gtx 970

royfrosty

Zotac 5 years warranty is not entirely by local distributor. Is 2+3 years and not 3+2 years.

2 years is for 1-1 exchange when there is a faulty gpu. And usualy its only the first year they will keep stocks.

3 years is by zotac. Whereby if there is an issue with the card, they will send it back to Zotac for repairs.

And fyi, palit isnt really 2 slots. Its close to 2.5 slots.

Considering you get what you paid for. The i/o mostly is mini dp mini hdmi standards, you probably need special converters or cables to get it hooked up to the monitor.

At the reviews, the moment you pull out the cooler, its just 3+1vrms, and its sported a very old pcb design, same as the gtx670 back then. There is a reason why even waterblocks for 670 and 760 fits for the palit gtx970. Very small pcb and the components used are a bit skeptical.

Wanna go budget just grab the msi gtx970 armor edition. Spotted the same pcb as their gaming series, proper 5+1 vrms, just a step down on the cooler.

As for all the coolers implemented.
www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/palit_geforce_gtx_970_jetstream_review,8.html

One good look and you know that lesser known brands will always be at 7Xdeg vs 6Xdeg on gaming load.

And furthermore the fans spin harder to keep the card cool vs the fans on major brands spins less to keep it cool.

muddle

Zotac 5 years warranty is not entirely by local distributor. Is 2+3 years and not 3+2 years.

2 years is for 1-1 exchange when there is a faulty gpu. And usualy its only the first year they will keep stocks.

3 years is by zotac. Whereby if there is an issue with the card, they will send it back to Zotac for repairs.

And fyi, palit isnt really 2 slots. Its close to 2.5 slots.

Considering you get what you paid for. The i/o mostly is mini dp mini hdmi standards, you probably need special converters or cables to get it hooked up to the monitor.

At the reviews, the moment you pull out the cooler, its just 3+1vrms, and its sported a very old pcb design, same as the gtx670 back then. There is a reason why even waterblocks for 670 and 760 fits for the palit gtx970. Very small pcb and the components used are a bit skeptical.

Wanna go budget just grab the msi gtx970 armor edition. Spotted the same pcb as their gaming series, proper 5+1 vrms, just a step down on the cooler.

As for all the coolers implemented.
www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/palit_geforce_gtx_970_jetstream_review,8.html

One good look and you know that lesser known brands will always be at 7Xdeg vs 6Xdeg on gaming load.

And furthermore the fans spin harder to keep the card cool vs the fans on major brands spins less to keep it cool.

Does the jetstream or zotac have lower vrm counts than the stock nvidia card? I'd like to think that the extra vrms on the expensive cards are actually just extras. Sure they might be doing a better job than stock 3+1 but are they really necessary? Assuming the user is a gamer and not an overclocker.

I agree that the guru3d review proved the cooling efficiency on the expensive ones. Yet they mentioned it was relatively silent as well. As long as the vrm, vram and gpu itself are properly cooled, it should be ok.

Perhaps it's a matter of you get what you paid for. But the jetstream is just another 970 among the crowd.

royfrosty

Does the jetstream or zotac have lower vrm counts than the stock nvidia card? I'd like to think that the extra vrms on the expensive cards are actually just extras. Sure they might be doing a better job than stock 3+1 but are they really necessary? Assuming the user is a gamer and not an overclocker.

I agree that the guru3d review proved the cooling efficiency on the expensive ones. Yet they mentioned it was relatively silent as well. As long as the vrm, vram and gpu itself are properly cooled, it should be ok.

Perhaps it's a matter of you get what you paid for. But the jetstream is just another 970 among the crowd.

Its the same as stock 3+1. It does help to overclock on 5+1. Not much, but you will need a bios mod to be installed on the card to go over the Nvidia 108% power lock. Yes of cause the silicon lottery also plays a part.

The thing about overclocking GPU, is that the temps for 970. For the palit, you would probably be limited by the heat as it has already almost reached its peak temps. Remember it's not 95deg is the max temp. It's 8Xdeg then you will see your card starts to trottle. And palit has reached 7xdeg. Not much room for overclocking. For known brands when overvolting the card, the cooler implemented is way better. The heat pipes, the way they soldered it, the way they position the S pipe, which one draws the most heat off the card, the airflow, is the heatsink blocking the way how the air flows to the components, etc.

I have not shown people on how much can a msi gtx970 4gb golden edition overclock. Will post when I have the time to do overclocking. There's a huge difference, although yes I understand that it is a full copper heatsink and will very well pawn most normal cooler out there. But that's isn't my point, more on how the cooler is implemented and what kind of technology is it.

The cooler implementation plays a huge role in the overall cooling of the card.

Don't just buy just because it's cheap. It's because of the cooler implementations that makes it expensive, and yes overclocking results will be slightly better.

avsquare

But for people who eventually does WC or tears it down to install waterblocks, would the cooler implemented eventually matter?

