GVGT - Big fiery accident at KPE towards TPE at Nicoll Highway Entrance. Fire burn very big.

lalalalalala

Why nobody suspect it was the car's braking system faulty? :unsure:
do you know how difficult it is for brakes to fail? even if your car uses electronic brake the fallback is always a hydraulic linkage from your brake pedal to the brake caliper clamping on the rotor.

unless you tell me someone go deliberately cut the brake lines at which point you won't be travelling at that kind of speed on the rightmost lane, because you'd notice it almost immediately at any stop light or on normal roads outside the expressway. even if you so heng to green light all the way from your parking lot to the expressway without braking, you'll be trying to shift to the shoulder and slow down by rubbing against the guide rail. also this is a porsche, i'm very sure there are gear controls to engine brake via paddle shift

pwongkk

The fixed cameras are pretty useless these days , the sports cars and EVs can easily speed to 100+ within a few secs, jam brake at the cameras/ overhead bridges then 0-150 again. The authorities need to find new ways of enforcing the law. Also keep officers from getting killed, eg. the officer chasing the bike last year.
ERP2 OBU is the best device next. It's whether Tp or LTA want to implement nia.

Very sure TP will say device is under LTA, they do not have the rights to access.

Canis Lupus

petrol fires start very fast & very hot. i know because i lighted petrol on fire, again as a school kid. diesel doesn't burn under normal presssure and temperature, but given excess heat from a fire, diesel can burn as well
Even more so then an LPG injection system is involved. LPG spiking can increase petroleum octane rating, soother combustion in the engines thus less knocking and cleaner burn.

Elfblade

do you know how difficult it is for brakes to fail? even if your car uses electronic brake the fallback is always a hydraulic linkage from your brake pedal to the brake caliper clamping on the rotor.

unless you tell me someone go deliberately cut the brake lines at which point you won't be travelling at that kind of speed on the rightmost lane, because you'd notice it almost immediately at any stop light or on normal roads outside the expressway. even if you so heng to green light all the way from your parking lot to the expressway without braking, you'll be trying to shift to the shoulder and slow down by rubbing against the guide rail. also this is a porsche, i'm very sure there are gear controls to engine brake via paddle shift
Guess it was really due to speeding/reckless driving then.

lalalalalala

Fast & Furious, i think after missing the motorcyclist he WOT (wide open throttle) for the corner, fully committed. I think he probably spun at the bend before breaching the side metal barriers.

Need another vid closer to the bend to roughly guesstimate the speed, but for sure vs the other cars/motorcyclists that this Porsche Carerra was overtaking, it isn't below 100kmh. Absolutely no way.

It would be great if the other (black) car closer to the bend could share his/her dashcam vid.

Bonus, 30 mins prior to the Nicoll highway accident

i estimate 160 to 180 at least. the speed he fly thru AFTER crashing thru the barrier is at least 100km/h

songboh9696

another possiblity is that he was high on drugs... but i guess we will never know unless there are evidences.

brake fail , still can manoeuvre the car.. can down shift to try to engine brake.

this is like some emergency drill that everyone should go through before you drive. down to things like emergency getting out of your car ..

similar to those currency drills aviation aircrew goes through.

of course if safety is not your highest priority, then just pray hard you are not the 1 in 100000 incident rate.

just came out of jail after 20 yrs?
now auto transmission cars still can recommend downshift gear to engine break?
1) not all auto cars have the option to manual shift gears option.
2) in such emergencies, you apply brake and it doesn't work, straight away you panic liao and need to navigate the car to avoid collision. Most people would react by keep foot pumping the brake pedal hoping it will work somehow, only those keyboard warriors will horse over canon suggest down shifting of gears, engine brake etc..

Ya, if you driving in the malaysia north south highway, with cars distances away, yeah can engine brake to stoo the car at road shoulders.

Canis Lupus

Actually quite shiok to learn that he was screaming for his life while trapped and burning. These kind of people totally deserve their fate. No sympathy needed. Same as the Tanjong Pagar crash.
To be fair, even if want to help have to make sure one is well protected from the flames first. A car having fire blankets on standby is a super rare likelihood. Anyway some things are meant to happen, I'd say this is one of those incidents.

luffix7

I’m On the way to raffles

Nicoll highway in the other direction to Geylang jammed up all the way to suntec

Saw 3 fire engines and ambulance stuck not moving…confirm cannot reach the accident site on time

Anyone know what happened?

its the cursed highway

Canis Lupus

Evidence, if any, all kena burnt away.
At best investigators can draw blood from the body for drug testing..but at this point is kinda moot. From what I read, blood still can be drawn from and tested despite a charred body like that.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
sad :/

trapped in a burning vehicle yet cant get any help from the ppl outside as it's not possible to

even if others had kept a fire extinguisher in their car's boot, it's not gonna be that fast or risky even?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.