Graduating next year

undergrad21

Hi all,

I am a year 4 student studying mechanical engineering in NTU, graduating next year May. Currently still fch but worried about job prospects because I am not good at coding and everything in engineering seems to revolve around coding now :(

thinking of applying for dso/dsta/htx next year but only have intern in operations role so don't know what are my chances.

also considering applying for those graduates program from banks, consulting firms next year which accepts all disciplines

just very lost lor dk what i can do:( anyone can offer some advice?

Jason_Dmax

Chiu will receive troll answers. Just keep applying, and not be picky about celery. Gain exp first

undergrad21

Chiu will receive troll answers. Just keep applying, and not be picky about celery. Gain exp first
hope no trolls hahahaha

dw to be picky or what but I feel engineering in sg is very limited cause mostly focus on operations/maintenance so idk if it's even wise to have a entry job there anot

Coutinho_#23

U fch go apply Govt related high chance tio. See u ok with salary not only..

So far I see ppl post online 2nd upper and above high chance can secure one loh.

Pika-chiu

Govt related so easy tio nowadays? By govt related means govt right...? Not govt projects but not govt lol. Rike that I ggwp liao I 2nd upper didn’t even have a call back for SWE role, but had call back for coding assessments, whiteboarding from fintech.

Also I heard govt usually contract jobs now? See perf then extend perm role

honestly for some of the places TS stated, the coding interviews not as simple as ABC from what I heard. If coding no good and no prior intel I think prob can’t even get in haha

Pika-chiu

Btw I have friend who still stick to engineering discipline, entry level, seems like for a pretty not bad reputable company. But workplace ish farflung like JI that kind of areas, far daily commute of 1.5h one way.

my other engin friend go coding pathway riaos but got coding background from pre-Uni

Successor.

How about doing AI, Data Analytics or RPA roles? There are plenty of such roles now.

DataScience

Advise you not to apply to DSTA. It's a troll company. Most of the good talents leave for greener pastures after a while, so it will be hard to find peers whom you can learn from. The management level is even worse.

This absence of talent is problematic because for engineering and programming, you really need people whom you can learn from to quickly become good at your craft.

Definitely

hope no trolls hahahaha

dw to be picky or what but I feel engineering in sg is very limited cause mostly focus on operations/maintenance so idk if it's even wise to have a entry job there anot
But if you want good prospects then you need to have the skills that will put you in those careers. If you don't, then no choice have to join M&E firms doing maintenance projects. There's no free lunch in this world. I have a friend who started at $3.5k a month, not high but you also won't starve to death.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.