Has my iMac uplorried?

derrickgoh

Have a 2013 imac which has been functioning fine. Last used last weekend.

Tried turning it on this morning & it took forever to start up. Much slower than normal, not that it was speedy to begin with. Was literally at least 5 mins!

After boot up everything took MUCH longer than normal. Even simply firing up safari which eventually hung.

I booted up in recovery mode & used disk tools to check but nothing wrong. So I tried to restart & it was the same. Decided to restore a previously saved boot camp backup. Which sadly didnt work. Boot up took ages again & again starting safari took ages.

I am guessing its time for my imac to surrender ic?

Edit: just tried again & im stuck at the black start up screen for over 20 mins & counting!

derrickgoh

Sounds like too much junk on your Mac.

I had the same problem with the Mac mini I was given.

Turns out the previous owner did nothing to maintain it...
I remove all the crap files it it works better now.
https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/mac/speed-up-slow-mac-3636548/%3famp

Usually pc either just work or don't work. Slowdown only means too much junk
Problem now is it cant even boot up to normal screen let alone format. I dunno if it’s coincidence but last wk apparently there was power trip at home. Imac was off but dunno if that somehow fried something.

I mean too much junk possible lah but last sat still ok leh.

squarepipe

Problem now is it cant even boot up to normal screen let alone format. I dunno if it’s coincidence but last wk apparently there was power trip at home. Imac was off but dunno if that somehow fried something.

I mean too much junk possible lah but last sat still ok leh.
try booting into linux on your mac to see if its osx or hardware broken?

https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/mac/how-install-linux-on-mac-3637265/

use the boot from usb method

this link seems more appropriate
https://www.howtogeek.com/213396/how-to-boot-a-linux-live-usb-drive-on-your-mac/

derrickgoh

try booting into linux on your mac to see if its osx or hardware broken?

https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/mac/how-install-linux-on-mac-3637265/

use the boot from usb method

this link seems more appropriate
https://www.howtogeek.com/213396/how-to-boot-a-linux-live-usb-drive-on-your-mac/
Thanks man but if i cant even get into my normal screen, how do i do all that? Lol! Now its as though i have no imac since it cant boot up normally & give me my usual screen where i can do anything. And no sadly i dont have a spare pc or mac.

squarepipe

Thanks man but if i cant even get into my normal screen, how do i do all that? Lol

You got a spare pc to flash a usb thumb drive?

Boot from usb no need to go inside macOS. It can be done from bootup.

Edit I think if you have a usb to phone size usb adaptor, you can use your phone to flash the usb thumb drive. Not sure of that though as I never done like that before

Another method I have heard of is you can use a your phone as a boot up disk for you Mac to run Linux.

Both method need an Android phone as Apple iPhone won't let you do advanced stuff

derrickgoh

You got a spare pc to flash a usb thumb drive?

Boot from usb no need to go inside macOS. It can be done from bootup.

Edit I think if you have a usb to phone size usb adaptor, you can use your phone to flash the usb thumb drive. Not sure of that though as I never done like that before

Another method I have heard of is you can use a your phone as a boot up disk for you Mac to run Linux.

Both method need an Android phone as Apple iPhone won't let you do advanced stuff
Seeing i only have iphone i guess im pretty much screwed

Chevalier

If u have an external hdd or ssd, ssd recommended, you can do this.

1. Connect the ssd

2. Recovery mode

3. Disk utility and format the external drive

4. Install mac os on the external drive.

It'll work perfectly and u should still be able to access the data in your old drive.

Gluck!

derrickgoh

Booted up in recovery mode, formatted the HDD & reinstalled high sierra from the internet. I assume it was trying to start after downloading but AGAIN it stuck at black start up screen w apple logo showing start up status almost full but then stall for over an hour!!! Exact same problem as before.

If even a reformat followed by reinstall of mac os cant do it, i guess it really uplorry liao!

Edit: ok so apparently it DOES take forever to install high sierra! It has now been reinstalled & im copying my docs, pics & vids from time machine back to my imac. Will reinstall other apps & hopefully it doesnt kick the bucket again!

dryteletubby

Booted up in recovery mode, formatted the HDD & reinstalled high sierra from the internet. I assume it was trying to start after downloading but AGAIN it stuck at black start up screen w apple logo showing start up status almost full but then stall for over an hour!!! Exact same problem as before.

If even a reformat followed by reinstall of mac os cant do it, i guess it really uplorry liao!

Edit: ok so apparently it DOES take forever to install high sierra! It has now been reinstalled & im copying my docs, pics & vids from time machine back to my imac. Will reinstall other apps & hopefully it doesnt kick the bucket again!

My guess is you have a dying HDD. Try installing a HDD scanner app and see if you have any bad sectors. If that takes too long, flash a Linux distro on a usb and use Linux to test your Mac HDD

derrickgoh

My guess is you have a dying HDD. Try installing a HDD scanner app and see if you have any bad sectors. If that takes too long, flash a Linux distro on a usb and use Linux to test your Mac HDD
Yeah, even now its taking forever to copy 15gb of photos from usb hdd to mac. Also, safari is slow as fug & when its not hanging, the internet speeds are shiat.

Even opening intego virus scan dmg file takes forever! Apple app store also load & load & take ages. Install intego also take ages & its less than 100mb! Guess im better of waiting for Mojave to be released & preloaded on the imacs then order a new imac.

dryteletubby

Yeah, even now its taking forever to copy 15gb of photos from usb hdd to mac. Also, safari is slow as fug & when its not hanging, the internet speeds are shiat.

Even opening intego virus scan dmg file takes forever! Apple app store also load & load & take ages. Install intego also take ages & its less than 100mb! Guess im better of waiting for Mojave to be released & preloaded on the imacs then order a new imac.

Just take you iMac to a repair shop ba.. no need to throw away the whole machine when possibily just 1 part spoil..

squarepipe

Ya lor go repair your mac instead. At least your generation imac should have replacable ram / HDD etc. The new Imacs all cannot be replaced by the user one.

mroneder

Your problem sounded the same as mine which was eventually found to be HDD failure.

I diy replaced my HDD with SSD on my 2013 iMac last December. You can buy the SSD and upgrade kit from OWC

derrickgoh

Any shop to recommend? Got so many dunno which one more experienced & not cut throat.

squarepipe

Any shop to recommend? Got so many dunno which one more experienced & not cut throat.

I see sim lim got quite alot of shops repairing iMac. Alot of them display the dissambled iMac at the shop front. Quite cool to see. not sure which one reputable. You should try asking on the hardware thread?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.