Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

n3v3rmind

Do u'll snapfit then spray paint or actually glue the parts together and sand before painting? Working on a 1/144 HG gundam wing zero I bought a decade back (yes its really a decade ago) and the seamlines are driving me mad.

For me, roughly should be:
1. Assemble loosely
2. Separate to different individual body parts
3. Glue.
4. File/ Sand.
5. Fill in seamlines with putty if required.
6. Sand.
7. Panel line scribing.
8. Prime
9. Airbrush.
10. Panel line.
11. Top coat.
12. Decal.
13. Assemble, pose.
14. Top coat.

thegamer1907

Do u'll snapfit then spray paint or actually glue the parts together and sand before painting? Working on a 1/144 HG gundam wing zero I bought a decade back (yes its really a decade ago) and the seamlines are driving me mad.

usually will do snapfit, and on the way doing sanding and glueing/putty for all parts. after that then tear apart to paint part by part before putting it back.

kenshinz

Thanks, was at hag sometime back and the guy there told me newer kits easier, less seam lines and can actually dun glue. Hope he not humoring me. Guess will find out when i finish the wing zero and start on the RG MK2 and the 1/144 Sinanju

kenshinz

Anyone kena rj london spray can bloating? Was spraying the white primer this afternoon after I was done and keeping my stuff i realised the base of the can was rounded, I.e instead of concave it is now a dome. Damn weird and it was not near any heat source. Threw the can away as scared it might explode and damn sian cos use abt 1/4 only

jarred1223

expensive lesson for me. buying overpriced tweezer when daiso sells for $2 /facepalm

gentoro

expensive lesson for me. buying overpriced tweezer when daiso sells for $2 /facepalm

Dun worry. We all did the same. Got at least 2 forceps and 2 tweezers - one expensive and one daiso version.

Sharp tiny small precision clipped - Last time daiso have it, very good and sharp but used until its blunt. Tried to buy from daiso recently, no more stock and so clippers i now buying the hardware shops (ladies nailing dept) at $5 each. Will take picture of clipper once free.

jarred1223

Dun worry. We all did the same. Got at least 2 forceps and 2 tweezers - one expensive and one daiso version.

Sharp tiny small precision clipped - Last time daiso have it, very good and sharp but used until its blunt. Tried to buy from daiso recently, no more stock and so clippers i now buying the hardware shops (ladies nailing dept) at $5 each. Will take picture of clipper once free.

hmm as of ytd at Plaza Sing daiso outlet I've seen 2 types of tweezers that are very sharp, but I'm not sure if good or not.

jinkamaza

Looking for ways to get parts. Any idea? I broke a leg part on the RX-78-2 ver 3.0
If anybody know or have extra laying around from kit bashing or mods PM me. Thanksss!

wanrong

Mmm on top of my head i can only remeber the genteikits they provide parts service replacement. But beware its not cheap exactly as they get the parts from bandai.

jinkamaza

Mmm on top of my head i can only remeber the genteikits they provide parts service replacement. But beware its not cheap exactly as they get the parts from bandai.

Ya understand but 1 part is preventing me from finishing it... Its the knee moving part with hook the hook has broken off and I tried everything cement use wire everything doesn't seem to want to stay in place, that part is too thin and precise... Hope anyone have extra laying around if not I would just have to llst order...

jazy1992

new hoot for this mth! :D:D

10304497_10152347206073726_1754715756394908549_n.jpg

lyj1990

Got my 1st PG 00 Raiser on sunday! Can't wait to work on it! But 1 of the GN drive is down. :(

Jhyun

Rate of production is severely lacking compared to rate of buying...
Must... not... buuyyyy....

jarred1223

think going to HAW to get it today lol.. Just completed HG RX-78 and itching to try another kit!

Blusttoy

I usually cut the pieces, clear the nubs, and if required, glue and sand/remove seams, before painting the pieces. I don't usually sand the surface in preparation for painting since I feel that the primer layer is enough. But maybe you wanna try the more intensive methods.

Oh my, I remember my HG 1/144 Wing Zero Custom kit and it was absolute hell. The wings are stiff and plain, not like the fluffy feather look, the seam lines runs across the front and back of every leg and hand and the most painful is probably trying to remove the seams :mad:

But it is a good kit to practise on; in terms of cutting, sanding, removing seam lines, masking for painting and if you're experienced, changing the elbows/knees and proportions. I ended up throwing mine away and getting the Robot Spirit :o

Currently in WIP, the worse kit I've ever assembled in terms of fitting but also the best kit in terms of details and having undergated runners. I love the FSS design but the kits are seriously vomit blood type.

aeH45PL.jpg

Erm to make it Gundam-related, obligatory recent completed kit:

KILP3mI.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.