HDB grants

babyrobo

Is it worth it to take the govt grants and pay back compounded interests on these grants when selling away the flat (be it bto or resale) ? I don't have a background in investing so likely no passive income via investing so I doubt I can make money from the stock market.

hwmook

Of course it's worth it. Free money. You sell away flat also pay back to your own CPF which you can use again.

dork32

stay in it forever. so no need to pay back.

dont buy second bto, no need to pay back

ProLogic

Dontch take those grants for granted. Just take and use for house!

babyrobo

stay in it forever. so no need to pay back.

dont buy second bto, no need to pay back

Due to affordability and job is unstable at the moment, am thinking of getting a smaller place first. Might or might not move in the near future. Bto is only in non-matured estate plus have to topup $15K extra in purchase price for singles. If buying resales, have to pay a premium for reno and location. Am quite unsure which I shld go for :(

dork32

Compounded interests payable so am wondering what is the breakeven point

dont have to worry about that. you need a place to stay. as long as you can afford the monthly installment, the home will be yours one day.

dork32

Due to affordability and job is unstable at the moment, am thinking of getting a smaller place first. Might or might not move in the near future. Bto is only in non-matured estate plus $15K extra for singles. If buying resales, have to pay a premium for reno and location. Am quite unsure which I shld go for :(

it does not matter what you get, you must get the govt grants.

you have stated main advantages for both resale and bto. only you can decide which one you is best for you.

antonpoh

Is it worth it to take the govt grants and pay back compounded interests on these grants when selling away the flat (be it bto or resale) ? I don't have a background in investing so likely no passive income via investing so I doubt I can make money from the stock market.

Depend on how much you can loan. First home usually won't be your last so better don't take any grants.

If can afford and have to choose between BTO in non mature estate or resale in mature estate, I would choose hdb in mature estate. But if you work near non mature estate, then go buy a EC near it also can.

Btw, investing don't need background.

badsector

i dun understand ur concerns

take grant, when sell hdb. u return the 15k+interest to urself
dun take grant, u loan xtra 15k from hdb/bank. and pay them interest u wont see again forever..

ur choice

antonpoh

anfielder

dork32

dork32

i dun understand ur concerns

take grant, when sell hdb. u return the 15k+interest to urself
dun take grant, u loan xtra 15k from hdb/bank. and pay them interest u wont see again forever..

ur choice

he concerned about paying back the 15k when selling the home.

babyrobo

he concerned about paying back the 15k when selling the home.

I am not eligible for grant as I don't have continuous 12mths employment. Was retrenched.

The 15K is extra topup money that singles need to pay when purchasing a bto :(

Ttguns

Hi can anyone pls answer my burning question.

My bro grant is in the midst of approval.
If say I get the grant, it goes into my cpf account. Does it earn interest in the 4 years that my house is being built?

Also my grant has been taking very long to be approved. 5 months soon. Anybody faces the same issue?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.