Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

gentoro

Hobby Art has announced a new shop near jurong, its called Hobby Art @ Station, dunno why the @ but hey westenders you can get your supplies somewhere near your house

https://www.facebook.com/HobbyArtGallery

Swee arh!! Westerner like me no need to go central or Macpherson/paya lebar to get my supplies!

Knn! (pls pardon me), last time lppl, finish yellow paint and all stuck because of yellow especially took leave for the day to work on kit. LPPL, drive to Macpherson on Monday and same day pop by Tamiya store at paya lebar - just for 1 Mr Hobby Yellow! Crap, end up of cos buy more stuff eg. base stand, decal and other stuffs - thinking to make the trip worthwhile... :s13:

thegamer1907

Think Hobby Art gallery (sunshine plaza) is closed every monday.

Hobby Art @work at mac pherson is open every day.

In the end bought a HG Aile Strike and RX78-2 from v2hw.
Did the aile strike last night, more difficult and need more patience than what thought, mainly due to the nubs.. Forgot to buy sandpaper and the filers left very bad scratches on the surface so I used the daiso hobby knife to slice down the nubs. Will sand down once I have the time to remove the surface nub marks. Took about 4 hours to complete the kit with small pieces of nubs all over random places in the room lol. Also got 2 cuts on my thumb due to cutting the nubs.
Planning to add decals and topcoat this kit as it is my first.

thegamer1907

here it is.. only did some simple panel lines, but the pen i using the tip abit too big.

anyijc.jpg

Cleaver

Use cotton bud, maybe need to add a bit of zippo fluid and wipe the lines to make it thinner
Just don't put too much.

Need panel lines for the face also

Plus decals and finally matt coat and it'll look nice

thegamer1907

okay thanks.. i havent done the face, getting a more finer marker instead cus i scared using this marker will screw it up badly. also i realise the stickers keep coming off along the parts where it is supposed to be folded around the parts.. any solution?
also for topcoat can i just spray over without stripping it down to individual parts?

aucheukyan

okay thanks.. i havent done the face, getting a more finer marker instead cus i scared using this marker will screw it up badly. also i realise the stickers keep coming off along the parts where it is supposed to be folded around the parts.. any solution?
also for topcoat can i just spray over without stripping it down to individual parts?

sakura 0.05 markers are quite good..... can use eraser to rub off

try rolling down the stickers with a toothpick, kinda like a roller for those pasting commercial stickers on walls

unicr0ne

here it is.. only did some simple panel lines, but the pen i using the tip abit too big.

anyijc.jpg

looks like shiet. not only is the mold bad, your skills are worst.

if u got no skills to make a hg look good, just buy rg. even sliver the no skill kia buy RG and it looks half decent

throw away and buy RG is 1000000000000x better.

evilerniex

looks like shiet. not only is the mold bad, your skills are worst.

if u got no skills to make a hg look good, just buy rg. even sliver the no skill kia buy RG and it looks half decent

throw away and buy RG is 1000000000000x better.

that is a very unkind thing to say.

no one starts out as an expert in modelling. we all start as noobs and improve along the way. instead of just criticizing, u can give some feedback on how he can improve.

and i personally think RG is not suitable for beginners. RG has too many small parts, and some are quite fragile. any mistakes in snapfitting could potentially be disastrous coz u may break the parts

unicr0ne

that is a very unkind thing to say.

no one starts out as an expert in modelling. we all start as noobs and improve along the way. instead of just criticizing, u can give some feedback on how he can improve.

and i personally think RG is not suitable for beginners. RG has too many small parts, and some are quite fragile. any mistakes in snapfitting could potentially be disastrous coz u may break the parts

bo bian.

this HG strike mold is very old liao, no amount of painting can save a shietty mold. the proportions look so bad the RG was probably meant to replace it.

ok my advice to that guy is to quit gundam modelling.

a painted HG seed kit still loses to an unpainted RG with some broken parts

ahkia1

it a hobby.. when i started, it even worst..now, just a little bit better..

Everyone deserve a chance to learn. No matter how good or how bad a work turn out, it still represent the maker time, effort and passion. ;)

HeeroYuy

Just ignore this unicork so far i nvr see any of his works n he thinks he's an expert?

And im no expert. But at least he tries n somebody does start somewhere.

Dun be jealous that he does a better job than you, sister.

thegamer1907

i have to admit it looks kind of horrible but it was still fun to build. will be going down to HA@station opening tmr to get a MG kit if they got some good ones.

rookierocky

i have to admit it looks kind of horrible but it was still fun to build. will be going down to HA@station opening tmr to get a MG kit if they got some good ones.

u can also try copic, zig markers as well, they cost about two plus, u can get it from artfriend.

HeeroYuy

Nah sometimes most of us gets lost in what we do and forget to enjoy the hobby and make it a serious issue. (me included :s22::s22:)

Like Rookierocky mentioned, copic, or sakura( Achueyan) suggested will be good to use.

Once you are more confident, look into enamel wash for panel lining. It will improve the look a lot~ Aikiboy also have improved using that technique.

aucheukyan

bo bian.

this HG strike mold is very old liao, no amount of painting can save a shietty mold. the proportions look so bad the RG was probably meant to replace it.

ok my advice to that guy is to quit gundam modelling.

a painted HG seed kit still loses to an unpainted RG with some broken parts

welcome back unicrone, love your trolling replies......:):)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.