Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

Blusttoy

I rather buy from p bandai. local model shops are not worth supporting.

I once rage typed out my grievances with P-Bandai. I find that local hobby shops don't stock the P-Bandai stuffs that I want. And the ones that do, was that overpriced La Tendo.

I almost have orders each month on P-Bandai and my issues are:

[1] For certain items, scalpers and their bot scripts will sold out within minutes of PO opening, especially Metal Builds and then seeing these items relisted at 30%+ markup at localized shopping sites; Carousell.

[2] For orders with delivery within the same month, you cannot combine orders, so you're paying multiple shipping fees. The reason there's several orders is because P Bandai list items on different days and months. To save yourself from an item selling out, you PO first.

Example: February 2021 releases RD Satan Gundam, listed in September. I preordered it in September and luckily too cause it is sold out now with $20-$50 markup. In October, another February 2021 item, the AOZ kits were listed. I preordered again. Both orders had separate shipping fees.

So in the future, in February 2021, these items will be delivered to my house at the same time and I had paid twice the shipping.

As a long term member, this somewhat leaves a bad taste when other online shops can and provide combined shipping.

[3] The website design sucks. The search option doesn't work properly. I search Satan and nothing comes up even though Satan Gundam is there. I search Gundam and sometimes Kamen Rider shows up in result. I search for delivery month and the results are inconsistent.

[4] Ineffective customer service and marketing. It is obvious that the P Bandai teams outside of Japan are incompetent. Their usual response to queries are "Sorry we can't do anything" unless it's payment related.

If you want to avoid missing out on hot items, you have to surf Bandai Hobby Net for future release since the FB page of localized P Bandai are slow to update.

[5] Pre-orders with limited quantities. In my opinion, if a pre-order is stated between start and end date, there should not be a limited quantity. That's the entire ****ing point about PRE-ORDERING. Manufacturer Bandai should be prepared for whatever quantity being the final order quantity.

Premium Bandai was intended for items they thought wouldn't sell high volume in the mass market. Stuff like variant kits and niche high price figures. None of P Bandai items have xxxx/1000 limited quantity designation or rarity branding. Not even the Gundarium alloy one.

Don't make scalpers profit and shame the P Bandai branding. Don't make items become exclusive and limited, when you're gonna do a ****ing 2nd and 3rd batch of release in the future. If Bandai is unable to fulfill the orders, then immediately put up 2nd and 3rd waves so we won't have scalpers profiting up to 50-200%.

[6] They should consider putting up expo-limited, Gundam Front limited and now upcoming Odaiba items since not everyone globally will have the chance to visit Japan.

In all, I like Bandai's products but I find that the P Bandai shopping experience to be somewhat lackluster and lagging behind online stores such as Hobby Search and Mandarake.

For sold out items, I prefer to purchase from Mandarake JP than pay for the scalper's price on Carousell.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
I do not see the need why the thread title has to be change. This title is easy to understand and people who enjoy gundam building can just come in to show case their work and share knowledge. I'm sorry that this thread doesn't provide the enjoyment you seek. I'm pretty sure there are more serious gundam modelling thread out there that share your views.

Hiling care

I once rage typed out my grievances with P-Bandai. I find that local hobby shops don't stock the P-Bandai stuffs that I want. And the ones that do, was that overpriced La Tendo.

I almost have orders each month on P-Bandai and my issues are:

In all, I like Bandai's products but I find that the P Bandai shopping experience to be somewhat lackluster and lagging behind online stores such as Hobby Search and Mandarake.

For sold out items, I prefer to purchase from Mandarake JP than pay for the scalper's price on Carousell.

I feel p bandai more fair. at least everyone got a fair chance to snatch at a certain timing.

u see the local hobby shop pattern. simi ** u ask they also reply with "see my facebook".

knn macam influencer need to keep seeing their fb. sometimes opening hours also not reliable one.

Not saying that they do this but if I open a shop, I can give my regular or own kakis a heads up when I receive in demand goods or limited qty stuff right? then those who dun suck up to the owners how?

Anyway their stock always so slow to arrive, might as well order online.

Hiling care

Anyway I write all these also not to persuade you from your opinion, but just to say to those people who OOB, don't feel disheartened. If you want to achieve the true ceiling of scale modeling skills, maybe 1 kit will take you years, and by then you burned out and want to quit this god damn hobby liao, so might as well just get your favorite mobile suits and have that thing built however you want and displayed.

OOB without basic model techniques is going against the true spirit of scale modelling.

Lighthand

It's been a long time since I last did a kit. I still have boxes of Gundams & WWII ships laying around.

Does anyone know if there's still places that rent out work spaces? Specifically for building and airbrushing?

Zephon

Just to get some opinion here, do you guys think the new PG Unleashed RX78-2 needs painting? Base on the details, does panel lining+ top coat enough?

Blusttoy

Just to get some opinion here, do you guys think the new PG Unleashed RX78-2 needs painting? Base on the details, does panel lining+ top coat enough?

The PG Unleased looks great OOB without panel lines and topcoat.

6YO1HQJ.png

I think if you're an OOB only, just panel lining, with waterslide and top coat will look like this:

oMpGE8Y.jpg

Of course if you paint, it will look better but on its own, Bandai made sure it looked amazing for beginners.

Zephon

Thank you so much for your input, appreciate the comparison pics. I think I will do the simple one (panel lining + waterslide + topcoat).

6YO1HQJ.png

I think if you're an OOB only, just panel lining, with waterslide and top coat will look like this:

oMpGE8Y.jpg

Of course if you paint, it will look better but on its own, Bandai made sure it looked amazing for beginners.

ChaoMonkey

6YO1HQJ.png

oMpGE8Y.jpg

I was gifted this (PG RX-78-2) a week back.

How easy for a noob to build this? lol

I did some googling and saw Adam Savage building one as well but he had help.

Blusttoy

Very easy, since Bandai's products have easy to follow step-by-step instruction manual. Kinda like Lego. The video you saw of Adam Savage build, more people just make it faster, not easier.

The only thing I recommend getting for newbies that won't invest into the hobby are:

Nippers - To cut parts out from sprue

4573102574756_c8c4dd93c5fce979b13d2da3df77f3cd__84573.1572238818_-_copy.jpg

RedEyesFan

If your concern is regarding time:
HG takes about 5 hours
MG takes about 20 hours
PG should take about 80 hours.

If you find a joint abit stiff, use graphite as lubricant.

ChaoMonkey

HG takes about 5 hours
MG takes about 20 hours

Very easy, since Bandai's products have easy to follow step-by-step instruction manual. Kinda like Lego. The video you saw of Adam Savage build, more people just make it faster, not easier.

The only thing I recommend getting for newbies that won't invest into the hobby are:

Nippers - To cut parts out from sprue

4573102574756_c8c4dd93c5fce979b13d2da3df77f3cd__84573.1572238818_-_copy.jpg
Ah yes. I checked out some gunpla beginner videos on YouTube. Most seem to recommend a good nipper, sand paper and excto knife

HG takes about 5 hours
MG takes about 20 hours

I Most probably will get a cheaper kit to try out before starting on the PG version.

hopefully I don’t get sucked into the gumpla world. Lol.

My 12” inch collections already taking up too much space! Ha!

Hiling care

HG takes about 5 hours
MG takes about 20 hours

where got 80hrs?

unless u talking about sanding and painting every single piece.

Snap build damn fast one la.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.