GPU Sexperts

Gymrat76

Hi, I am currently running the Gigabyte Waterforce 980Ti Xtreme (circa 2016). I can still play most titles with fairly high settings etc. but the heat coming from the unit is pretty hot - teels like a heater under my desk.

Toying with upgrading, what's a reasonably good card over my current in terms of specs that would make it a financially justifiable purchase? Thx

ystoh133

Hi, I am currently running the Gigabyte Waterforce 980Ti Xtreme (circa 2016). I can still play most titles with fairly high settings etc. but the heat coming from the unit is pretty hot - teels like a heater under my desk.

Toying with upgrading, what's a reasonably good card over my current in terms of specs that would make it a financially justifiable purchase? Thx

If you think it's still functional for your games I suggest you to just take it apart and reapply thermal paste and thermal pads (pretty sure warranty also long gone). I would suggest wait for next gen.

But if you really want to upgrade. I think current rtx 2070 super is a good buy, it performs 15 - 20% faster than the gtx 1080 and it goes for as low as $740 I think.
Otherwise the rtx 2060 super is another good for value card.

tigerwoods

get a good cpu cooler
GPU at load is about 70c which is quite mormal.

Gymrat76

If you think it's still functional for your games I suggest you to just take it apart and reapply thermal paste and thermal pads (pretty sure warranty also long gone). I would suggest wait for next gen.

But if you really want to upgrade. I think current rtx 2070 super is a good buy, it performs 15 - 20% faster than the gtx 1080 and it goes for as low as $740 I think.
Otherwise the rtx 2060 super is another good for value card.

Thanks. I think its not much I can do. It's a watercooled system already.. prob just the characteristic of the chip. The 10xx series uses significantly less power (and generates less heat) than the 9xx series.

So far I think still OK performance-wise (for a 4 year old card), just the heat part

Rashkae

Faster GPU will also generate heat. So, one way or another you'll have heat.

SkyShroud

custom loop and heat still not acceptable range meh?
u oc the card until sibei high sibo

Gymrat76

custom loop and heat still not acceptable range meh?
u oc the card until sibei high sibo

The CPU is an AIO cooling. The GPU comes stock water-cooled by Gigabyte. And no overclock - running at stock speeds haha

Gymrat76

If you really got the budget you can consider liquid nitrogen coolers. But they are expensive AF. Also may need to declare the shipment.

Haha for the cost and trouble, isn’t it cheaper and easier to just get a newer, faster and cooler card?

SkyShroud

aio still shouldn't be heaty
maybe ur aio aged liao can't pump the water fast enough

in any case hor...u run ultrawide 1440p @ 120hz wor....
get 2080ti ba :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.