HDB Essential-Occupiers Scheme

NeedHeIp

Does anyone know more information about it?

HDB's website doesn't seem to have much information regarding it.

Basically with this scheme a couple can avoid ABSD when MOP is up?

NeedHeIp

Don’t think it can work
Like that I could use my own name to apply and put aunty polar as essential occupier
I thought HDB require a family nucleus to apply or singles above 35

Why don’t we look at how to sell 1 HDB buy 2 EC instead?

Actually after I posted I went ahead and asked my friends who're working in HDB, they said it's possible but your loan/grant profile will only be based on the OWNER, the occupier is just there to form the nucleus required to apply for the house.

Theoretically possible
But practically very hard
Aunty polar wouldn’t be able to sleep if her name is not listed as owner:o:o

Well then if housewife no salary no income how to get loan to buy 2nd property leh?
Won’t affect most people gar lar
On paper is feasible but in practice seldom usable

NeedHeIp

What if both earn $13k monthly?
Can still apply for HDB this way?
Use 1 head $13k as income to pay for HDB
the other head as occupier

I tried to input the numbers into HDB loan calculator and it seems that even though the occupier's income is not relevant with regards to the loan/grant, but income ceiling is still there. Hahaha

Therefore really no point
Not a Sensical lobang

If the no income person is cash rich then he better doesn’t waste time on HDB go direct to fry condo better

No, the ceiling is based on household income.

Yar lor
So if income within ceiling
Then the loan max out probably need both heads so must list as both owners
Max out loan get the biggest best 5rm then MOP up can sell off for a million mah
Don’t think about decouple

NeedHeIp

Yar lor
So if income within ceiling
Then the loan max out probably need both heads so must list as both owners
Max out loan get the biggest best 5rm then MOP up can sell off for a million mah
Don’t think about decouple

Think people that can really make use of such scheme probably won't sell their HDB but instead buy a new priv property and live in it without being slapped 12% for ABSD and at the same time can rent out their HDB to cover mortgage.

Sinkie

Can a married couple, both age 35, sell their bto, then buy a hdb under single scheme or family nucleus wife n kid, then husband buy condo to avoid absd?

NeedHeIp

Can a married couple, both age 35, sell their bto, then buy a hdb under single scheme or family nucleus wife n kid, then husband buy condo to avoid absd?

Theoretically speaking I think you can? But you'll have to factor in the resale levy from selling your first BTO as well as accrued interest from your CPF.

- After selling 1st BTO, purchase 2nd under Essential-Occupier scheme, using wife's profile for loan, husband occupier.

- Purchase priv property using husband's profile without paying ABSD.

i might be wrong about this though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.