HDB Question

cleverman

Should I fully pay up my BTO now or slowly pay it finish.

I left around 90K, but both wife and me have around 40K each in our CPF account.

Will keeping it in CPF earn more interest for me or clear finish my loans then slowly build up my CPF be better...

depends, you using HDB Loan or Bank loan now?

1982-1994

Use $20K OA to invest some stocks with at least 6% dividend,not only to cover 2.6% HDB interest and 2.5% annual interest but also to tide you over retrenchment

jericho75

if not selling, no point paying off

compare opp costs.
cpf loan is 2.6%
interest on cash is 3 to 4%

as long as i can get better returns more than 2.6%, why will i use cash to pay off?

if i use 90k pay right now. i lose the interest of 4% on the 90k? just to avoid paying 2.6% interest?

doesnt make sense right brother

where u get interest on cash 3-4%?

Nemesis_lane123

I left around 90K, but both wife and me have around 40K each in our CPF account.

Will keeping it in CPF earn more interest for me or clear finish my loans then slowly build up my CPF be better...
Bro recently nearing 40. More of my frens became retrenched. I myself division this year May 25 looking to close down and my boss told me the 3 of us in our team better start looking out.

Thankfully our hse almost fully paid n we have more than FRS n BHS in our acct.

I told my wife I am finding job now but likely in 2 years we try fr BTO again and unlock 700k frm our current place as buffer fr any job losses down the road.

I advise you to be as debt free as possible as the market is really changing fast with AI , RBA and more foreigners come in. You see the budget for so much support for retrenchment and employment gir reason one.

Thos with condo even worst. Imagine have to wait 18 months to buy hdb. 30 months then can apply BTO. Nv include building timeline

Advise to clear debt asap.

coyote

Upgrade to private la... There's no benefits regardless paying off or keeping in CPF. Cash out your BTO and use the $500,000 profit to upgrade to a condo at the expense of the PR who bought from you because he cannot buy BTO.

EJB

Bro recently nearing 40. More of my frens became retrenched. I myself division this year May 25 looking to close down and my boss told me the 3 of us in our team better start looking out.

Thankfully our hse almost fully paid n we have more than FRS n BHS in our acct.

I told my wife I am finding job now but likely in 2 years we try fr BTO again and unlock 700k frm our current place as buffer fr any job losses down the road.

I advise you to be as debt free as possible as the market is really changing fast with AI , RBA and more foreigners come in. You see the budget for so much support for retrenchment and employment gir reason one.

Thos with condo even worst. Imagine have to wait 18 months to buy hdb. 30 months then can apply BTO. Nv include building timeline

Advise to clear debt asap.
This...

Debt free sibeh song one.

mgx-alander

Jin satki loan free at 35 yo

Bbfa me just started at 35 and has 500k debt

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.