HDB service yard

derrickgoh

For those of you living in new flats with service yard, how do you hang clothes out of the flat ah? For old flats there are those bamboo pole holders outside where people can hang their clothes on bamboo poles and put outside the flat so can get the sunlight and wind.

DSCF0019.jpg

For service yard I see this rack on top which can be lowered but after you hang the clothes the rack goes up only right? Or can it some how move out so that it gets the sunlight and wind? Also, on the right side of the pic I see three horizontal bars. Those are more for hanging towels I guess? Don't see how I can hang clothes there.

Also, I believe I can place the washing machine in the service yard right? There is the water tap and drainage hole there? What about water heater? I heard some people use storage or gas water heater and instead of putting in bathroom which is ugly, they put in the service yard. Anyone here does that?

Lastly, there is this post flying around saying service yards are not safe as some face the common corridor and some brave thief could actually gain access to your flat via the service yard. Any of you guys with service yards have this issue?

Nirvani

I actually prefer service yard concept.. beats hanging your clothes in the kitchen which is unsightly and also won't have water from neighbour's clothes dripping down onto yours.

The bars on the right side can hang what.. just hang onto clothes hangers or directly on the bar la.. but must secure it maybe using clothes peg?

Hows your DBSS hunt btw?

derrickgoh

I actually prefer service yard concept.. beats hanging your clothes in the kitchen which is unsightly and also won't have water from neighbour's clothes dripping down onto yours.

The bars on the right side can hang what.. just hang onto clothes hangers or directly on the bar la.. but must secure it maybe using clothes peg?

Hows your DBSS hunt btw?
How to hunt? None of them are MOP yet. Have lah Tampines that one but not my area.

Nirvani

How to hunt? None of them are MOP yet. Have lah Tampines that one but not my area.

Never consider Pasir Ris One? I went down 3 months ago and was quoted 630k for a 4 room at 10 floor, unblock view. I think if one has the budget can definitely go for it.

derrickgoh

Never consider Pasir Ris One? I went down 3 months ago and was quoted 630k for a 4 room at 10 floor, unblock view. I think if one has the budget can definitely go for it.
That one is BTO right? I'm single leh. Can only get resale.

Some-one

is that outside or in the flat? Seems like thieve can get into the service yard easily. I still prefer the older type where you can put out the poles. There is a specific length for new flats whereby you have to choose the pole of the correct length. The older type, you can use either long or short pole.

Gixxerfied

Well, Nirvani just explained what i wana say as well..

One on top is similar to the one existing in old hdb kitchen..The one outside is similar but this time horizontal and have a small shelter on top to prevent inconsiderate neighbours(Trust me, i like this concept)..

And you dont have to buy bamboos.. :s13:

Nirvani

That one is BTO right? I'm single leh. Can only get resale.

Yes new flat so need to be a family nucleus...

About the service yard, went to view a flat on 6 floor at fernvale recently, service yard is above the centralised refuse chute. The smell was very evident even on 6th floor. I wouldn't like to hang my clothes with that smell everyday, clothes might pick up those nasty smell...

derrickgoh

Yes new flat so need to be a family nucleus...

About the service yard, went to view a flat on 6 floor at fernvale recently, service yard is above the centralised refuse chute. The smell was very evident even on 6th floor. I wouldn't like to hang my clothes with that smell everyday, clothes might pick up those nasty smell...
Then will need to choose a unit not above the chute unless on high floor.

derrickgoh

is that outside or in the flat? Seems like thieve can get into the service yard easily. I still prefer the older type where you can put out the poles. There is a specific length for new flats whereby you have to choose the pole of the correct length. The older type, you can use either long or short pole.
Well its part of the flat lah. Think of it as a balcony. I think the problem of thieves only applies for those flats whose service yard faces the common corridor. If the yard faces another yard or the side of the flat, I don't see how anyone can enter.

derrickgoh

Well, Nirvani just explained what i wana say as well..

One on top is similar to the one existing in old hdb kitchen..The one outside is similar but this time horizontal and have a small shelter on top to prevent inconsiderate neighbours(Trust me, i like this concept)..

