HDD vs SSD for External Storage.........

so HDD is still better than SSD for keeping data reliably, right (some computer forums give conflicting views) ?:unsure:

then HDDs come in CMR or SMR - does it matter since it's only for keeping data (so much big fuss about this) ? :unsure:

so which HDD not too expensive but reliable ?........i think 500GB more than enough liao.............

speed not important, reliability is most important...........after all, we're talking about my lifetime's collection of porn here :ROFLMAO:

Koenig168

If it is just 500GB, suggest you just use any two old HDD/SSD (with a SATA to USB dock/adapter) lying around. Two in case the first backup is spoilt or corrupted.

lalalalalala

Reliability use cloud. If not you have to mirror it.

Hdd ssd both can fail.

Ssd will die unexpectedly, hdd motor can doe or drive head suddenly crash and corrupt the disk

86technie

HDD > SSD if you want your data to be safe.
Cuz if the drive fail HDD still can recover but have to approach shops to do it.
SSD wise if fail since it is flash memory so any data lose means lose.

The fuss over HDD SMR and CMR I myself not sure as it depends on the manufacturer and
the HDD model.
I have been using the Seagate barracuda no issue, the firecuda (3.5" not 2.5") luckily
it is discontinued as it's a waste of money.

davidktw

so HDD is still better than SSD for keeping data reliably, right (some computer forums give conflicting views) ?:unsure:

then HDDs come in CMR or SMR - does it matter since it's only for keeping data (so much big fuss about this) ? :unsure:

so which HDD not too expensive but reliable ?........i think 500GB more than enough liao.............

speed not important, reliability is most important...........after all, we're talking about my lifetime's collection of porn here :ROFLMAO:
Neither is reliable. As long as they are not reliable across the entire lifespan of preserving your data, it doesn't matter if one last half the lifespan, or another that last 3/4 of the lifespan.
Simply if your data important is to last 1000 days, how would it matters to you if it failed on the last day ? It still failed and data will still potentially be lost.

Even if it could be recovered, for the price you are going to pay for recovery, you might as well just pay upfront for reliability. No recovery service will guarantee that your data can be fully recovered.

Use both redundancy and backup best practices for your own good. They are practised in enterprises for good reasons.

:)

Yongkit

Like many mentioned backup still the best practices

Sometime we need to look beyond hardware limitations as if the system have weak software security or data breaches by ransomware no matter how good and reliable the HDD or SSD it will become worthless.

Hdd ssd both can fail.

Ssd will die unexpectedly, hdd motor can doe or drive head suddenly crash and corrupt the disk

cloud............expensive leh..............must pay every month, right ?

what you mean by mirroring ? :unsure:

If it is just 500GB, suggest you just use any two old HDD/SSD (with a SATA to USB dock/adapter) lying around. Two in case the first backup is spoilt or corrupted.

i got one 12yo 340GB Ext HDD.............and a 2yo 500GB 2.5inch Internal SSD...........both contain different info lah............

but 500GB will be enough to contain all info in the above 2.............so thinking of getting another 2.5inch HDD just in case...........

Neither is reliable. As long as they are not reliable across the entire lifespan of preserving your data, it doesn't matter if one last half the lifespan, or another that last 3/4 of the lifespan.
Simply if your data important is to last 1000 days, how would it matters to you if it failed on the last day ? It still failed and data will still potentially be lost.

Even if it could be recovered, for the price you are going to pay for recovery, you might as well just pay upfront for reliability. No recovery service will guarantee that your data can be fully recovered.

Use both redundancy and backup best practices for your own good. They are practised in enterprises for good reasons.

so you're suggesting ?

Like many mentioned backup still the best practices

Sometime we need to look beyond hardware limitations as if the system have weak software security or data breaches by ransomware no matter how good and reliable the HDD or SSD it will become worthless.

what's the best way to do that ah ?

hope not too expensive ?

HDD > SSD if you want your data to be safe.
Cuz if the drive fail HDD still can recover but have to approach shops to do it.
SSD wise if fail since it is flash memory so any data lose means lose.

The fuss over HDD SMR and CMR I myself not sure as it depends on the manufacturer and
the HDD model.
I have been using the Seagate barracuda no issue, the firecuda (3.5" not 2.5") luckily
it is discontinued as it's a waste of money.

ok, many thanks...........

i see Sim Lim got shops selling Toshiba 1TB 2.5inch HDD for $50+.............those type jialat ?

or must buy Western Digital Red or Black then okay ?

davidktw

so you're suggesting ?
If you want the data nearest to you, get a NAS configured with either RAID 1, 10, 50, 60, using HDD. That will give you a certain level of redundancy. Most NAS are also possible to backup a volume to another volume locally. That is another level of reliability at the expense of disk space. If you really feel your data are so important, then configure the NAS to backup another copy off-site using cloud services like AWS Deep Glacier or BackBlaze B2.

Manual backup is not only error prone and unlikely to be sustainable for a human. The automated approach above will give you a good assurance of data recoverability in the event of a human error, a local storage failure, local NAS failure or local site disaster. Your offsite cloud backup will be a very reliable storage solution but it is your last resort.

86technie

ok, many thanks...........

i see Sim Lim got shops selling Toshiba 1TB 2.5inch HDD for $50+.............those type jialat ?

or must buy Western Digital Red or Black then okay ?

You are buying for laptop? Not a fan of Toshiba, some of their drive are not very fast.
So either Western Digital Blue or Seagate barracuda will do fine.

Moi use External RAID1 for Backup.

keenklee

Hdd ssd both can fail.

IMHO.
Which cloud service you know will "compensate" you if the data you store there is lost ?

keenklee

IMHO.
I would choose HDD over SSD.
I would choose small capacity over large capacity i.e. if I need 2 TB, I will have 2 x 1TB.

I share an incident, hopefully it is a anomaly and once-off.
I have a Toshiba HDD 3 TB. No. of power-on count is 18 and Power-on hours 119.
The HDD start to have clicking sound but still could be accessed.
It was "painfully" slow when the data was transferred.

With mechanical HDD, there is a chance that the failure is not total and immediate.
The failure of SSD to my knowledge, usually is total and immediate.

To determine if the backup is correct, just delete a file. If you do not have a copy, it is not backup'ed.

I use a USB3 2-Bay HDD enclosure with 2 HDDs. In most instances, it is faster then my simple NAS.
The files are copied to the 1st HDD and then the 2nd.

keenklee

EXTERNAL not INTERNAL.
Worst BACKUP = 1x External Device
EXTERNAL RAID 1 = Backup to 2x External Devices.

IMHO.
To avoid confusion, please describe your external RAID 1 backing up to 2x External Devices.
Backup very easy to test, just delete one file and see if you have another copy. Yours can ? If can, good for you.

mccmmm

All boils down to the users, if u are careless, nothing is safe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.