for both. Lunch & dinner break usually less than an hour. Their turnover quite high.

Roughice

To hit 4 k the difference is almost equal to starting salary of 2150... High chance is work 7 days/week, maybe 1-2 days off per month kind then can hit

And maybe it's forced OT, you got no choice in the matter due to shortage of manpower

foreveru13

Base is 2150, the rest is def overtime, good behavior no complaints, attendance allowance, timeliness at each stop, vehicle cleanliness and such. Very hard to get one.
then bonus is split into parts eg. After 6 mth 500 a year 1000 and so on.
(Used to work for a bus operator)

Joseph12

Drive min 6hours per day oso not easy must help load and unload wheelchair sometimes oso got ah siao in bus
Nah
It's the people who go up and down themselves
The bus driver just take down ramp

And anyway new buses I believe will have automated ramps

12midnight

Need to ensure safety of so many passengers but starting and up-to salary is like 20yrs ago rate…

BlackWing1977

The benefits really not bad wor. Anyone work before? I intend to go interview tomorrow.
FB-IMG-1730130383694.jpg
Beside the valid license requirement.. you also need to be able tahan extended period not going to toilet hor... even though I do see before driver park at bus stop ran off to toilet... but I think at certain stops only probably allowed by the company as their entire trip from 1 bus terminal to the other easily close to 2hours..

BlackWing1977

Need washing n cleaning? Pls dun anyhow leh
I think just sweeping and cleaning inside for example if a passenger cannot tahan urine on the bus.. then you drive back to interchange.. have to clean also what.. cannot be continue driving it mar.. outside I think need to drive to depot to get them to clean...

BlackWing1977

It is obvious this is tough job, that is why they often have to hire foreigners.. last time a lot are Malaysians.. now I think quite a lot of Chinese Nationals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.