GVGT - Uncle kpkb about costs of living in SG. Says last time $5 can last for 2 days and 1 pack hoon kee costs only 60cents...

diequick

Inflation can oni explain part of it. The prices he quoted maybe pre-1980s? In economics, ideally always want a 2% inflation? so lets assume we get 2% inflation, rule of 72, 36 yrs to double. 4% 18 years. so lets assume 1970 to 2024. 54 years. 30 cent noodles in 1970, 1988 0.60. 2006 1.20. 2024 is 2.40
i.e. did prices have really run ahead of inflation?

Idk how 30cents noodles look like, 50 cents one, just ketchup, fish ball/fish cake nia with spring onions probably. No minced meat. The hawkers today can probably still do the 30 cents noodles equivalent at 2.40 today, but confirm cannot survive to pay the rent.

Ciggies is bcos of sin tax, so using it for comparison is not that gd.

fortunehunter

Last time uncle earn 4000, now he smelly earn 12k.
His salary increases why hawker cannot increase

fortunehunter

To be fair the figures will never stay stagnant. Its true that salary has increased say 10x since boomer younger days till now, but during this same period the cost of food has gone up 20x, hdb up 30x, car up 50x. If it happen to u, sure u won't complain?

20 years ago I started work after my ns I earn about 1800 doing data entry.
Now 2024 may be data entry give you 2300 ?

Alphas

Cost of living is not rising, it’s your currency getting worthless over time due to inflation.

sumire

why do people always assume that older people vote for PAP? ageist?
I am in my 60s and I have never once in my life voted for them.

megaweb

Last time is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.

weng0202

Last time last time, he got say last time he earn how much per month?

sporeknight76

uncle didn't know LAST TIME police wear short ????🥴
He living in which hole all along? He nvr heard of inflation?
knn then ask him to go back to 1980s la
His mindset still in 80s.
Can he sell me his flat at last time prices ?
😀 The interviewer shld ask him tat. If he sold his flat at last time price, will he want the cost of living like last time too? Knn, bet he doesnt. Tis type wants best of both.
low ses ..

talk also so animated and the gesturing will be considered quite rude in most countries..

talk jiu talk, dont point here point there
Lao hero era ma. Talk can come out 1 castle.

sporeknight76

For most of us here, ... PAP or Opposition/WP supporters, ... how many of us have not benefitted from the policies of the Govt.?
Really? U felt tat gov giving the handouts is beneficial to most of us? 🤔🤦
Last time is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.
U speak w a sense of idioms. Well said. 💪

batman_888

End of the day tat uncle will still vote MIW. Then after that kaopeh, repeat until he die

nyvrem

unker living under which rock on which island?

:crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.