HDB prices

dork32

I dun understand this statement. Now its like 80% or more(9am - 930am start work) of people arriving at the same time at around the same place, and you are complaining about only 40% ?

yes 40% is better than 80%. but is it good enough?

if 400k people work in cbd, 40% of the people arrive within a half hr period is terrible.

antonpoh

I do not see any improvement if the time only range from from 7.45am vs 8.30am.This will not work as the timings are too close to make any difference.

The spread should be larger, say 7.00am to 10:30am and if possible, if people want to work night shift, allow them. Assume 20% opt for night shift, eg from 1pm to 9pm, you can immediately see 20% crowd dissappear from morning rush.

Cause you don't drive. Let say a person start work at 7.45am and left his house at 7.15am from amk. The other that starts work at 8.30am and leaves home at 7.30am from amk will never meet on the same road.

dork32

It's easy.. those town outside the cbd, just draw those 3 color zone where the the ones in the middle start work first.

If 40% in a single time is huge, can split it into another 2 timing.. each only 20%.

Then we don't need COE or ERP to control the traffic. Maybe only for weekends in the CBD area.

how are going to zone the whole island? do you want to implement this at the schools as well, such that the road at around 7 am is clear? Maybe you can suggest P1 and 2 start at 6.30, P3 and 4 starts 7.00, P5 and 6 starts at 7.30.

this is too much micro managing. how are you going to implement? how are you going to enforce? It is never going to work.

though i do not support our garmen, they are not stupid. they have tried quite a lot to try to solve these problems

eg free off-peak travel,
starting new regional center away from the core central areas
building more lanes on the expressways etc
not to mention erp and coe

antonpoh

how are going to zone the whole island? do you want to implement this at the schools as well, such that the road at around 7 am is clear? Maybe you can suggest P1 and 2 start at 6.30, P3 and 4 starts 7.00, P5 and 6 starts at 7.30.

this is too much micro managing. how are you going to implement? how are you going to enforce? It is never going to work.

though i do not support our garmen, they are not stupid. they have tried quite a lot to try to solve these problems

eg free off-peak travel,
starting new regional center away from the core central areas
building more lanes on the expressways etc
not to mention erp and coe

Problems are best to solve one at a time. Let's say doing it for CBD, like you say 40% was to big so reduce it to 20%.

Best to work on all the CBD and industrial/office area first. When everything is settle down and working well, then we can move to work on schools.

Schools are more easy cause they're spread out. Of cause I know we do seen 3 school all side by side before. Example can have P1-2 at 7:30am, P3-4 at 7.45am and P5-6 at 8am.

Perisher

Thank all for staying cordial and respectful of other's ideas.
Really enjoy reading the discussion.
This deserves a new thread, maybe something along government planning.

antonpoh

Thank all for staying cordial and respectful of other's ideas.
Really enjoy reading the discussion.
This deserves a new thread, maybe something along government planning.

Now I just hope gahmen will take out some of the cooling measure so that more people can buy EC. If not I'm stuck with a resale hdb.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.