[GVGT] A hawker meal is 0.1% of SG median monthly income, in other countries it’s 0.26%

ZETMAN

Imo why not is simply cuz no better alternative. Aiya no party / gov is perfect, ppl kpkb regardless but to vote them out must at least be grounded on better alternative.
i holds a different interpretation to this.

Why not is partially no better alternative, but at the same time what is the worst that can happen? Even if they are imbeciles, the most that they can achieve in this current setting even if they are in is doing nothing.

here is where things are pessimistic and tragic, I will vote for them in just because they will not do any other things to harm our interest.

Where no govt/party is perfect, the current govt/party doesnt really protect the interest of the local population.

So when topic arises, instead of finding actual solutions and/or addressing the concerns, the follow up actions/response gave off the vibes that they are treating the people like idiots.

Hence, this is why I find it challenging to align my values with the current party/govt. They are simply ridding on the good name and efforts that the pioneer batch led by LKY where they do things for the national and people's interest.

chaiscool

i holds a different interpretation to this.

Why not is partially no better alternative, but at the same time what is the worst that can happen? Even if they are imbeciles, the most that they can achieve in this current setting even if they are in is doing nothing.

here is where things are pessimistic and tragic, I will vote for them in just because they will not do any other things to harm our interest.

Where no govt/party is perfect, the current govt/party doesnt really protect the interest of the local population.

So when topic arises, instead of finding actual solutions and/or addressing the concerns, the follow up actions/response gave off the vibes that they are treating the people like idiots.

Hence, this is why I find it challenging to align my values with the current party/govt. They are simply ridding on the good name and efforts that the pioneer batch led by LKY where they do things for the national and people's interest.
You can't know if they won't harm sg.

I do agree on gov treating ppl like idiots though. See the war on drugs, gaslighting ppl about dangers of weed like ppl cannot simply google and know it's BS. The likes of alcohol, cigarettes and even gambling more harmful to ppl yet sg will hang ppl over weed.

tatsit

University never teach the whites in Parliament NOT to analyze things just by using one factor, unless it is to hide other facts, or for their propaganda purpose.
it is because they know majority of sinkies are not degree graduates, that they can use such tactics

in fact, even majority of our degree grads are dumb enough to believe.

blurpandasg2014

Errr nearby countries have lower disposable income vs sg, obviously as a % will be higher ?

Why mp never compare car, housing prices with nearby countries ?
Singapore
Public 4rm bto = $450,000 = 90x income
Car = $150,000 = 30x income

Malaysia
Public 4rm = $100,000 (estimate) = 50x income
Car = $30,000 = 15x income

Vincentlow82

First, he has to define what he meant by hawker meal.

Next, he has to confirm whether "hawkers" in nearby countries operate from hawker centres built with taxpaper money.

Thirdly, does the "neighbouring countries" has such high % of foreign PMETs who bump up media wage but do not eat 2-3 meals at heartland hawker centres?

The fact is we have 1.4 million adult Singaporeans making $0 to $34K p.a. i.e. $0 to $2.8K per month while our median wage is $5.2K per month.

Want to charge high please go kopitiam/ foodcourt/ malls/ shophouses... like our "neighbouring countries".
I think he can get a hawker meal plus drink for $2 or less.

treeskull

If u studied statistics before u know anything can be doctored to suit the hypothesis

Eliwood

Likewise, most ppl never go through university and get proper statistics knowledge drilled into their heads (even if they do).

Even if we do, what would most do? Most ppl still want to jiak their DTF, go jiak hong overseas annually, HDB upgrades, GST vouchers...

Gahmen is just using this discrepancy to (try) skew sentiments to their advantage. It is simply ignorance and/or unwillingness to change the status quo; because of how they are inculcated, they can't see an alternate future without the Whites at the helm.

Wats the future that oppos are proposing?

I recall lower economic growth with lower population growth being one. Not much else that i can rmb...

wwenze

Oppo propose government can save money by not buying old accounts that magically become very active after covid

Belle69

Hawker food? Highest rate of T2D and hypertension worldwide

Wilberttt

It just shows PAP MP have very little empathy of the hardships of the common citizen.

Statistics can be twisted to suit whichever agenda but their hard denial of the problems faced by the common citizen is appalling.

Issuing CDC vouchers yearly or twice a year is not sustainable in the long run. There are plenty of bills to pay and increase in taxes are applied exponentially across every aspect of lives, not just food.

The coldness of the message of comparing meal affordability with monthly median income with whichever Asian neighbouring country Just proves their dead set denial.

How can we trust that our concerns are important and will be met?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.