Like a torn down Asus card Vs a torn down Palit card with both on Aqua waterblocks.

royfrosty

But for people who eventually does WC or tears it down to install waterblocks, would the cooler implemented eventually matter?

Like a torn down Asus card Vs a torn down Palit card with both on Aqua waterblocks.

The fact about waterblocks is this, it is easier to find a waterblocks that are using reference design. You can't simply just buy a palit card and buy an aqua blocks and it will fit. It will not.

Aquacomputer mostly produces reference designs. Such as a Titan X with the Nvidia reference blower or AMD reference blower.

The only brand that can use non reference waterblocks would be EK. EK has the most waterblocks produced with non reference gpu.

But however their quality remains questionable and also a hit or a miss on their nickel flaking issues.

avsquare

The fact about waterblocks is this, it is easier to find a waterblocks that are using reference design. You can't simply just buy a palit card and buy an aqua blocks and it will fit. It will not.

Aquacomputer mostly produces reference designs. Such as a Titan X with the Nvidia reference blower or AMD reference blower.

The only brand that can use non reference waterblocks would be EK. EK has the most waterblocks produced with non reference gpu.

But however their quality remains questionable and also a hit or a miss on their nickel flaking issues.

How about non waterblock WC? I guess those stuff doesn't care whether the design is reference or non reference right?

robbedzombie

Is it true zotac has coil whining ?

Sent from hp using GAGT

i can attest to coil whine, i have palit jetstream though coil whine is barely audible unless u get up close or put ur pc on table beside u and blast games. though when i play my electric guitar and switch to single coil mode, the magnetic interference wud fuzz up/distort the sound on my amplifier maybe bcos my guitar cavity is not shielded since it is a humbucker.

Op_Valkyrie

the nickel plating issue in yr 2011 seems to have resolved - one of the few threads that were posted in the internet http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/268810-ek-nickel-waterblock/

however if still scare eeeeeekkkkk nickel flake... just get the copper version sua... cheaper somemore....

for me i just get the nickel version... don think i will keep my blks for too long either.... :D

royfrosty

the nickel plating issue in yr 2011 seems to have resolved - one of the few threads that were posted in the internet http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/268810-ek-nickel-waterblock/

however if still scare eeeeeekkkkk nickel flake... just get the copper version sua... cheaper somemore....

for me i just get the nickel version... don think i will keep my blks for too long either.... :D

Ya loh. Scary leh. The is one person in OCN posted on Nickel flaking i see liao omg scary.

Imagine you use halfway about a year then got to pull everything out. Sibei mahfan.

Op_Valkyrie

Ya loh. Scary leh. The is one person in OCN posted on Nickel flaking i see liao omg scary.

Imagine you use halfway about a year then got to pull everything out. Sibei mahfan.

don think so jialat... this is like blown out of proportion... if really the case... eeeeeekkkkk.... can close shop early liao.... rite? recently like bo new case of nickel flaking when they switch to EN plating.... hmm but i understand your concerns ;)

shadow84

Thing is when I am not in game, my Creative speakers out volume the fans, or when I am in game or watching animes I am on my headset which isolates the "outside world". My standing fans are louder than the rig itself so the rig isn't that bad actually.

I haven't really considered WC for my rig yet cos the Phantom 530 case isn't that big actually. My CPU is on a tower radiator with 2x 2200RPM fan blasting the heat away (and the fan is pointing directly on same level as the back exhaust running at 1000RPM), so it runs at 5X-6X deg during games which I am satisfied with.

WC for the GPU would be more of a problem due to space limitation even though the GTX970 isn't a full width card. :(

Okay, maybe the Aquacomputer waterblocks but jin sexpensive sia.

P.S. Eh isn't your rig specs same as mine LOL :s22:

I bought a total of 12 kg of items, and they still charge me €34.90 flat. It includes 5L of coolant. Now that eur is droppimg, good time to get from aqc. Quality is great, so is the customer service.

muddle

I bought a total of 12 kg of items, and they still charge me €34.90 flat. It includes 5L of coolant. Now that eur is droppimg, good time to get from aqc. Quality is great, so is the customer service.

Vpost would have charged you 10x more for shipping.

Op_Valkyrie

AQC is very good choice... but too bad for me they don't have ram blks (x4 x6), mono blks for various mobo models and also full gpu blks like eeeeeeekkkkk.... another choice will be BP blks....oh well... :o

avsquare

Is it the one with AIO cooler strapped on to it?

Something like the Kraken G10

kraken-g10-water-cooler-645x483.jpg

KrakenG10-1-645x483.jpg

Need to check does it have for Zotac's :s13:

royfrosty

Something like the Kraken G10

kraken-g10-water-cooler-645x483.jpg

KrakenG10-1-645x483.jpg

Need to check does it have for Zotac's :s13:

Ok. Good luck. Hahahaha.

You wanna learn what me and shadow84 went through, be my guest lol.

Ok jokes aside. We did go this route before. And we risk frying our VRMS for good. And also the VRAMs are easy to be fried.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.