[GVGT] Camcar video of Katong incident

Dilemma6

Argument is that the car overtakes the cyclist in the next lane, not even close to the cyclist. Why is the cyclist making a big fuss out of nothing?

Cyclist are like woman
Everything also must give way + let them win

They ride dangerously = you have to tahan or else is your fault
They slow = you have to tahan or else is your fault
They kpkb = you have to tahan or else is your fault
They do **** thing = you have to tahan or else is your fault
They climb on your hood and delay your class = you have to tahan or else is your fault

In before AWARE report me :cry:

One Month Notice

Exactly how fast you expect the cyclist to cycle?
I also wish every other slowpoke driver can go faster and don't hold up driving traffic, but when I encounter one I also have to suck thumb and either slow down so as not to bang them or filter safely to get past them..

Isn't this normal expectation for everyone? I imagine that if I have the right to cut people off just because they are going slower than I like, I would be cutting people off left and right all the time.

Like it or not, we all share the road. Fast and slow alike..
How slow u expect motorist to go ? I wish every cyclist can dismount and push their bicycle when they are on a busy road and not impede other road users. But now when i encounter a slow cyclist that dun dismount and potentially threaten me and cause accident. I have to overtake him in another lane which given that the road js busy already make it dangerous or mot possible. Making the traffic jam worse.

Isn't it normal for cyclist to just dismount at a busy road or know they are blocking traffic if they value safety of their owe life and are considerate for other road users? Isn't this normal expectation of everyone ?

I imagine if cyclist have right to block everyone and make a scene, I would have the right to block them, horn them and overtake them all the time ?

Like it or not, fast or slow, cyclist with such mentality it'd just a matter of time fatal accident happen. Maybe the driver goes to jail but the cyclist will be dead. It's the same logic why car avoid heavy vehicle. Coz right or wrong share road or not, if lorry hit a car , car lose.

kelhot2001

So in future, no happy like the Bentley vs security guard case, block the driver?

Pasir Ris lorry vs cyclist, lorry suffers more from the outcome
If the cyclist block her and police come, lady motorist stay put, only the cyclist will be charged. If the lady driver later file a civil suit for loss of income due to cyclist blocking her way, compensation from cyclist

maikumgong

It is perfectly legal. And it is safer for cyclists. In the States and UK, it is very normal to see the AMDK rides in the middle of the road (slowest lane lah). They don't risk themselves squeezing in between 2 cars, or riding uncomfortable keeping to the left side all the time.

My AMDK friend said our cyclists ( or motorcyclists ) are risking their life by riding on the left side or squeezing between 2 cars. Now I feel what he said make sense.

A motorcycle also can ride in the middle of the lane.

If you know you are amateur, better stay on the PCN.
If you can cycle as fast as a motorcycle. Dont think anyone will make noise. Your ang mo may be laughing behind your back why you have no critica thinking and they can smoke you easily

siaolang, compare motorbike with bicycle because they are all 2 wheels? Rider passed TP k and they are legitimate user on the road.

can I rollerblade on the road? I have 8 wheels in total. Only crane and trailer can fight me

WuRenJi

I have a feeling the idiot cyclist wanted to go straight instead of turning in. That's why she angry kena cut off.

In the first place if u going straight, u not supposed to be on that left turn only lane.

sacrificium

How slow u expect motorist to go ? I wish every cyclist can dismount and push their bicycle when they are on a busy road and not impede other road users. But now when i encounter a slow cyclist that dun dismount and potentially threaten me and cause accident. I have to overtake him in another lane which given that the road js busy already make it dangerous or mot possible. Making the traffic jam worse.

Isn't it normal for cyclist to just dismount at a busy road or know they are blocking traffic if they value safety of their owe life and are considerate for other road users? Isn't this normal expectation of everyone ?

I imagine if cyclist have right to block everyone and make a scene, I would have the right to block them, horn them and overtake them all the time ?

Like it or not, fast or slow, cyclist with such mentality it'd just a matter of time fatal accident happen. Maybe the driver goes to jail but the cyclist will be dead. It's the same logic why car avoid heavy vehicle. Coz right or wrong share road or not, if lorry hit a car , car lose.
Look at how the Nicolette reacted, you know that they can’t be bothered to share the road.

sacrificium

If the cyclist block her and police come, lady motorist stay put, only the cyclist will be charged. If the lady driver later file a civil suit for loss of income due to cyclist blocking her way, compensation from cyclist
Hmm, based on the article, seems like Nicolette Tan Shi-en is a lawyer, not easy to get compensation from her. Can tell from the video that she is damn arrogant. Will make life difficult for others.

Courage

Dono why cyclist like to quote a meaningless highway code when they don't observe any road traffic law, like running red light. All cyclists run red light

sacrificium

All these tour de France cyclist on the road all have one thing in common: They are self entitled and don't care about others. They live in a world that revolves around them.

I'm a cyclist myself, cycle at PCN and I can't bring myself to cycle on the road knowing that I'm causing lot's of inconvenience to other road users, even when keeping to the left at all time.

At the end of the day, these people cycle for their own enjoyment at the expense of others. To do it on a busy day, blocking taffic at a busy road (katong) and not feel shameful of it is another level of self entitlement.

Any friends of that cyclist, I advise you to reconsider your friendship and distance yourself from her.
Not everyone is as considerate as you.

Laofuzi67

i wonder y govn dun wanna do anything about these cyclists

it sure sounds as if road traffic laws and vehicle laws/regulations only apply to cars and motors/lorries/vans now

these cyclists are using the road and causing accidents then they just cycle away

even if car buang them cus of their blatant defiance of the law, they are often not punished by the law for causing accidents
The Govt is the one who allow them to cycle across the crossings/traffic lights
Old law they need to dismount and push
You know how fast these buggers Chiong across
Most drivers dun have time to react
One moment you check clear next moment one kamakaze cyclist Chiong across

not to mention many idiots cross the crossing and halfway turn to join the road back
Suka suka ride pavement suka suka ride on road and dun get me started on those who goes against traffic

why Govt so sayang these cyclists

kelhot2001

Hmm, based on the article, seems like Nicolette Tan Shi-en is a lawyer, not easy to get compensation from her. Can tell from the video that she is damn arrogant. Will make life difficult for others.
The lawyer first question is always do you have enough money to waste to sue someone. If yes, then ok, if no then forget it

Laofuzi67

Illegal but no action can be taken onto them; TP not around every time and civillian cannot arrest these errant cyclist. Eben if liport polis also got what use; only waste your effort to even bother with these nonsense. The cyclists know the law cant do anything to them
Motorists need to pass driving and theory tests to get the right to be on the road. Need go observe traffic rules else there are heavy penalties
Need to pay Road tax COE what not
Cyclists subject to what laws? How to enforce?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.