Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

tissuepaper

I think it is easier to use plaplate to make sword edge.
no idea abt cones. u can try making using epoxy putty and shape it when it is half dry. sanding is going to be a nightmare though, so u need to shape it as much as u can when half dry

how to use the epoxy?
mix 2 types together, apply water and shape it and wait to dry?

Bryson

how to use the epoxy?
mix 2 types together, apply water and shape it and wait to dry?
Mix 1:1 ratio, keep your hands wet when mixing to prevent the epoxy to stick to your hands, mix it thoroughly. Take a desired amount of epoxy and apply onto the surface with your toothpick or putty tools, and shape it roughly. When dry, use sandpaper or sand stick to slowly sand it to shape. If sand too much etc, just mix epoxy putty again to apply it onto the affected areas. Hope this helps !

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

Albedo

For me, will get the GFT version.

Or, u can compare which one comes out later, then get the later version.

fury89

just checking wit u guys
can i just use normal spray paint to paint the kit or need to get those from hobby shop one ? :s11:

evilerniex

these 2. which one more worth it to get? hope to find some ans from fellow collectors.

between the 2, GFT would be a better buy. coz usually it is only on sale in GFT shop in Tokyo.

but if u ask me, i think both are not worth buying at taka coz it is way overpriced.

evilerniex

just checking wit u guys
can i just use normal spray paint to paint the kit or need to get those from hobby shop one ? :s11:

can use. but some brands the paint particles are big so the finishing not so smooth. also, the industrial spraycan usually pressure is greater than hobby ones. so becareful not to overspray. try out on unwanted pieces first.

freakybird

Has anyone ordered from banzaihobby before? Their prices seem cheap, even when I factor in the chop carrot shipping charges.

fury89

can use. but some brands the paint particles are big so the finishing not so smooth. also, the industrial spraycan usually pressure is greater than hobby ones. so becareful not to overspray. try out on unwanted pieces first.

Thanks for the heads up
Think I just stick wit the hobby one bah
Prolly gettin a set of metalic marker to go wit it too

tissuepaper

yup.. tt is more or less the idea.

for cones, y not buy aftermarket parts? there are even metal cones

now using for sword edge.
cones is for zaku shoulder. thinking of getting the hd builder parts instead. aftermarket parts seems a bit too long and sharp for my liking. :o
anyway you used them before? always wonder how it can fit nicely in

Mix 1:1 ratio, keep your hands wet when mixing to prevent the epoxy to stick to your hands, mix it thoroughly. Take a desired amount of epoxy and apply onto the surface with your toothpick or putty tools, and shape it roughly. When dry, use sandpaper or sand stick to slowly sand it to shape. If sand too much etc, just mix epoxy putty again to apply it onto the affected areas. Hope this helps !

siao liao. i soak the whole epoxy in a small dish of water :s13:
no wonder after few days the piece still nua nua. or is it normal :s11: :(

evilerniex

now using for sword edge.
cones is for zaku shoulder. thinking of getting the hd builder parts instead. aftermarket parts seems a bit too long and sharp for my liking. :o
anyway you used them before? always wonder how it can fit nicely in

siao liao. i soak the whole epoxy in a small dish of water :s13:
no wonder after few days the piece still nua nua. or is it normal :s11: :(

i havent use before. think i have a pack somewhere :s13:

dun think u are suppose to soak the whole thing. the water is just to coat ur fingers so it doesnt stick to ur fingers. the epoxy itself dun need water. by right 1 day enuf for it to fully harden

yohzzz

Anyone have any idea where can I get Mr Hobby spray can? Last time hobby point use to sell. But seem lik most of the hobby point all close liao..

tpmmark

Anyone knows the market price on built with stickers on for a mg strike freedom? Thinking of selling mine since no space for mg series..
Thanks.

haremdevil

u can consider going bishan CC:
https://www.facebook.com/modelloplus

at $25 a year, it is cheaper if u are going to spend hours airbrushing. downside is that the club is only open on sunday afternoons.
and dun provide paint also

Do I have to bring my own airbrush & compressor? Any tools available, like cutter, sand paper, thinner, etc?

Being spraying at home....stink like hell....looking for places to do airbrushing...

Amateur here....if all the people there are expert, will feel out of place and stress....:s34:

evilerniex

Do I have to bring my own airbrush & compressor? Any tools available, like cutter, sand paper, thinner, etc?

Being spraying at home....stink like hell....looking for places to do airbrushing...

Amateur here....if all the people there are expert, will feel out of place and stress....:s34:

compressor and thinner is provided.
airbrush we have a few spare ones, but we encourage u to bring ur own.
other stuff like sandpaper, paint etc. u will have to bring ur own.

we have a mix of amateurs and experienced modellers. some of u are new to the hobby and just started learning basic skills like sanding and clearing seamlines. so wun feel stress and out of place one :)

evilerniex

Anyone knows the market price on built with stickers on for a mg strike freedom? Thinking of selling mine since no space for mg series..
Thanks.

unfortunately there isn't really a market for completed models unless they are custom jobs dun by professionals.

there may be people are willing to buy completed models for spare parts or for resin conversion kits. but I dun think they will pay much

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.