And you dont have to buy bamboos.. :s13:
I like the idea of clothes on top not dripping. Only thing is for old bamboo poles you can hang 6 poles outside. This type its only equal to 3 bamboo poles. Also, horizontally I think it doesn't catch much wind.

Anyone tried putting the storage/gas heater in the service yard? I read someone did it but I'm not sure if all service yards can or if he was lucky. But I heard washing machine and dryer can go in the service yard right? I think there is power supply, water tap and drainage hole.

If I get this type of flat I would most probably have sliding windows at the service yard. At least when its raining heavily I can shut the windows and not have the place soaking wet.

Actually this pic I attached is not too bad i.e. if heavy rain comes in it hits the wall. Have seen some service yard entrance facing the kitchen directly so if it rains and the door is open, sure to get wet kitchen floor.

Come to think of it, it kinda functions as a poor man's balcony too. :s13:

Gixxerfied

I like the idea of clothes on top not dripping. Only thing is for old bamboo poles you can hang 6 poles outside. This type its only equal to 3 bamboo poles. Also, horizontally I think it doesn't catch much wind.

Anyone tried putting the storage/gas heater in the service yard? I read someone did it but I'm not sure if all service yards can or if he was lucky. But I heard washing machine and dryer can go in the service yard right? I think there is power supply, water tap and drainage hole.

If I get this type of flat I would most probably have sliding windows at the service yard. At least when its raining heavily I can shut the windows and not have the place soaking wet.

Actually this pic I attached is not too bad i.e. if heavy rain comes in it hits the wall. Have seen some service yard entrance facing the kitchen directly so if it rains and the door is open, sure to get wet kitchen floor.

Come to think of it, it kinda functions as a poor man's balcony too. :s13:

Windows is a must but limited..Must match the facade of the overall estate..

And yes, my friend washing machine in service yard(thus the power outlet and drainage)..But he nv buy dryer(Me too, not a fan of them)..My BTO is like what u describe but doesnt matter since i'm planning to have windows installed..

Shion

Senior Mentor
I still prefer those bamboo poles. Can put 6 and can hang more clothes.

Some more kitchen was so big last time.

Some-one

I like bamboo poles as well plus the very fact that the kitchen is huge for older flats. Nowadays, it is very small.

lainee

Me too.. at least if it rains and i need to bring in the clothes, i can bring in bamboo by bamboo (faster) instead of piece by piece of clothes (troublesome)..

Gixxerfied

Well, they have to look into the safety aspect also..

Dropping bamboos vs falling clothes and also when there's elderly, it's a concern as well..

Cant have the best of both world..

Nirvani

Bamboos are a hazard. Once during strong wind I saw someone's bamboo with bedsheets got blown and fall down. The bamboo fell tip first. Imagine if someone was walking below??

Nakuru

but now they install the rack thingy for those bamboo pole oso like stupid.. not wide enough to hang alot of clothings too cos of the metal blocking..

Shion

Senior Mentor
I like bamboo poles as well plus the very fact that the kitchen is huge for older flats. Nowadays, it is very small.

Nowadays kitchen is really very pathetic, super small, can't even put much things

Me too.. at least if it rains and i need to bring in the clothes, i can bring in bamboo by bamboo (faster) instead of piece by piece of clothes (troublesome)..

Thats right. Whats more, we can hang more clothes

Well, they have to look into the safety aspect also..

Dropping bamboos vs falling clothes and also when there's elderly, it's a concern as well..

Cant have the best of both world..

Have to agree with this. I can see some flats they removed the bamboo pole holders and replace it with the metal racks, put bamboo poles on it will do.

Bamboos are a hazard. Once during strong wind I saw someone's bamboo with bedsheets got blown and fall down. The bamboo fell tip first. Imagine if someone was walking below??

Yeah...:eek::eek:

but now they install the rack thingy for those bamboo pole oso like stupid.. not wide enough to hang alot of clothings too cos of the metal blocking..

Simple...Kitchen getting too small, no place for bamboo poles...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.