Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

thegamer1907

Yes there is size restriction. Not sure exact dimension but some mg kits with larger boxes cannot be shipped by SAL. For eg the strike rouge RM and big box mg kits like sazabi and hi nu

anhyeuem

for my case, I thought SD grade was the best introduction to gunpla. But I was very wrong and some guys pointed out too that outside MG kits, there are a lot of sanding to be done. Imagine masking and painting on a SD kit compare to MG size parts.

Even those non grade 1/100 kits similar in size to modern MG kits are a pain.

MG kits generally have the nibs hidden away and masking is over a bigger area so much easier to paint too.

sliver0503

for my case, I thought SD grade was the best introduction to gunpla. But I was very wrong and some guys pointed out too that outside MG kits, there are a lot of sanding to be done. Imagine masking and painting on a SD kit compare to MG size parts.

Even those non grade 1/100 kits similar in size to modern MG kits are a pain.

MG kits generally have the nibs hidden away and masking is over a bigger area so much easier to paint too.

Same sentiments. Not to mention sd kits have obvious seamlines to clear.. mg kit (newer release) quality are getting better and better in terms of lesser seamlines and greater parts' separation for ease of painting (less masking)
My humble 2 cents

rathalos

New member of my collection...

zdbf.jpg

tarui04

how do you clear water from inside the air tank for airbrush? the hobbymate compressor with air tank i got from HAG has a lot of water inside.

the drain plug's position is not ideal at all because it takes hard shaking for any water to drip out of the drainage hole. even then, there's still quite a bit of water.

as a result, i discovered it had rusty water and there was quite a bit of rust inside at the bottom of the tank.

to remove the rust, i sprayed WD-40 and i am trying to drain the rust+oil out before letting it dry then powering it up again.

anhyeuem

how do you clear water from inside the air tank for airbrush? the hobbymate compressor with air tank i got from HAG has a lot of water inside.

the drain plug's position is not ideal at all because it takes hard shaking for any water to drip out of the drainage hole. even then, there's still quite a bit of water.

as a result, i discovered it had rusty water and there was quite a bit of rust inside at the bottom of the tank.

to remove the rust, i sprayed WD-40 and i am trying to drain the rust+oil out before letting it dry then powering it up again.

U need to fill up the tank with pressure than take out the plug while the other end use the airbrush to stop it going through out that side. The compressed air will flush the water out. Do it a few times with varing pressure.

Then install a filter before the airbrush. There is going to be rust in the system no matter how u purge unless u repaint the inside which is impossible.

Next time u shut down, fill up the tank and then flush using the plug. It's good practice.

My line of work involve this kind of thing.

tarui04

U need to fill up the tank with pressure than take out the plug while the other end use the airbrush to stop it going through out that side. The compressed air will flush the water out. Do it a few times with varing pressure.

Then install a filter before the airbrush. There is going to be rust in the system no matter how u purge unless u repaint the inside which is impossible.

Next time u shut down, fill up the tank and then flush using the plug. It's good practice.

My line of work involve this kind of thing.

now too late liao.

i dismantled the set, shone torchlight thru some of the openings and found a lot of rust inside, mostly at the bottom and at near 1 of the front ports (links to the regulator)

when i removed the rear safety valve, even the threads itself has some rust and on the outside of the tank near the threads.

i think, no point for me to remedy the situation. I was scrubbing the insides with a sharp metal wire to scrap away the rust then clean and dry it. after that, pour some primer inside to coat a layer of primer.

but after cleaning, i realised too much rust for me to clean. just going to use the airbrush until it spoils loh. unless I can get some acid to properly dissolve the rust away.

Blusttoy

Oooh Rathalos, that is a nice and sizeable addition to your collection! And TheGamer, cool build and I like the color of it hehe. But is it sticker or decal? Looks nice leh, the richness of the emblems.

I recently finished assembling the HGUC AGX-04 Gerbera Tetra and I must say, it's been quite some time since I truly enjoyed a build. It wasn't difficult, the nubs were well placed in terms of thinness and hiding, and the seamlines was minimum. The curvy design and build reminded me of HGUC Sazabi somewhat.

I loved the backpack and shoulder build was it was decently detailed and full of thrusters. Unfortunately, for those planning to assemble it, the shoulder connection to the torso is on a thin plastic frame. I broke mine and had to glue it. Praying it stays on!

HPrPrRa.jpg

AV0yhl3.jpg

au96Q8N.jpg

Time to get the RG GP01, Dendrobium Orchis and hopefully, a release of GP04. :eyespin:

ahJie89

Hi guys! Letting go MG wing zero, MG mk 2, MG freedom and MG strike. All new and unused. And letting go a red MG qubeley(used) FREE delivery to your placeif u buy all 4 boxes. Can throw a modelling kit free (abit old) hope to deal by today as i am free

thegamer1907

Oooh Rathalos, that is a nice and sizeable addition to your collection! And TheGamer, cool build and I like the color of it hehe. But is it sticker or decal? Looks nice leh, the richness of the emblems.

I recently finished assembling the HGUC AGX-04 Gerbera Tetra and I must say, it's been quite some time since I truly enjoyed a build. It wasn't difficult, the nubs were well placed in terms of thinness and hiding, and the seamlines was minimum. The curvy design and build reminded me of HGUC Sazabi somewhat.

I loved the backpack and shoulder build was it was decently detailed and full of thrusters. Unfortunately, for those planning to assemble it, the shoulder connection to the torso is on a thin plastic frame. I broke mine and had to glue it. Praying it stays on!

HPrPrRa.jpg

AV0yhl3.jpg

au96Q8N.jpg

Time to get the RG GP01, Dendrobium Orchis and hopefully, a release of GP04. :eyespin:

those are water slide decals that came with the kit.. but the quality is meh.
the actual color of the red is much deeper, my camera cannot capture the exact tone of it.

Ravenheart_

Hi guys, don't mind I ask here, I don't know of any other SG forum with gunpla modellers inside..

Anyone got notice of the Gundam Mid Year Campaign prizes? Filled in my address since august until now still no prize.. ><

Sinkie

hello all, sorry to distrupt this thread,

i was advice that experts working in those gundam painting service knows how to fill a broken ceramic broken figurine line, and do touch-up the paint, so that it looks continuous. can i ask any good painting shop to introduce in singapore and roughly the cost?

its good to drop by plamo forum as they have more experience in figure painting. I think MWS is probably the best place to drop by.

thanks bro..

aucheukyan

hello all, sorry to distrupt this thread,

i was advice that experts working in those gundam painting service knows how to fill a broken ceramic broken figurine line, and do touch-up the paint, so that it looks continuous. can i ask any good painting shop to introduce in singapore and roughly the cost?

its good to drop by plamo forum as they have more experience in figure painting. I think MWS is probably the best place to drop by.

Computeron

Generally, safe.:s12: i always ship one item. but do add in the price that can be caused by it size n weight. sometime after add in shipping charges, local more cheap.

ya i guess so, but most likely i've missed local pre-order...
but anyway CC haven charge since is a pre order.
But They can help me store the pre-order item for how long?
tinking of go CSC see whether got sell then compare price.

castafarian

ya i guess so, but most likely i've missed local pre-order...
but anyway CC haven charge since is a pre order.
But They can help me store the pre-order item for how long?
tinking of go CSC see whether got sell then compare price.
what u wanna buy? I'm getting some stuff over the next few days too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.