hat yai VS chiang mai/rai

Andrew833

thinking of bringing my elderly mum sometime next year for a road trip.

She told me things have changed pretty much in Hat yai while i'm more keen in chiang mai/rai.

I did some goggle on hat yai, seem kinda boring and not much attractions.

We have been to hua yin, khao kho etc.
intend to do the same, rent a car and drive around.

some sharing and suggestion please (y)
I think you should ask her, whether she want shopping trip or attraction trip. I think her answer will save you lot of time considering ;)
Btw khao yai is nice getaway place and near to BKK to end the trip with some shopping. Ops you been Khao Yai liao.

kurt_629

I think you should ask her, whether she want shopping trip or attraction trip. I think her answer will save you lot of time considering ;)
Btw khao yai is nice getaway place and near to BKK to end the trip with some shopping. Ops you been Khao Yai liao.

yea, khao kho, yai been there.

thats why wanna try something different.
hearsay the best time to go chiang mai is 4th quarter as the weather will be cool.

Andrew833

hearsay the best time to go chiang mai is 4th quarter as the weather will be cool.
Yes, Chiang Mai cool season is from Oct to Jan.
I think you been to many places in Thailand liao, not easy to plan unless you want to go again.

Andrew833

Yesterday read news, Bangkok flood very jialat, Chao Phraya River overflow.

BlackCube

so many tortured souls there still dare to visit :eek:

need to go find good brothers lo

iirc, they have some yearly event, if you go around those dates, should be more memorable.
kan itself also got yearly event at the city river there, super big scale night market + the show by the river.

rrr2015

need to go find good brothers lo

iirc, they have some yearly event, if you go around those dates, should be more memorable.
kan itself also got yearly event at the city river there, super big scale night market + the show by the river.
:ROFLMAO: no thanks! just another commercial event

BlackCube

eh, it's not IMO. the hellfire one yes (it's for vet), but not the city river one

rrr2015

eh, it's not IMO. the hellfire one yes (it's for vet), but not the city river one
such serious event surely will have restrictions. they can't allow fun loving carefree tourists to create mess right?

BlackCube

can't recall the exact details of the event, I might be wrong though. didn't go google.

people who go will not make mess, people who make mess will not probably not go for this kind of event. 🤣

Andrew833

I went in late Jan, in the city is cooling (like on aircon) very shiok.
Early morning need to wear jacket, I think arund 20 degree.
Went up mountains lowest 5 degree, when the sun come up, temperature drop to 20+.
Lot of shopping in Chiang Mai too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.