graphic card gg

pigpigoink

using desktop then suddenly monitor cant detect signal... troubleshoot a bit and saw graphic card fan not spinning at all.

is it a norm to bring it for repair or usually just buy a new one?

if repair, where to source ah? cost is usually around how much?

zotac geforce gtx 1060 mini, use about 8 years liao.

thank you~

xonix

using desktop then suddenly monitor cant detect signal... troubleshoot a bit and saw graphic card fan not spinning at all.

thank you~
Gaming or normal usage ? If tight budget, can go carousell take a look at the 2nd hand market.

R6exR6

8 years very good liao. I got one card just b4 3 years niah spoilt. Bring to Convergent, but said no replacement coz corrosion. After that I learnt not to put PC besides window. LOL

pigpigoink

Gaming or normal usage ? If tight budget, can go carousell take a look at the 2nd hand market.

eh.. normal use. got play genshin sometimes. not hardcore gamer.

ic, from your experience/opinion, 2nd hand can last?

pigpigoink

8 years very good liao. I got one card just b4 3 years niah spoilt. Bring to Convergent, but said no replacement coz corrosion. After that I learnt not to put PC besides window. LOL

got difference compared with putting on floor? lol mine is on floor in a room, a distance away from window.

but i tot 3 years, there should be still warranty? or got warranty but corrosion is not included.

Asphodeli

thank you~
gxgx just in time to buy the brand new RTX 5090! :ROFLMAO:

Seriously though the 1060 is very outdated and not worth repairing.

R6exR6

got difference compared with putting on floor? lol mine is on floor in a room, a distance away from window.

but i tot 3 years, there should be still warranty? or got warranty but corrosion is not included.
Denied warranty.
Heard not good idea put PC on floor ... probably dust and moisture. I elevate my new PC a bit off the floor.

xonix

eh.. normal use. got play genshin sometimes. not hardcore gamer.

ic, from your experience/opinion, 2nd hand can last?
Me ? I buy things expecting they will fail so anything beyond warranty period is already bonus. If you are keeping the card long time, better buy brand new with warranty. Zotac should be the only that offers 3+2 yrs locally.

pigpigoink

Denied warranty.
Heard not good idea put PC on floor ... probably dust and moisture. I elevate my new PC a bit off the floor.

oic.

for mine, got elevate off the floor. bought the simple item that can support and move the pc around(when needed). forget the name lol

pigpigoink

Me ? I buy things expecting they will fail so anything beyond warranty period is already bonus. If you are keeping the card long time, better buy brand new with warranty. Zotac should be the only that offers 3+2 yrs locally.

oic. thanks man for the replies :)

tigerwoods

thank you~
You sure is the gfx card gg?
Does it has idle fan feature (fan off when temp < 60° C)

pigpigoink

You sure is the gfx card gg?
Does it has idle fan feature (fan off when temp < 60° C)

no, cant be sure cause i am not expert lol. but it's not working currently.

i tried to turn on when cooled(aka open after closing for 6hrs est.), tried changing cable, tried remove and insert back.

but cant do much diy... thinking of opening up to clean but... see how lol no experience no tools(alcohol, grey reduce heat thingy, etc).

Does it has idle fan feature (fan off when temp < 60° C) --> no idea sia paiseh.

lastly, my pc is running ok(monitor can detect signal) when i tried with another graphic card.

86technie

i tried to turn on when cooled(aka open after closing for 6hrs est.), tried changing cable, tried remove and insert back.

but cant do much diy... thinking of opening up to clean but... see how lol no experience no tools(alcohol, grey reduce heat thingy, etc).

Does it has idle fan feature (fan off when temp < 60° C) --> no idea sia paiseh.

lastly, my pc is running ok(monitor can detect signal) when i tried with another graphic card.

Fan stop is only supported on certain graphic card, Zotac to my knowledge they don't have
such feature especially for GTX 10XX series and certain range.

If you tried with another GPU and working than GPU is spoil.
However usually no display is caused by faulty RAM than GPU.

Depending on specs/if it is a branded PC.
Your best option will be second hand GPU like GTX 1050 Ti/1060.
The new generation like some mention RTX 4060/RX7600 are best to pair with
new gen CPU.

If your is Intel 4th/6th gen second hand GPU will be better and you won't
face bottleneck issues.
For that faulty GPU don't throw maybe when you find someone who can help
check properly than throw.

iceblendedchoc

thank you~
try other display ports on the card

1060mini repair maybe not worth it unless they charge very cheap.

if you have multimeter, you can check for connectivity and troubleshoot which part is causing the problem.
maybe fuse blown

tsteo77

thank you~
Based on how you mention about monitor suddenly loss signal while using a 8year old 1060 gpu.
It obvious that you gpu has retired.

You can check the link for affordable old gpu from china. https://itzr2010.en.made-in-china.c...MIqtemkYDligMVeqVmAh2ZlTS3EAQYBiABEgKGCPD_BwE

pigpigoink

eh just happen to see interesting stuff and share, monitor signal gone due to vibration wtf lol

firezero10

My old sapphire card also 2+ year spoil liao. Don’t even got chance to RMA since 2 year warranty only ….

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.