[GVGT] A hawker meal is 0.1% of SG median monthly income, in other countries it’s 0.26%

hyperfuse

Hiring maids will only fasten the decrease in birth rate, and making people forgetting to live a life or taking care of the people including their own parents. Yes, I have a strong opinion against it, I will stop.
well. hiring maids is giving people from a 3rd world nation opportunities that they cant get in their own countries.

Be optimistic instead of a pessimist. Hiring maids can even increase birth rate, imagine gov giving more subsidies to married couples that have kids to hire maids. More will do so.

Can see you are negative. You do you. I am happy where i am. Cheers.

hardindex

Other country got minimum wages, Singapore got meh? Please vote idiot out

otakuflick

well. hiring maids is giving people from a 3rd world nation opportunities that they cant get in their own countries.

Be optimistic instead of a pessimist. Hiring maids can even increase birth rate, imagine gov giving more subsidies to married couples that have kids to hire maids. More will do so.

Can see you are negative. You do you. I am happy where i am. Cheers.

it's not about how much them can make back in the home town. You got the old time slave keeper thinking and mentality, hehehe.

hahahahahaha, in your dream

hyperfuse

it's not about how much them can make back in the home town. You got the old time slave keeper thinking and mentality, hehehe.

hahahahahaha, in your dream
you have your opinion. i have mine.

We are creating jobs for more people. You are living in the olden days la. It's ok, not associating with you anyway.

limpeh is happy. life is yours. you happy or not happy. limpeh also dont bother k.

All the best!

Chunchunmaru

Ah yes, the commonly employed government tactic of fallaciously stacking the deck.

Focus on that one aspect of life, the only one left to us that's "cheap" in context to salaries, then go on about how reasonable the cost of living in Singapore is. Literally everything else is not "cheap" by a long, long shot.

Come on guys, why are any of you still considering voting for a government that takes us for idiots?

Novitron

Erm.. to give an extreme example to highlight the ******** he spouted; ST just declared SG has 58 billionaires.. did his statistics use the declared income of these billionaires? How abt the rest of the millionaires and their declared income?
these top 1 to 10 percenters are more than enough to skew the median income level.. especially so when they are the ones that own a majority of the nations wealth.
It’s the same fallacy as saying: high net worth individuals boosts the economy via trickle down effect.. so die die must take care of billionaires/millionaires. . the reality is that they are too few and spend only within a small circle. ⭕️ in addition, they don’t spend ALL or most of their wealth.. it is locked up in investment, overseas bank savings, trusts etc.
In fact, It is the local broad middle class that grows the economy.
e.g: say u own a business selling pillows - and let’s say your country only has 58 billionaires and ZERO middle class… how many pillows u think these 58 billionaires will buy from you? At most need 2 pillows & 1 bed each to sleep at night.. your business ”boosted” by their consumption meh?
whereas the consumption of the broad middle class (who are in their millions) are the ones that drives the economy.. at most it is a branding exercise to “have 58 billionaires”..our country can show off.

sgggid

this kind of argument really jia SIA lol... 1 sided on cost. Wanna compare Malaysia, how about housing, transport, medical etc etc...

couch.potato

But there are people whose wages are nowhere near to the median figure.
They benchmark their things, is benchmarked pay with highest in the nation, but standard of work is benchmark with acceptable only.

they benchmark COL for citizens, is benchmark with cheapest option, and with middle-income pay.

Goalpost can keep changing as long as it fits their narrative. They are in their landed and GCB and eating restaurant everyday (which is 0.1% of their income la), asking you, you want to eat your meals in hawker center or restaurant?

and now your hawker center meal will be benchmarked by the $3.00-3.50 budget meal option. Don’t think about adding fish for your cai png or eating bah Kut teh, ok?

henghengonedragon

014564_de1c38e31e03404e9dd6142343ab964f~mv2.jpg

This was his previous hairstyle, suddenly so thick and no parting chiu don’t find it funny?
He needs a good wig or hair inplant.

lockks

Very sad to have such a mp in your GRC. No sense of logical thinking. No sense of what poverty is about. No sense of doing the right thing. Looks like u all voted someone who is trying to serve his own benefits more than the citizens.

The_Davis

of all the bluebird talk by them this year, this one tales the cake for dumbest **** of the generation. who tell you to liddat use median one?
This is the same as Gan Thiam Poh “give $1 to LHL”

charleslee1989

Very sad to have such a mp in your GRC. No sense of logical thinking. No sense of what poverty is about. No sense of doing the right thing. Looks like u all voted someone who is trying to serve his own benefits more than the citizens.
Lol, his constituents happens to be those in landed properties....

tanjhj

Not controlling landlords of public property is what's caused the inflation for mid to low income. Rent of hdb shops, n hawker, hdb kopitiam area should not be allowed to be traded like pte property.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.